We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious yet affordable pet-friendly B&B! Look no further when you're in Warners Bay/Lake Macquarie!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tantarra Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tantarra Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Warners Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious yet affordable pet-friendly B&B! Look no further when you're in Warners Bay/Lake Macquarie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary getaway and we were not disappointed. We also had our pug with us and he enjoyed himself immensely! There was a lovely little garden near the pool where he kept himself entertained (and did his 'business'). We highly recommend the Shambala suite as we had complete privacy and had a breakfast room with a kitchenette area to heat up food and make tea and coffee. That suite is also closest to the pool, which was just perfect on a hot November's day! Breakfast was divine - we especially loved the Tantarra Pancake Stack - soooo yummy!! Thank you Kim & Serena for making our stay so special and memorable! We hope to visit again soon!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tantarra, Owner at Tantarra Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you so very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
65
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I enjoyed two peaceful and relaxing nights in the Shambala suite. The room was large, spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed large and comfortable and the bathroom nicely appointed.

The hosts were friendly, helpful and unintrusive. The breakfast omelette the best I've ever tasted. A huge thanks to the hosts, who provided us with the perfect setting to unwind and enjoy our last few days in Australia.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The room was smaller than I thought it would be from the photos but very comfortable and well appointed. My room opened onto a kitchenette/sitting room shared with another couple so very good if you are travelling with friends but perhaps not if you are planning on romance.
The pool area is sublime and I would book in to stay in the room facing onto this area if my partner was with me as it is just gorgeous. Breakfast was great, hosts lovely.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with others get the rooms that share a sitting room. For a romantic experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WenZan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tantarra, Owner at Tantarra Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thankyou for your review. When we have single travellers they tend to [understandably] ask or require the most economical room. This also applies to businesses who book for their staff. We are a traditional and pet friendly Bed and Breakfast and do not exclusively promote or cater to the "romantic". We have a range of accommodation to suit - as best as we can - a wide range of "reasons to stay" - offering to all - regardless of their reason a comfortable bed, a hearty breakfast and a garden escape reminiscent of the "East".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed at Tantarra for four nights from 4 - 7th July and found the service excellent. Hosts Kim and Sarina were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely stay again!!

The setting was beautiful, surrounded by a tropical themed gardens. The B&B is also pet friendly if you want to take your pets with you.

The room was spacious and well appointed and included wireless internet.

Handy to all amenities, close to shops & dining options, short drive tobeautiful Warner's Bay.

Best of all is the massive breakfast - full menu and yum!

Our Tips:
- Don't miss the great breakfast (Try a different one every morning) Omelette was the best!!
- Have a light lunch and go to Warner's Bay Hotel for one of their massive meals - cheap and tasty

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdhd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

I stayed here for a single night ahead of the Lake Macquarie Half Marathon in August. Serena was a pleasure to deal with by phone and email ahead of time, and made me feel welcome when I arrived. I found the room I was given very comfortable: nicely decorated, well lit with natural light from a skylight, and with a small but well appointed ensuite. I told Serena ahead of time that I would not be able to take advantage of the usual breakfast because I would be running in the morning, so she made sure I had bread, a toaster and honey in my room the night before so I could have a small meal early, and then she brought me a plate of fresh fruit when I returned from my run the next morning, which was very considerate. The bed was comfortable and I had a great night's sleep, which is the main thing you want before a race. You can't please everyone, of course, and while pet owners no doubt enjoy having their 'extended family' with them on holiday, I personally would prefer not to smell 'wet dog' in the guest foyer area. However the dogs sharing the guest quarters were at least all quiet, which I appreciated. Given the time of year and my reason for travel, I didn't make use of the pool or garden, but they both looked very nice. I enjoyed my stay, would definitely recommend it and would stay here again; in fact, I have it in mind as a potential getaway for myself and my husband at some future date.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZXgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warners Bay
1.2 km away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.4 km away
Best Western Plus Apollo International
8.0 km away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
9.2 km away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
9.2 km away
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#14 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantarra Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantarra Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tantarra Bed & Breakfast
Address: 119 Bayview St, Warners Bay, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2282, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Warners Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Warners Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,886 - ₹ 9,483
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tantarra Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tantarra is just 1 hour North of Hornsby, 2 minutes drive to beautiful Lake Macquarie and just 10 minutes to fantastic beaches and Newcastle city centre. Suitable for singles, couples, small groups and business travellers, we offer 3 boutique rooms in a unique and relaxed hosted Bed & Breakfast experience. Spend time contemplating in tranquil South-east Asian style gardens, sip wine by the pool or just relax in your well appointed rooms. Your tariff also includes a comprehensive choice of cafe-style cooked or continental breakfasts each morning. Check out and "like" Facebook page for some great discounts and last minute deals. Although a traditional Bed and Breakfast, Tantarra has been designed to offer you both privacy and your own entrance - allowing for 24 hour access. Besides being a unique B&B experience for ALL travelers, Tantarra is also Newcastle's Premier PET-FRIENDLY Bed and Breakfast destination dedicated to offering both you and your fur-friend as comfortable a stay as possible. Your accommodation choices include: - Lotus Queen Bedrooms - EACH suitable for 2; or our very exotic "Shambala" suite - suitable for 2 or 3; or you can combine 2 OR 3 rooms to suit small groups of up to 7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tantarra Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing