We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday lunch”
Review of Rose & Crown

Rose & Crown
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Guildford
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch. The outdoor area is very pleasant. It took a while to take our drinks order but once that happened everything else went smoothly. The lamb riblets were delicious and so was the Asian prawn salad and roast beetroot salad. Staff were friendly and meals came out quickly. Also take a look inside the pub as there are some very interesting bars especially downstairs.

Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Nicky,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us recently for lunch. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your visit and our team accommodated you throughout your visit. We strive to provide exceptional meals for all our guests so our team of chefs will love to hear your feedback.

We also recommend having a wander through the venue as we are 177 years young this year and the history is in our walls including the underground cellar.

Thank you for reviewing us and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018

Had lunch in the garden on Friday. Service-excellent, staff-excellent, food-good, price of 1 slice of garlic bread-$10-outrageous! I questioned a waitperson who advised that the price was indeed correct. Won't bother again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LORRAINES1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Lorraine,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

It is so lovely to hear that our team looked after you during your visit however you must have been misinformed about the price of our garlic bread. As per the menu it is $10 for a LOAF of garlic bread or warm ciabatta bread. We apologise for any confusion and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Popped in after a long drive and got a drink and some chips to share. The garden is rather good, almost European in feel, nice lighting and different types of seating. Quite unusual for Perth, very easy on the eye. The beer is a little expensive but it was worth it for the atmosphere. Didn't try a meal but there's long tables outside so suitable for birthdays etc.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Hi Nick,

Thanks for stopping by our beer garden recently and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor!

We loved to hear that you enjoyed the outdoor space - we really think it is the best beer garden in Perth! It is just perfect on those balmy summer evenings with a meal and a cold drink. We will ensure to pass on your comments to our team and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

The Rose and Crown is Western Australia's oldest pub and proud to let you know. A series of bars and restaurants and live entertainment are on offer. Popular for weddings (watching the drunk bridesmaids is quite entertaining) and parties. A beautiful set of buildings and gardens.

Location: Swan Street Guildford.
Venue: The Rose and Crown has a large and beautifully appointed beer garden used almost all year around. Next to this is the outdoor restaurant. Inside is the POSH Convict (whose opening hours are anyone's guess), two dine-in restaurants and a cellar bar (that is frequented but I have never seen the bar actually used - look out for the steps).
Food: The bar food is OK but a bit pricey. The value has improved now that they no longer charge for chips on the side (who could believe you'd charge for chips on the side!!!). The restaurant food is very good.
Service: A little tricky at time. The small beer garden bar is the main focus. Being a small bar for an often large number of customers service is granted more on whoever catches the attention of the bar staff.
Amenities: The POSH Convict bar is well appointed (although the comfy chairs are tired) but it is difficult to know when it is open as it seems to have no set times. The log fire (gas) is the place to be.
Lots of live sports shown on the TVs around the beer garden and bar. Live music on the weekends - not everyone's taste and a bit loud/intrusive if you want to catch up with friends.
Toilets are usually clean.
An ATM is located inside the pub.
Accessibility: Plenty of parking on unsurfaced surrounds. Taxi and UBER drivers know where it is. Wheelchair access is easy in most parts although the beer garden toilets have steps.
There is a motel attached.

Thank AlextheGrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed review of your experience at the Rose & Crown.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and the atmosphere of the 176 year old venue. Some of our spaces are open due to demand and are also weather dependent. Our underground cellar is used for functions only however you are more than welcome to wander down there to enjoy the history of the tunnels and space.
You would also be happy to know that we are currently in the process of renovating our carpark. The open fires in the venue are well used during the winter months whilst our beer garden is a great space all year round.

We will ensure to pass on your comments to our team and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Fairly good menu. Moderate price. Good service. Food above average. restaurant tnds to crowding at lunchtime and tables quite close together .Good standby for short notice walkin

Thank lextalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RandC1841, Guest Relations Manager at Rose & Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hi Lextalion,
Thank you for choosing to dine with us recently and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and our team accommodated you throughout your visit. We will ensure to pass on your comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rose & Crown also viewed

 
Caversham, Swan Valley
Guildford, Swan Valley
 
Caversham, Swan Valley
 

Been to Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing