We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
338
154
37
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
338
154
37
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegreetham valleygolf breakgolf clubin excellent conditiongreat weekendgreat golfbar pricesevery member of staffgolf societytwo courseswedding receptionweekend breakreturn visitfamily weddinground of golffood is excellent
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Our extended family stayed in two lodges and we've had a great time. The lodges are well kitted out to accommodate large numbers in comfort. The spacious living area was big enough for everyone. The staff have been brilliant; happy for us to move a bit of furniture around so we could all eat together! There's plenty to do in and around the lodges. Thank you from 8 adults, 2 teens, 2 kids and a dog !!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Harrierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Harrierman, what a lovely review! Thank you so much, we are all delighted that you and your family had such a great time at Greetham Valley. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Just come back from a weekend break. My dads social club had a dinner and dance there and we had a round of golf as well.
Rooms were basic but clean with all the required items. Beds were singles joined together but were very comfortable. Had a lovely view over the course and decent blackout blinds for nighttime.
We played the valley course and I wasn't expecting much as it wasn't the main course. How wrong could you be, it was a lovely course, some stunning holes especially the par threes over the valley. The 17th is one of the toughest tee shots I have ever seen. Unfortunately the weather was poor with40 mph winds but we enjoyed the round and I would imagine it would still be a good test in the summer. A word of warning it is a tough walk with lots of hills to navigate. But overall we were all impressed with the course and its condition.
Another real positive was the food. We had lovely breakfasts and evening meals on both days. The staff were all helpful and polite and dining areas were well presented.
The venue is very much set up for the "golf break" client and it would be a good venue for that. My wife was a little bored with a lack of other facilities on site and had to venture out for the day with some of the other ladies (by the way they said Stamford was a lovely place to visit). If the site had a pool and spa it would be a cracking facility.
Overall I would definitely return to try the other course.

Room Tip: Room 120 had a nice view but was furthest from all facilities.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Colin, huge thanks for leaving your superb review following your recent weekend at Greetham Valley, we are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We agree that Stamford is a lovely place to visit as are our other local market towns, Oakham and Uppingham. Not to forget the numerous local castles, stately homes, gardens and other lovely attractions in and around Rutland all within a short drive! We look forward to welcoming you back to try the Lakes course - we think you will love it as much as the Valley, they are both kept in the same superb condition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We stayed at the hotel for a family get together. It is an excellent hotel - food, accommodation and staff especially. Very well organised in every way. Golf course challenging with several stunning holes and so well maintained.

Room Tip: Best views over lake and golf course
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

George, thank you for your excellent review following your family golfing get together at Greetham Valley. We are delighted that you consider us an excellent venue and hope to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We have eaten at Greetham Valley on a number of occasions, mostly for functions, or after a round of golf, but for some reason we always overlook it when thinking of somewhere locally to go for a midweek lunch.

So it was that a sunny autumn day found us here for lunch, in a surprisingly empty lounge/dining room.

We had an extremely good lunch, service was great, food excellent, fresh, plentiful and very well presented.

A nearby table of gentlemen obviously here for a post golf tournament presentation tucked in with gusto to clearly home made pies and steaming hot vegetables, which they obviously enjoyed tremendously.

My husband had a BLT wrap thick tasty with salad which he said was some of the loveliest salad he could remember. I had a huge plateful of BLT with delicious home made chips, moist char grilled chicken, thick tasty bacon (where does that come from I want some)

Price? For two with a large bottle of mineral water, £20.00! A couple of coffees and mediocre sandwiches would cost more nearby. Excellent value.

So, why is the place not packed to the rafters? I know several other golf clubs that do attract "casual diners" and their restaurants are full every day, Tytherington is one that immediately springs to mind.

Having pondered this for some little time, we came to the conclusion that it is simply because sadly, it lacks some atmosphere.

A few little touches could help matters considerably. Table mats - even wipe clean variety, placing just main course knife and fork on the napkin rather than setting out all the cutlery including desert spoon and fork directly onto the table top. Maybe a few flowers or a plant on the table would help to soften the edges and alter it from a "management canteen" feel to the extremely comfortable restaurant it really is.

It is such a shame, because this is a quality establishment, and really deserves to be far better supported.
(PS Please clean the ceiling fan/lights)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank softuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

softuk, thank you very much for taking the time to leave your post lunch review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience and thank you for your suggestions which we have relayed to our team. Chef is particularly pleased with your compliments and will happily tell you the secret of the bacon provenance :) We hope you will think of us again when considering your lunch or dinner venue and look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Great view of golf course from room. Golf courses in good condition and interesting. Glad to have a buggy for the Valley course which was quite hilly. Food good and staff very friendly and helpful. Good value.

Room Tip: Room with view of golf course best
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee_hinch, Owner at Greetham Valley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Peter, many thanks for leaving your lovely review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your golf break at Greetham Valley and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews