We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chowara
Reviewed 22 November 2016

I am writing to all trip advisor readers while reclining on my bed next to a giant moth made out of the towels we use in the bathroom that is coated in rose petals. It is truly a sight to be hold. What can i say about Somatheeram other that you have to visit this place to see for yourself the beauty, the hospitality and taste the food from this wonderful area of the world. The staff go the distance to make sure you are happy and content, the Ayurveda food is mouthwatering and you simply just can't have one plate. It is deeeelish.!!!
Yes when travelling overseas to countries like india there is problems with the power, internet but that is what makes it a trip away and so much fun. Sign up for some treatments and rest every day watching the surf, the sea eagles play and you must try the Saffron Tea on your own balcony, its heavenly. I have three days to go and its wonderful. Glenn.

Room Tip: " I have the Standard House room, its very lovely."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at somatheeram for a day only still the trip was just amazing..
All thanks to the staff.
Our booking was for soma resort deluxe room however the staff upgraded our room and got ourselves transferred to somatheeram which is of same management as informed to us.
The place and view are too good.
We had booked two rooms and we were given the rooms with best view.
Further the food was also good.
Staff is very much co operative and helful.
Infact we were thinking of cancelling the next destination of ours which was kanyakumari and extend the stay there.
We would recommend the place definately.
A must visit place if trip involves stay at kovalam. Also the other beaches are nearby so the place again adds to the advantage of staying.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Shazia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

We booked the Deluxe Kerala House for Diwali holidays. We went only for a getaway with kids. Not for Ayurveda. Only suites and deluxe rooms have air conditioning. Rest of rooms have only fans. Greeted with garlands and tender coconut water. The reception staff were very friendly with our two kids. Rooms are basic kerala style. But sea view made up for it. My bad experience was with the swimming pool. Lots of restrictions here. Kids are shooed by the other guests. They were reading by poolside. We were constantly told to control them from making any kind of noise. We felt even our normal conversation was constantly interrupted. Quite a dampener. The Chowara beach is awesome. They arrange a taxi to take you there. Complementary dinner was fully kerala style vegetarian. But delicious. Ordered few non veg starters separately from the menu which were tasty. They had arranged classical dance program along with diwali crackers. Breakfast was also good. Next day, kids were quite bored. Few Persian cats and a Vechur cow were there. Apart from that kids were not engaged. All the staff are efficient and friendly. Thats commendable. Go for ayurveda treatment. But dont take your kids. Slightly pricey for the experience.

Room Tip: Only Kerala House Deluxe and Kerala Deluxe Suite are air conditioned. Opt for sea view rooms. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pradeep k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Somatheeram Ayurveda Beach Resort is an excellent resort, for Ayurveda treatments in a great environment. I stayed there for 14 days (July 8th to July 22nd) and did the Ayurveda treatment, and it was a great experience. The treatment was done by a good team and managed by professionals. I divided my stay in 2 cottages, and must say both were good. The second one in particular which was sea-facing. Great view, serene environment and a great staff to take care of you. I feel, without the treatment also, it's an excellent resort for a weekend trip too. Would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a wellness holiday.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank ranjantalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We just left Somatheeram Resorts after 15 days of cuddles from our first day. This is not a classic resort where to spend holiday with friends or family with loudly music, sports, animation and anything to eat and drink: people must know before going what they're looking for. In fact we were searching a quiet place inside nature, without noise, tv ect, a location where to forget our stressed life, at least for some days, and we got it. The resort have nice and clean accommodations, most of them individual (cottage or typical house) and all around are medical plants and lots of trees and flowers of any colors, as a paradise; the landscape is on the sea and the only music is the hight sound of waves and the church's songs on Sunday morning. It's not possible to swim in the sea because of strong currents, but the resort has a nice private beach reached by a shortly walk by stairs, possible even for lazy persons as we are. There are stairs to go everywhere in the resort (restaurant, swimming pool, reception, shops and Ayurvedic center) and this is good to do some personal gym. The restaurant offer a big choose of vegetables or Ayurvedic menu, don't missing fresh fish, but particularly for people caring about their health, so no fat and fried food or packaged and surgery products: anything is truly natural and fresh and the taste is great. It's incredible to discover that even people working there are genuine too as anything around, they care about you as person, always with a true smile without pretending anything in change and a nice way to do and answer, until the last second we where there. Generally last days in others resorts and country, the staff don't care anymore, but here in Somatheeram we left with the smile and missing anyone, from the waiters, the chef, the management of restaurants and anyone of reception until the guy who deliver newspaper...anyone and this time it's correct to thank them. About the primary reason we come here, we mean the Ayurveda treatments, we can confirm that doctors are hight qualified and they listen you watching you in the eyes, they visit you and they propose what is better for anyone. In our country we used to have in front doctors that they don't even stand up the head when we speak and most of the time we pay them so much without to have solutions. Here they don't promise us miracles about what we expect, but they give us good suggestion, diet and treatment, so we can say we're satisfied about it. The Ayurvedic center is clean, with particular rooms treatment with wall in red dark bricks and hight ceiling in coco leafs, the atmosphere keep you relaxing; the therapists are women for female customers and men for male, they studied years and anyone know really well the technique of massages, their hands are magic, but about our experience some massage with some therapists and assistant were quickly and short way, dedicating more time to face massage and relax than what suggest from Doctor, anyway we're speaking about few cases of someone maybe tired or misunderstanding people come from really far, and maybe they do economic sacrifices, to get the treatments and help they can do. We want to underwritten that anyway 2 of the therapists follow us they were perfect and they follow us most of the time helping to resolve any problems, and a thank to them and doctors too. The resort is organize for session of meditation and yoga and the 2 guy we met were hight professional, just we were so curious to visit a bit outside that we choose not follow lessons. The reception organize for us even some excursion with taxi and price was almost the same than agency outside or private. We choose to try even local way of transport as "tuk tuk" and bus. Not so far and interesting to visit 1) kovallam for shopping and beach walk 2) thiruvananthapuram the main city with his temple, museum, park and monuments 3) Kania Kumari the end point of India 4) backwater and elephants rehabilitation center and then walking in security and freedom in some village you can full your eyes of colors and perfume of this wonderful part of India : Kerala. Last suggest: inside and outside of resort there are nice shops where anyone can get satisfaction and if you desire your personal and self designed dress you can get it just in 2 days from the many men they didn't loose the handmade art. Beautiful experience: Somatheram Ayurveda resort with his secret garden is a place to remember and to come back.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thommonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, Corp General Manger at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Guests,

Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group!

Thanks for your stay and feedback.

We are very happy to learn that your stay with Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort was total rejuvenation and relaxing. Please be assured that the resorts will also be of exceptional service to friends and relatives that you recommend for a health holiday. Team Soma Group is looking forward to sever you again at our Resorts.

Warm regards

Subhash C Bose
CGM
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chowara
0.2 km away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
5.7 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,040 reviews
7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village
0.3 km away
Ideal Ayurvedic Resort
Ideal Ayurvedic Resort
#1 of 2 in Chowara
185 reviews
1.1 km away
Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort

Address: Kovalam, South of Kovalam, | South of Kovalam beach, Chowara 695501, India
Region: India > Kerala > Ernakulam District > Chowara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chowara
Price Range: ₹ 6,216 - ₹ 8,459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somatheeram is the world of authentic Ayurveda. A serene Aryurvedic resort by the sea in South India. Here you can benefit from traditional Ayurvedic therapy as well as yoga in a blissfully peaceful environment. It is one of the best tourism spots in Kerala, India. Located at Chowara Beach on a hillock 9 km south of the famous Kovalam Beach, Trivandrum, Kerala with over 15 acres of greenery all around.And for houseboat trip in kollam u can visit our kollam allseason backwater resort .. search for allseason kollam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somatheeram Ayurveda Hotel Chowara
Somatheeram Ayurvedic Beach Hotel
Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort Kerala/Chowara, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing