We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
108
46
14
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
46
14
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool boxing ring horse riding cold towels garden villa bed faces cebu city wonderful vacation table tennis malapascua island every afternoon basketball court minimalist design bicol express serene place hour ride espresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Room - big check
Food - big check
Pool - big check
Spa - big check
Staff/Management - BIGGEST CHECK !

Our family stayed for 4 days.We were 9 in the group with 1 senior 2 kids 1 teenager. We got the beach pool villa. With varying age groups and preferences, Kandaya has something to offer.
Every detail in upkeep, service, activities, food from the time we arrived to the time we left were just excellent.
From the time they picked us up at the airport, we had snacks and drinks in the van. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed with cold drinks.Brought to the dining area to enjoy lunch. After lunch went to our villas and was so amazed it. We didn't waste anytime in making most of our stay - biking, spa, swimming, walking around the place, pool, gym (horse riding lessons - we will do it next time!) Repeat!

Breakfast was good. We loved the food too. I can go on and on but the only way you can appreciate Kandaya in its purest form is to take some time off and visit/stay there for a few days.

We are definitely coming back soon. It was such a great vacation for the whole family. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: we had a great time at the beach pool villa
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sahara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandayaResort, Director of Sales Marketing Communications at Kandaya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Sahara,

How delightful!
Thank you for sharing your review.
We are pleased to hear that you all had a wonderful time and that the resort was able
to deliver your expectations.

Such praises, leaves us truly humbled.

Looking forward to your next visit.


My best regards,

Leah I.M.
DOSMC Kandaya Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We were supposed to celebrate my husband's birthday on Sept 13-16 at Malapascua island but upon arriving at Maya port, we were informed that the boat trips were cancelled. We immediately called our booked accommodation in Malapascua which is Tepanee beach resort to ask for a refund or rebook but they didn't offer us any alternatives. Fortunately, we heard about Kandaya resort from our fellow tourists on the bus and as soon as I searched it in the internet, I fell in love with it. I called and ask if there is an available room that we can book and luckily there is. Everything went on smoothly, from the booking, to the arrival and for the whole duration of our stay. The price we paid is really worth every centavo for the excellent service and facility this resort offers. The supposed to be nightmare that's brought by our cancelled trip to Malapascua + inconsideration of Tepanee resort turned into a fantastic vacation. Thanks Kandaya resort, we will definitely come back in the future and will recommend to anyone who wants to have a great place to relax.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandayaResort, Director of Sales Marketing Communications at Kandaya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Angel,

Thank you very much for sharing such wonderful comments.
Pleased to hear that you were much satisfied with the experience, but importantly
that both of you were safe during the typhoon and that you found refuge at the resort.

We certainly do look forward to your visit back soon.

My best regards,
Leah I.M.
DOSMC Kandaya Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Pick up from the airport was on time. Our driver, Kuya Onel was very accommodating to requests and other inquiries.

Upon arrival, we were escorted to the lobby and it was nice of them to upgrade us to an ocean view which was room 211.

Room: Over all very nice. We paid for an extra bed but sofa was a much better place to sleep that the extra bed so i had to set it up myself.

Toilet: Nice bath tub and shower, however the toilet seat distance to the glass enclosure for the shower is too close. Guests with longer extremities might experience it even more.

Kusina restaurant @ Dinner Buffet
First is that they didnt open service on time, why? It said 6:30 to 9:30 but there were still empty chaffing dish by 6:38. Dishes were good but the ones that stood out was the lechon cebu (also not served on time) paired with their tinolang manok.

And lastly, the main reason that opted me to leave a review now was that i have now proven that there arent enough ventilation in the facility particularly the Kusina Restaurant. We were seated at the cage with a fan but somehow while we were getting food someone took it and placed it elsewhere. We asked three hotel staff to assist for replacement but actions did not materialize until the 3rd person and we asked for the restaurant manager, Ely. He was very pleasant to talk with and had another fan unit from housekeeping positioned within 5 minutes. So good job with that Ely! This might have really ruined the rest of the evening.

Will update more on the coming days.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank j0beelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandayaResort, Director of Sales Marketing Communications at Kandaya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Arian,

Thank you for having stayed with us and sharing your review.
It’s always valuable for us to read guests feedback, whether it be positive or not, in order to work on our areas for improvement.

Your concerns of course has been conveyed/reviewed with the team members concerned and appropriate steps will be taken to prevent re-occurrence.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day.


My best regards,

Leah I.M.
DOSMC Kandaya Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

If you want privacy, this is THE place to go! A bit pricey, yes. Beautiful resort, yes. It offers accommodations to 3 small islands for an extra fee where you can experience crystal blue water and white sandy beach. You can choose to stay at a garden villa, garden pool villa, beach pool villa. Or you can stay in the main resort building (rooms). It offers free breakfast buffet. Food was not excellent, but good enough. Staff are wonderful and resort also provides rooms for personal drivers for extra fee. It was approximately 4 hours drive from Cebu City.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jocelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandayaResort, Director of Sales Marketing and Communications at Kandaya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Jocelyn,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the raving comments on the beauty of the resort.
We are happy to hear you felt contentment of your experience.

Kandaya is truly a perfect urban escape and privacy that is valued.

We look favourably on welcoming you again soon.


My best regards,

Leah I.M.
DOSMC Kandaya Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We happened to tour around the resort to check if we can stay for a night. A bit pricey because it is a 4 or 5 star resort. The room rates is five digit. The place is clean and quiet with full of security and checks before you enter the vicinity. The amenities is okay. You can do horse riding near the shoreline. It takes you more than 3 hours by land to reach this place.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nathzniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandayaResort, Director of Sales Marketing and Communications at Kandaya Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are indeed located north and a distance of approximately 3.5 hours from the city.
We are always about value and ensuring we have special offers constant in the market, we’d like to
invite you to either/or our Facebook, Instagram or Wechat, for the latest.

We look forward to your next visit.


My best regards,

Leah I.M.
DOSMC Kandaya Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews