We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considerable variation in villa types - beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taman Bebek Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sayan
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Considerable variation in villa types - beware”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We checked both of the hotel's websites, and reasonably expected to get a villa with a verandah, such as the Croissant or Malay. We were happy to pay USD $250 per night for an elegant villa that would protect us from the January rains.

Unfortunately we were placed into the Royal Villa, which has a very small verandah. While this villa has splendid views of the Sayan valley, it was only worth USD $120 per night (I have stayed in Ubud 9 times in the last decade and know poor value for money). As it rained every afternoon, our timber balcony became slippery and dangerous.

We were also very perplexed that the villas that we wanted to stay in, such as the Croissant Villa, appeared to us to be vacant. We requested a villa change but were told that this was not possible. We don't know if hotel management wanted to keep the "good" villas vacant to showcase them to visitors, or, if our booking through Agoda was somehow seen by management as making us second-class guests that only deserved a second class villa.

I would recommend that visitors get a confirmed villa name that they are to stay in, and to thoroughly check the website to avoid disssapointment.

Lastly, the Royal Villa and the Made Villa, are perched on the very edge of the Sayan Valley. Visitors with children need to be very careful. At some stage in the near future these two villas are likely to slide down the very steep valley walls into the Ayung River.

Room Tip: Select the Malay or Croissant. Other villas are not value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RICHARD MARK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    42
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
60
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar, Bali
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel was created by famous landscape and architectural designer - Made Wijaya. So, you can imagine the serenity of the garden and marvelous interior design.
Perfect location not far from Ubud. I like Sayan more than Ubud to spend a weekend there.
The view is down to the river with rainforest and rice fields. To go to Ubud by car is less then 15 minutes.
Unfortunately now for the price you pay at the hotel, it should be renovated and brings more values to the customers

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Just returned from a week in Bali, the end to one of several trips made to Bali over the past few years. Decided to stay at Taman Bebek due to historical significance and pix on thier website. Quite disappointed at the overall condition of the hotel villas; all were in poor condition and not well maintained. We rented three villas for a total of 8 travellers. Was awoken on the last night by rats crawling all over our personal belongings and suitcases (they were polite, but quite noisey). One villa was found to have feces from a large animal all over the floor at check in. Not quite sure that this is on par with other villas we have stayed in; certainly did not come close in comparison for $300 USD per night; ie compared to Maya Ubud. Staff was, however, quite friendly. All in all would never stay again as there are so many other better maintained properties in the area for comparable prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My sister and I recently stayed at this hotel and had to move out of our original room due to ants/insects everywhere and general uncleanliness (mold on shower curtain and dirty floors), only to be put in another room to find cockroaches, bull ants and termites in our bed, on our pillows, on the back of the bed head and all over the floor and walls. We were lucky that a guest at the hotel allowed us to stay in their room, or we would have been homeless. Our room was unlivable, and the hotel staff are most unhelpful. The pictures show netting over all beds, however this isn't the case when you arrive and see the rooms. BE CAREFUL about staying here. Pay hostel rates only!

Room Tip: Only pay hostel/backpacker prices, as that is all it's worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

If you truly want a Balinese experience this is it, nestled amongst the rice patties this group of villas and rooms are the perfect retreat and all that is Bali. No tvs the villas but a tv room for all to share. The word for Taman Bebek is tranquility!!

Room Tip: Choose a villa for the ultimate experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHD1330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayan
1.2 km away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
1.0 km away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
513 reviews
4.7 km away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.0 km away
Pertiwi Bisma
Pertiwi Bisma
#104 of 198 in Ubud
342 reviews
0.5 km away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Bebek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Bebek Resort & Spa

Property: Taman Bebek Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Sayan, Br. Kutuh, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Sayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sayan
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,455 - ₹ 7,687
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taman Bebek Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Taman Bebek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Bebek Resort And Spa
Taman Bebek Hotel Sayan
Novus Taman Bebek Ubud
Taman Bebek Resort & Spa Bali/Sayan, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing