We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here”
other travellers have booked this property
Ford Wetley Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge A nice warm fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
Ford Wetley Cottage
The Lounge
A nice warm fire
Farmhouse kitchen
Master bedroom with bathroom.
Twin room with shower room.
Downstairs double room with shower room.
Private Cottage Garden with BBQ/Fire Pit
Relaxing in the front garden
The neighbours
The bridge over the stream to the cottage
Could you be lucky and have a white Christmas?
Another stunning start to the day
Bit chilly for Alfresco dining!
Fun in the field
Expedition time, well just into the field
Nearby scenery.
Sun setting at the back of the cottage
Charlie and Breeze, our Miniature Shetland ponies!
The Ford Wetley Dogs, Paddy and Murphy.
Waterfall in the garden
Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ford, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cagla D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This spacious cottage is located in an ideal location and is fully furnished with everything you could possibly need. The condition was immaculate, and it was a pleasure to return to after a long day of hiking in the district. We were also left with wine, fudge, eggs etc which were a welcome treat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded and quiet location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2015
Thanks for your lovely review. Hope to see you again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect cottage - could not have wished for a better stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We travelled to Ford Wetley in October half term to celebrate my fiance's 30th birthday. We felt welcome before we had even arrived as Louise, the owner, took the time to email me with suggestions of places to visit and local activities. We travelled with two small children, and arrived to find a cot and child's bed already set up for us, together with some eggs, wine and other goodies which were a welcome treat after our journey.

The cottage itself is deceptively large, and very cosy when you get a fire going! It's also in a lovely secluded location so you won't be disturbed, but with lots of things to do nearby - Peak wildlife park (a few minutes drive away) was recommended to us by Louise and was a great day out with the kids. We found that having 3 en-suites instead of a family bathroom worked well, as there was no arguing over who was next in line for the shower! The kitchen is fully equipped, there are plenty of books, games and DVDs, and lovely pubs within walking distance.

The owners are a genuinely lovely family, even inviting us to see their adorable new kitten, and they made us feel very welcome.

I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough. We will be back as soon as we can!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Lovely to meet you too. Hope to see you again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre482...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned from a three night stay in this wonderful cottage and cannot recommend it highly enough. On arrival we were welcomed by Louise who had provided us with fresh eggs and a bottle of wine. She was also the source of great suggestions on what to see during our stay. The cottage itself was very comfortable and spacious lacking nothing in equipment even down to a lovely box of toys for the two year old in our group.
We were lucky with the weather and each day managed to see some of the sensational countryside and beautiful little villages in this area. Plenty of quaint pubs within a short drive for dinner or a Sunday roast.
On departure we were given some more eggs which we enjoyed at breakfast on our return home.
Thanks Louise and Adrian for being such great hosts. Hope to be back again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, the cottage itself and our hosts
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility at it's Best! (Ford Wetley Cottage)”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived at ford wetley with our four children three of whom have special needs and our doggy Blake we were greeted by Louise and Adrian who had provided us with fresh eggs, milk, a bottle of wine, jam and fudge. Louise and Adrian were most helpful from allowing us to use their telephone offering to arrange the Shetland Ponies for our children to see, this cottage is very impressive and is bursting with original features, everything has been thought through very carefully and works very well .
The traditional country kitchen was fully equipped with everything and more needed to cook and dine with in, it was simply a pleasure to cook Sunday lunch!
Louise and Adrian were always available when we needed them which was a sigh of relief considering we had no mobile coverage, however we did eventually overcome this by switching to the EE network, it was then only a case of a trip over the stile which can be accessed from the rear of the cottage and walking to the edge of the back field to enable us call back home. we met with Murphy their dog he was adorable and very friendly our children thoroughly enjoyed his company! this is simply an amazing cottage we do hope to return back in the near future when our Autistic daughters are a little older so that we can appreciate and explore Ford Wetley and its true potential.
we wish you very well for the future, hope to meet with you again someday
Thanks again for our sons birthday gift! our wine and fudge it was very thoughtful of you!
Best Wishes
Julie Phillip and Children

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peacefulness and The Shetland ponies
Liked least: poor mobile phone coverage/weather
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costello5
1 review
“Mr &Mrs”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This has got to be the most magical place we have ever stayed in. louise and Adrian were very welcoming and very helpful. This beautiful cottage scores a 10/10 for us. This place is amazing and very peaceful. It was our 10th wedding anniversary and it was the perfect place to celebrate it in. We will be back for my 40th.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially for your anniversary. Hope to meet you all again one day. Louise & Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing