We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
342
157
37
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
342
157
37
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course greetham valley golf break golf club in excellent condition great weekend great golf bar prices every member of staff golf society two courses wedding reception weekend break family wedding return visit round of golf food is excellent
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 547 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We took advantage of the ridiculously low price for 2 rounds dinner b&b.
We were not disappointed. Staff very friendly. Both courses are fair challenge, some cracking holes, but so well kept given the amount of traffic they see. A real credit to the green keeping team.
Well done all of you. We will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Neil, huge thanks for taking the time to leave your excellent review following your recent golf break. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have made certain to pass on your appreciation of the courses to our green keepers - thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel combined with a great golf course is a utopia for golfers.

We were there with 28 members of a friends club that are all over 60 yrs old.

The food was very good and well presented. Restaurant staff very helpful and attentive.

Our stay was from Friday to Sunday morning.
Bedrooms were nicely proportioned and very clean. One word of warning shower/bath water very hot could not turn it down.

Nice place to unwind visit local areas including quaint Stamford Town and the terrific Burgleigh country house and only 15 mins from Rutland. Few of us do not play golf anymore but still enjoyed the views.

Would reccomend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank GazzaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Gazza, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely review following your recent break at Greetham Valley, we are all delighted that your party thoroughly enjoyed their stay. The maintenance team has been alerted to the hot water issue, thank you for letting us know. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Our extended family stayed in two lodges and we've had a great time. The lodges are well kitted out to accommodate large numbers in comfort. The spacious living area was big enough for everyone. The staff have been brilliant; happy for us to move a bit of furniture around so we could all eat together! There's plenty to do in and around the lodges. Thank you from 8 adults, 2 teens, 2 kids and a dog !!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Harrierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Harrierman, what a lovely review! Thank you so much, we are all delighted that you and your family had such a great time at Greetham Valley. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Just come back from a weekend break. My dads social club had a dinner and dance there and we had a round of golf as well.
Rooms were basic but clean with all the required items. Beds were singles joined together but were very comfortable. Had a lovely view over the course and decent blackout blinds for nighttime.
We played the valley course and I wasn't expecting much as it wasn't the main course. How wrong could you be, it was a lovely course, some stunning holes especially the par threes over the valley. The 17th is one of the toughest tee shots I have ever seen. Unfortunately the weather was poor with40 mph winds but we enjoyed the round and I would imagine it would still be a good test in the summer. A word of warning it is a tough walk with lots of hills to navigate. But overall we were all impressed with the course and its condition.
Another real positive was the food. We had lovely breakfasts and evening meals on both days. The staff were all helpful and polite and dining areas were well presented.
The venue is very much set up for the "golf break" client and it would be a good venue for that. My wife was a little bored with a lack of other facilities on site and had to venture out for the day with some of the other ladies (by the way they said Stamford was a lovely place to visit). If the site had a pool and spa it would be a cracking facility.
Overall I would definitely return to try the other course.

Room Tip: Room 120 had a nice view but was furthest from all facilities.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Colin, huge thanks for leaving your superb review following your recent weekend at Greetham Valley, we are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We agree that Stamford is a lovely place to visit as are our other local market towns, Oakham and Uppingham. Not to forget the numerous local castles, stately homes, gardens and other lovely attractions in and around Rutland all within a short drive! We look forward to welcoming you back to try the Lakes course - we think you will love it as much as the Valley, they are both kept in the same superb condition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We stayed at the hotel for a family get together. It is an excellent hotel - food, accommodation and staff especially. Very well organised in every way. Golf course challenging with several stunning holes and so well maintained.

Room Tip: Best views over lake and golf course
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

George, thank you for your excellent review following your family golfing get together at Greetham Valley. We are delighted that you consider us an excellent venue and hope to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews