We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time I'd look elsewhere”
Review of Metro Hotel Perth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel Perth
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Reviewed 18 August 2012

By no means impressive nor even adequate in many ways.

A few saving graces: a comfortable bed, relatively large room and some friendly and helpful staff. Negatives: very costly for what it is; food is expensive and mediocre at best; noisy; and dining less than pleasant due to boorish drinkers at the bar nearby.

Surprising that the owners/managers think any of this is acceptable, but then perhaps the lack of competition and Perth's isolation are factors in the equation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 502 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Noisey room on main highway, no double glazing. Furnishing is cheap and sparse, absolutely basic and budget. For the price disgusting.
Restaurant staff are great.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The first impression I had when I entered the foyer was a bad smell from the restaurant. The smell was like a bad fish and chip shop, old cooking oil smell.
AsI had no transport I eat in the restaurant on my first night. I recommend that you do not. The food is not good and the price is very high. There are no restaurants in the immediate area so a trip to Burswood Casino for a meal is recommended.
The the hotel exterior, the car park, the foyer and the restaurant are all very poor but the room I had was OK. The room was large and had been refurbished well. The view of Perth city was very good too.

Room Tip: City view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2painfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here for work for 2 nights because nowhere else in South Perth was free, obviously after some serious renovations had been done (judging by reading the reviews and seeing pictures from a few years ago). I expected the worst after seeing the building's exterior, but the room I was in had been done up pretty well, and the bed and couch were comfy. You still could tell the bathroom was a bit old (although clean) and I accidentally broke the shower head clean off when I went to adjust it. I went to reception and told them about it, bringing them the shower head and they were really nice and offered me a business or something room on the 8th floor! This room was similar to the previous one but with more room and a nice view of the river.

Restaurant was a bit expensive but the food was pretty good, and when I didn't have enough change for a beer they gave me one anyway!

Overall, of course it's not the Ritz but the staff are friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfy, and it's close to South Perth shops, next to a bus stop, and a 45 min walk into the city. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mercaptan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIrvin, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Metro Hotel Perth. We appreciate your comments and look forward to being of service again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Rooms are good I have scored them well but overall terrible
Resurant overpriced bad overlooked playing on the captive audience
Bar full of drunk mine workers a key system that doesn't work decor dated in the main parts, don't get me wrong the rooms are good but I do have a supposed king bed that is two single beds pushed together with a ridge down the centre

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulwoodsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Perth
Sullivans Hotel
#32 of 66 in Perth
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#15 of 66 in Perth
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Perth

Address: 61 Canning Hwy, South Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > South Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Price Range: ₹ 5,610 - ₹ 8,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Metro Hotel Perth. We are part of the Metro Hospitality Group, which is the longest 100% Australian owned and managed hotel chain in Australia. Our hotel in South Perth is located a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Swan River foreshore and only 10 minutes from the CBD of Perth. We are the only hotel in Perth to command sweeping views of the Swan River foreshore in the daytime and the city skyline in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing