We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
233
91
22
17
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
91
22
17
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool grand beach sri lanka outdoor bathroom wine cellar public beach lounge area sea swimming beach stay six nights play room f b manager staff were super friendly five star hotel breakfast buffet other hotels relaxing days
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

It was a disappointment
Of course it is not crap but not what you would expect for a 5 stars and over 150$ a day in country where the average wage is about 300$ a month.

The main disappointment is that you can’t swim in the sea. There is a small lagoon on the beach that face the hotel. This leads to having water under the knees and a lot of dead corals that prevent you from walking with bare foot.
Plenty of hotels on the other side of the bay like the CALM hotel for example. Have a look on google and you can see it clearly.

So you’re left with the swimming pool which is nice and large but of course it is disappointing.

Outdoor bathroom is extremely large but a bit useless and there is no blind meaning that you can expect early rise which is not what you would expect for resting.

Amenities are terrible. Certainly cheap but it is refilled with the cheapest possible shampoo. Clearly not Hermès as in Sofitel or Bolton as in Shangri-La ;)

Air conditioning is stopping every hour. They claimed it was an electricity supply issue but you would expect that a 5 stars hotel would have invested in a generator. When it stopped it makes a specific ring tone to wake you up :). Anyway at some point It is to warm.

Food and drinks are extremely overpriced.

Breakfast is ok but far from 5 stars absolutely not to the level you would expect.

Very nice ocean suite.
Staff is nice but management is disgraceful.

So if you are used to guest houses you will love it. If you are used to 5 stars and have some expectations this hotel will fall short.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gl0be_Tr0tter_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights and were blown away by the beauty of the hotel ! The magnificent pool in front of the beach is beautiful ! But what really made our stay exceptional was the kindness and attention of the staff . The combination between the atmosphere and the efficiency of the service made it a perfect holiday

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 754kishans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

+++

I saw several places around the globe but this hotel and this place is very exceptional, I recommend this property to everyone wants to disconnect from our busy world and to reconnect with nature.
We arrived to the resort much early than planned (7 a.m) and we were surprised that they offered for us a temporary room without any extra cost.
All the stuff was very nice, all of them without any exception in the reception, restaurant, cleaning, swimming pool and especially the restaurant manager.
The breakfast was very good and always open buffet, with a big varieties of fruits and deserts.
The dinner as well was open buffet and it was very delicious, we tried always fish and it was very very delicious. Especially the spicy craps.
The swimming pool was always clean with a special view to the sea.
The room was very spacious with a nice view to the sea, and very calm.
Every picture you can see in the booking is real and it reflects exactly the reality, even the reality is much better.

----

The sea in front of the hotel is not suitable for swimming, you need to walk 10min to find a beautiful beach perfect for swimming.
The kids playing area could be better with more games.
We’re getting water in the room but in the restaurant and near to the swimming pool the water is expensive.

Room tip: The south rooms
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

The Sun Aqua is the best resort and spa in pasikudah. its gives the real maldivian sunny beaches atmosphere. Best way to reach there is the sea plane. The best food and the very spacious villas. Staff and the service is excellent standards. Keep it up .

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank lalithpeiris67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We chose to end our two weeks of travel around Sri Lanka on the east coast in Pasikudah. Four nights of chill-out at the beautiful Sun Aqua was the perfect end to our holiday.

We booked a Grand Beach Pavillon for our stay. It consists of two mirror-image villas connected by a common (lockable door). Each villa contains a large walk-through wardrobe and a large bathroom. Both villas have separate access to a large private pool at the back, surrounded by a high wall. The Pavillons are absolute beach-front so our favourite activity each day was to order sundowners from the bar and sit outside, watching the waves and the sun go down.

The villas have heaps of space but are perhaps a little sparsely-appointed. Both villas are air conditioned, we did have some trouble with our air conditioners but the hotel took corrective action pretty quickly. The bathroom lacks good ventilation and often became a little stuffy (openable windows would be lovely). The bar fridge was very slow to chill water but got there eventually. The villas were serviced twice-daily and all staff did a brilliant job. It would be good if, as part of room servicing, towels were provided on the sun lounges at the pool.

I feel like the reviews some travellers have posted about the food are a little harsh, We selected the full-board option as, with research, there did not appear to be a lot of other options outside the hotel. And it was a good decision. The breakfast and dinner buffets were extensive and had both Sri Lankan and Western options. There were chefs on-hand to cook hot offers on request. For lunch, we were handed a small menu with sufficient options and the food was extremely well-prepared and well-presented. You have to pay for still water at the restaurant but you get plenty replenished daily in your room, so we started taking water with us to for our meals.

The restaurant is not air-conditioned which made it quite warm on some days and evenings. We were fortunate enough to always be seated outside on the balcony for all dinners, our table had a good breeze off the water and lovely views.

I have to give a big call-out to the restaurant staff. Whether at breakfast, lunch or dinner, all staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive without being over-bearing. Chaminda, the restaurant manager, was clearly determined to provide the best experience for guests and very proud of his team; we often noted him walking around each and every table, talking to guests and ensuring they were enjoying their meals.

The main pool is GORGEOUS, a large black-tiled beauty with infinity views to the beach and beyond. Fabulous pink sun-lounges and umbrellas completed this picture.

We visited the spa on a couple occasions. You cannot access the full complement of services listed as the menu is based on the offers at another Sun Aqua hotel. There are no pre- and post- treatment relaxation rooms. The treatment rooms themselves are reasonably appointed and we enjoyed our treatments.

A few intrepid guests attempted a swim at the beach but it is quite shallow and there is a lot of coral, so tough underfoot. There is a public beach a little further along which we heard great things about so we took the walk one afternoon; it is really not worth the effort.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this small, lovely resort and would definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MadameBubbles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews