We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$ 24
US$ 21
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abad Harmonia(Kovalam)
US$ 53
US$ 49
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 175
US$ 123
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
157
93
30
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
93
30
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesprivate beachnon vegayurveda resortdoctors and therapistssister hotelkerala houserestaurant staffsea viewrejuvenation packagegarden cottagespecial mentionmonsoon seasonsunday morningspent two weeksdays treatmentno alcohol
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2016

My daughter and I were so excited to experience an Ayurvedic resort. The surroundings are definitely picturesque and the little cottages are pretty. That's where it ends. The first night we were woken 12:30 a.m. to someone trying to break into our cottage. We turned on the light and they went away. We spend the entire night sleepless with the light on. Staff tried to tell us it was the wind or animals. We requested bottled water, hair dryer and towels. It took them 3 tries to provide them. We decided to leave 1 day early as our experience wasn't good, but they wouldn't even credit us for the last night we missed. We are from Canada, and we would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Wifi is spotty and frustrating.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group!

Please verify your posting is in the same resort that you had stayed??. As we do not have any records of stay as per the information you had provided. Also we never had any incidents reported as you had mentioned in your feedback. We have 24 hours security and CCTV camera surveillance in the resort. Even we have security and life guards in our beach. We provide 4 bath towels in every room (02 brown colored one to use after treatment and 02 white colored) in addition 4 hand towels ( 02 brown colored and 02 white) 04 face towels ( 02 brown colored and 02 white). We provide 02 bottled mineral water in every room/per day and to reduce the use of plastics we had provided 02 glass bottle to refill mineral water from big bottles. We have great pleasure to inform you that we won the prestigious National Tourism Award for Best Wellness Resort in India repeatedly and Kerala state Tourism Award contentiously for Ayurveda and IT. Please be assured that the resorts will also be of exceptional service to friends and relatives that you recommend for a health vacations. Team Soma Group is looking forward to sever you at our Resorts.

Warm regards

Subhash C Bose
CGM
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I stayed at Somatheeram and enjoyed my stay. Rooms are very clean and the property is very well maintenant. The staff is friendly but not every one speaks English which is a pity. The restaurant is very basic, I prefer to go and eat at Manaltheeram, the other resort at the beach. Internetconnection is very poor.
Treatments are good but to many people, so they rush and don't take time to give it properly. A lot of people get the same treatments which is a bit unusual.
Yoga is very good. Nice place to go but Manaltheeram is much better.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your stay and feedback.

We are very happy to learn that you had a enjoyed your stay at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort. Thanks for your appreciation on our room, cleanliness, beach, Yoga and swimming pool. All our service line persons are able to speak English, we are providing language training also, surely we will take more care on it. Somatheeram and Manaltheeram menu is same without any change, even the cooks also interchanged to keep same standard and service in both side same, surly our extra attention will be in place. Ayurveda we have 30 treatment room, 80 therapist and 15 doctors. only very rear places in Kerala have this much big facility. Ayurveda treatments are combination treatments, even if it is same from outside view, it has many difference such as oils used, type of application, duration of treatment, combination etc. So every individual is getting personalized treatment for their cure. We assure you our best care and attention. We have great pleasure to inform you that we won the prestigious National Tourism Award for Best Wellness Resort in India repeatedly and Kerala state Tourism Award contentiously for Ayurveda and IT. Please be assured that the resorts will also be of exceptional service to friends and relatives that you recommend for a health vacations. Team Soma Group is looking forward to sever you at our Resorts.

Warm regards

Subhash C Bose
CGM
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I am writing to all trip advisor readers while reclining on my bed next to a giant moth made out of the towels we use in the bathroom that is coated in rose petals. It is truly a sight to be hold. What can i say about Somatheeram other that you have to visit this place to see for yourself the beauty, the hospitality and taste the food from this wonderful area of the world. The staff go the distance to make sure you are happy and content, the Ayurveda food is mouthwatering and you simply just can't have one plate. It is deeeelish.!!!
Yes when travelling overseas to countries like india there is problems with the power, internet but that is what makes it a trip away and so much fun. Sign up for some treatments and rest every day watching the surf, the sea eagles play and you must try the Saffron Tea on your own balcony, its heavenly. I have three days to go and its wonderful. Glenn.

Room Tip: " I have the Standard House room, its very lovely."
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at somatheeram for a day only still the trip was just amazing..
All thanks to the staff.
Our booking was for soma resort deluxe room however the staff upgraded our room and got ourselves transferred to somatheeram which is of same management as informed to us.
The place and view are too good.
We had booked two rooms and we were given the rooms with best view.
Further the food was also good.
Staff is very much co operative and helful.
Infact we were thinking of cancelling the next destination of ours which was kanyakumari and extend the stay there.
We would recommend the place definately.
A must visit place if trip involves stay at kovalam. Also the other beaches are nearby so the place again adds to the advantage of staying.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Shazia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We booked the Deluxe Kerala House for Diwali holidays. We went only for a getaway with kids. Not for Ayurveda. Only suites and deluxe rooms have air conditioning. Rest of rooms have only fans. Greeted with garlands and tender coconut water. The reception staff were very friendly with our two kids. Rooms are basic kerala style. But sea view made up for it. My bad experience was with the swimming pool. Lots of restrictions here. Kids are shooed by the other guests. They were reading by poolside. We were constantly told to control them from making any kind of noise. We felt even our normal conversation was constantly interrupted. Quite a dampener. The Chowara beach is awesome. They arrange a taxi to take you there. Complementary dinner was fully kerala style vegetarian. But delicious. Ordered few non veg starters separately from the menu which were tasty. They had arranged classical dance program along with diwali crackers. Breakfast was also good. Next day, kids were quite bored. Few Persian cats and a Vechur cow were there. Apart from that kids were not engaged. All the staff are efficient and friendly. Thats commendable. Go for ayurveda treatment. But dont take your kids. Slightly pricey for the experience.

Room Tip: Only Kerala House Deluxe and Kerala Deluxe Suite are air conditioned. Opt for sea view rooms. Other cottages and rooms look cramped.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pradeep k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews