We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has character, but won't stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taman Bebek Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sayan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Overall very laid back hotel, don't expect a four star experience. I would rate the hotel as 3 star. We stayed at the main building by the lobby- a set of four suites in two buildings- and so all comments are restricted to this area (i.e. doesn't include the bungalow/villas). The villas are a 3 minute walk from the main lobby. The paths are gravel so bring your flip flops; no barefooting it. The staff is not well trained but are friendly and are willing to try. Check in and check out were painfully slow and confusing, but we were served the best fruit drink *ever* as we waited. That helped me be more patient. On checkout they didn't have the paperwork ready so we had to leave without a bill. It took me 2 months to get an itemized bill but in the end everything was accurate and charged correctly. The grounds and landscape are the highlight of the hotel. Lush, beautiful, etc. You can take your breakfast by the pool. The area is shaded and the furniture comfortable. The wireless internet access is available only in the lobby. The lobby is a 1970's beach house kind of charm. Furniture is worn but not unattractive; fairly comfortable. It is open air so bugs, mosquitos, etc. There are no TVs in the room. There is a tv bungalow but it is not good- *tiny*, barely any light, a lot of mosquitos, ceiling fan didn't work. Let's just say there is no TV at the hotel. Room service was good. It took a while for the food to arrive, but it was hot, presented well and tasted good. Kid fact- the french fries are good. We stayed in a single room suite that had a king sized bed and a day bed. The suite bed area is really big; enough for two adults and two kids. The suite has a deck looking over the pool. The deck has a daybed, a table and a few chairs. It is a nice place to sit and eat. Two large sliding doors opened from the suite to the deck (see pics). The beds were comfortable and clean. Linens quality was middle. There is a snack area (?) with a counter, a mini fridge and some utensils (see pic). The area is worn and not updated. The counter has old paint peeling off of it and lots of ants (although that could be said for most places, I guess). The mini fridge in this area worked just fine. The snack area is two-star hotel quality. The bathroom was recently updated with nice fixtures, sink, toilet and tile. The shower floor has no rim and is only sloped. The slope is not enough to keep the water from going all over the bathroom floor. We put towels down to contain it. There is a door from the bathroom into a private walled garden, where there is a deep water bath tub. The tub is stained from foliage falling into it, but it is clean. If out door bathing is your thing, it's a nice amenity. The hotel is about 10 min drive by taxi to Ubud shops, Monkey Forest, market, etc. We are going back to Ubud, but we'll be trying a different hotel. I really wanted to like it but I believe there are better options.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live_frm_AsiaPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 70 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

we stayed for 3 nights and although the accommodation was great with wonderful views. the rooms did not have tv's and the wireless was communal in the lobby only. on the whole it was good but the english of the staff was well below what I would expect for a $240US a night hotel. when we asked for simple requests everything was an ordeal and they didn't understand. i had a good time overall with good company but will probably look to find another hotel when i come back next. this hotel is a $125-$150 per night hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbtamblyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Would highly recommend anyone travelling to Ubud to stay here. Its not in the centre of town but not very far from it either. In any case, the hotel provides a shuttle service to drop you in town.

The hotel is located right on the Ayung Valley giving terrific views of the Rice paddies and coconut palm jungles beyond which every morning you can see the volcano right from your room.

The cottages have a very cosy feel with open bathrooms (however they are private). The balconies are big to enjoy sunrise and sunset. No TVs but I didnt feel the need for it over the 2 nights.

The staff are very polite and smart.

The main swimming pool is adequate however our room was closer to the smaller infinity pool which is more like a giant bathtub. It wasnt the best but was convenient.

Room Tip: Good value for money, charming villa resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bugles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed there for two nights for romantic escapade with my partner and I particularly love this place. The view, the rustic ambience, the tranquility.. it’s like being in another world. This resort is located in Sayan area, north west of central ubud, quite tucked away from the busy area of central Ubud & Monkey Forest, but that is the thing we are looking for. Although not as busy as Kuta/Seminyak, Ubud, especially in the town centre, becomes more and more touristy. We just want to get away from that. When we got there, we were the only guests stay for the rest of the week in that resort. Felt a bit creepy, but actually, we were so lucky to have the resort for our own during our stay. We spent our time there by freshening our body in their valley pool, we loved the view and then moved to the main pool, reading, day dreaming, just pure relaxing.

The resort set on the ground facing a magnificent Sayan Valley and Ayung river down below, and it shares the view with the neigbouring resort, Sayan Terrace. There is also Four Seasons just next to Taman Bebek, but in my opinion, the view was much better from either Taman Bebek or Sayan Terrace. In my opinion, The Four Seasons with its grandeur concrete oval shape roof is totally not blend well with the valley’s countour (you can see it from Taman Bebek/Sayan Terrace).

Room
We stayed at one of the four suite in Bali Aga Suites Building. There are 4 suites, 2 upstairs and 2 at the ground. The Bali Aga building faces the main swimming pool. We chose the upstairs suite because it has a small balcony with the view to the pool and the interior is traditional and rustic, with wooden wall, many windows, with Balinese style decor and paintings on the wall and ceiling (see photos). The room is huge with queen size bed. The room is equipped with small fridge, wardrobe cabinet, telephone, electric kettle, tea & coffee utensils. No TV in the room, but we were aware of that, we liked it being far away for a while from TV.. 

Suite was clean and well light, most were coming from outside sunlight on the day(we love it), but at night, there were enough lighting in the suite for good reading or just palying with your laptop. All suites are all air-conditioned. All electrical equipment worked well, no hassle at all. Wi-fi is only available at the lobby, you can’t get the signal in the room. I wish someday they manage to have wi-fi access inside the suite.

The bathroom has standing shower only, with standard amenities like liquid soap, shampoo, conditioners, cotton bud, etc. The water pressure and hot cold switch worked well. The shower curtain, in our opinion, were not very good in preventing water spalshing all over the bathroom everytime we took the shower.

Staff
Staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. Check in and check out was fast. One of their staff actually walked us around the resort for a tour up to the valley, where we were amazed by the breathtaking views. We were so lucky we were the only guest stayed there at that time, so we could have a look on each type of villas in the resort. The Villa Royal was once used for the shooting of one of the Indonesian movies. During the walking tour, we felt like we visited to an open air museum of rustic villas & landscaping style. The closer we get to the valley, the landscape became more and more beautiful.

John & Edwin, the managers, let us to have the resort car to bring us and pick up for dinner in the Swept Away Resto @ Samaya Ubud (10 minutes drive), free of charge. I couldn’t be thankful enough for their assistance during our stay.

Location
It’s in Sayan area and you can access the resort via Jalan Raya Kedewatan (Jalan Raya Sayan). There are not many eateries around the area, except for the simple local stalls. We booked our driver from outside, because it was cheaper compared to if we hired from the resort. From Ubud centre, I guessed it would take 15-20 minutes drive to reach the resort. It’s a secluded and very quiet place, which what we were looking for. The valley was very peaceful, with amazing view of coconut trees, jungles, rice terraces, river and mountain.

Dining
We didn’t have breakfast or dinner at the resort, so we did not have any opinion on it. They offered us breakfast for USD 10 per pax, which I think was quite acceptable, but we went for breakfast in Gaya Fusion, about 10 minutes walking from the resort. For dinner, we went outside as we like to explore many eating places and have an adventure a bit on it.

Facilities
The resort has two swimming pools. The main pool is near the lobby & Bali Aga Suites Building, where we stayed. It’s big enough to do healthy laps, and the pool is surrounded by greeneries. The second pool is tucked away near the valley (where the Malay villa and Royal Villa are located) and the view is amazing!!! We spent most of our time here. Because we were the only guests there, we can have both pools for ourselves at anytime during our stay. It was just like we own it.. LOL. I just can’t say enough about the view, other than confirming other reviewers. Feels like we want to stay there forever and don’t want to leave at all.
They have spa, but we didn’t try.

If you like this kind of resort where you can totally relax in peaceful surroundings without TV and without the urge for a nightlife or hangouts, just having the time just for two, then this is the place. If you like rustic ambience, do not mind less polished traditional-style room, less-modern lifestyle, a bit tucked away from crowds, then this is the place. But above all, you will get the most amazing view in your life as the reward!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andy_zu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Very beautifull quiet place with amazing view, one of the best memories of our trip all around the Bali's island...don't miss it for sure even for spend one night !!

Nicolas Cheruy from Belgium

Room Tip: Go on the bottom, right side, close the private sp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aktif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sayan
1.1 km away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
2.3 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.2 km away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#106 of 199 in Ubud
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
567 reviews
4.7 km away
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Tanah Merah Art Resort
#92 of 199 in Ubud
365 reviews
0.5 km away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Bebek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Bebek Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Sayan, Br. Kutuh, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Sayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sayan
Price Range: ₹ 5,145 - ₹ 7,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taman Bebek Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taman Bebek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Bebek Hotel Sayan
Taman Bebek Resort And Spa
Novus Taman Bebek Ubud
Taman Bebek Resort & Spa Bali/Sayan, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing