We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“pretty average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Hotel Perth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metro Hotel Perth
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“pretty average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

stayed for 11 nights on business..original room was studio suite..sounds grand but its a larger room with less furniture on it and a lovely view of the highway outside and the noise it creates. Manager was effective and i was moved to a deluxe room the next day..with a great view of the city.

Breakfast is ok but def not worth the price...dinner is steak...even less worth the price...highly overpriced for a very average dinner.

stay at the hotel...dont book a studio suite...dont eat there, and make sure you have transport..very few places within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    105
    84
    26
    25
See reviews for
32
77
33
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

My boyfriend and I live with my mum and we never really get a chance to spend a whole day to ourselves and just relax. We arrived at 6pm because my boyfriend had to work till 4:30 but they didnt mind we were in a king bed with city view room on the 7th floor. The view is AMAZING especially at night, the city looked beautiful!! We would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Rooms with city view are AMAZING!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessicamei93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My first impressions were I would have to find alternative accommodation but as I had already tried I prepared myself for the worst. Luckily I did as this is one of the worst hotels I've stayed at in a very very long time. The lobby has a terrible stale odour...the air con system clearly needs an overhaul.
My room was large but extremely basic. There was a bar fridge but not so much as a bottle of water. My biggest issue was the terrible dispensers mounted by the handbasin and in the shower. PLEASE GET RID OF THE LIQUID SOAP AND OFFER GUESTS PROPER SOAP!
The bed was ok...just ok..the exhaust fan in the bathroom made such a roar I couldn't stand trying to apply make up in there as I was deafened. Thankfully it was 1 night only and will never revisit.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JpoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Ill stick to the facts so there is no room for subjective criticism.

A. I paid $380 to stay in riverview room on Australia day. I wanted to surprise my wife for our wedding anniversary with a view of fireworks.expensive ? you judge.

B. I pre booked a parking bay but when I arrived I was told by the car park security that I was not on the list.

C. Arrived at reception and was told that guest was to wear a stamp on their hand for security reasons. My wife and I were stamped with a childrens smiley face on our hands before being allowed in the lifts. Aparantly showing our key card was not enough.

D. I had pre scheduled and re confirmed on no less than 3 times that the roses I had arranged to be delivered should be placed in my room ready for my arrival. They were not there, and the reception did not know what I was talking about. Finally found them and brought them up. No surprise.

E. Room was barely 3 star. Check out the photos. Smoke detector was broken and dangling from ceiling, dirty shower, grotesque kettle. Did they even check this room? When I queried with reception about the broken smoke detector, she said "well make sure you dont smoke in the room". I was shocked but was checking out with a ruined anniversary so couldnt be bothered.

F. Views of river were good, but below us was the car park and rubbish bins. drunk guests on
balconies around and above us were swearing and throwing rubbish out onto the carpark.

Overall itvfelt like a cheap motel. Terrible service, way too expensive, budget renovation at best. Don't waste your time, even for business. The restaurant is steak and chips or chicken parmagiana. Very motel like.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mistaT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIrvin, General Manager at Metro Hotel Perth, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
I will elaborate on fact and will respond to your comments in the order in which they are presented.
A. A very thoughtful gesture for your wife.
B. The hotel is located in South Perth 2 minutes from the Swan River foreshore where the Australia Day fireworks are held. Unfortunately many people who are not bona fide hotel guests attempt to park their cars in our FREE car parking facilities not leaving room for our hotel guests.
To stop this from occurring all hotel guest who choose to stay at the property over the Australia Day event are requested to provide the registration number of the vehicle that they will be traveling in when arriving at the hotel.
At reservation you obviously did not provide the same registration number of the vehicle that you were driving thus you simply would not have been on security’s car parking list.
C. On days such as Australia Day showing your key card is not enough for us to monitor the number of guests in house, it is very easy to pass key cards to friends and colleagues. All hotels are public buildings and limited by law for the number of guests permitted to be housed at anyone time. This is for safety and security of all patrons staying in house not just some.
D. The order for flowers was not placed through us; we have no control over an independent contractor’s delivery service.
E. I am sorry that you did not bother to contact reception when you first entered your guest room rather than at check-out regarding the kettle, the smoke alarm and the shower recess. These matters would have been addressed immediately by both housekeeping and maintenance staff.
F. Considering the celebrations of the day and the heat hotel guests enjoying the Australia day festivities were very well behaved.
G. Chicken Parmagiana is not even on our menu, overall do you have the correct hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Perth hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Don't let the tired exterior and musky smelling lobby fool you. The Metro wasn't too bad for business accomodation.

I had a room on the sity side of the building on the top floor away from the traffic of the highway this hotel sits on.

The room was quite large and spacious allowing me to stretch out a bit.

The bed was 2 singles joined but saying that it was comfortable and the pillows were great. Nothing worse than a small flat pillow.

I had an issue with my air conditioning which couldn't cope with the heat wave the city was experiencing at the time. Management were great, they came up straight away. Within an hour they had maintenance in and when they wouldn't fix it they moved me to an adjoining room where the air conditioning was fine.

The room service and restaurant are limited (Steakhouse menu) but food was OK quality. The staff in the restaurant were very nice and friendly. Breakfasts were also fine with a fair range of food to choose and again very friendly staff on hand to start the day on a good note. Location of hotel also limits food choice unless you want to jump in the car and drive. Small Italian place is only option within walking distance.

Room Tip: Top three floors have the best rooms. City side has a fantastic view of teh city and the Swan River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMAK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Perth
Pensione Hotel Perth
#8 of 79 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
East Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
Pan Pacific Perth
#12 of 79 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
Fraser Suites Perth
Sullivans Hotel
#28 of 79 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
East Perth
All Suites Perth
All Suites Perth
#39 of 79 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Perth? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Perth

Property: Metro Hotel Perth
Address: 61 Canning Hwy, South Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > South Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Perth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,114 - ₹ 9,419
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Perth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to the Metro Hotel Perth. We are part of the Metro Hospitality Group, which is the longest 100% Australian owned and managed hotel chain in Australia. Our hotel in South Perth is located a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Swan River foreshore and only 10 minutes from the CBD of Perth. We are the only hotel in Perth to command sweeping views of the Swan River foreshore in the daytime and the city skyline in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Metro Hotel Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing