We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
442
85
12
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
85
12
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka pool bar hotel architecture mr sarath private entrance sous chef unique architecture other hotels special thanks superior room seafood stray dogs water polo main pool f b recommend this resort garden area
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

This place was a nightmare to deal with starting with their phone number both in google & their website has the phone number for chollas for both locations, took 1 week just to get the phone number, sent wedding enquiry and it took 3 emails to get it to the right department after 2 weeks, than we got some contact name Avi who sent a quote after 5 phone calls and 3 emails only to find the quote 30% more expensive than the website & booking.com, when I told them that they got defensive and said yearly rise etc, I was okay with that and we had our trip booked to go in August, after that we couldn’t get a hold of the person we were dealing with for 6 weeks despite calling all number multiple times, than happen to get the persons phone answered and find out he has left the company and the hotel failed to get in contact to let us know, our whole enquiry started again with another headache, now we are 1 week before our trip without accommodation booked because we were waiting for them to arrange our stay with food tasting only to find out that they said we can’t do food tasting without booking the event for 100 people even though we were willing to pay, the service was horrible in every way possible from their food & beverage to their hotel manager, they call themselves 5 Star, despite all that we went to see the venue only to find the place was dirty, spider webs all over the place, their fish ponds are dirty & smells, grass isn’t taken care of and is dying, staff at restaurant took 10 minute to sit us down even though there was no one in line but because they were talking to eachother, Than they forgot our drink order for 15 minutes in that hot day, I would say STAY AWAY from these people unless you want your holiday ruined, every other 5 star place in passikudah has 10x better service.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Faheem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anantaya Resort... C, Resort Manager at Anantaya Resort & Spa - Pasikudah, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Guest,

You have made the booking through booking.com and cancelled the same. Further, online rates are only for the individual bookings and not for the bulk bookings and it was mentioned in past. To accommodate your group request we need to impose stop sales for all our regular business sources. Until the event booking is firmly confirmed we do not provide any complimentary rooms and food tasting is subject to additional charges.

So far we have been getting best of reviews not only on TripAdvisor, but on all the online portals including Holiday Check. Ananataya Passikudah is the one and only 05 star resort in the east coast . However we will keep TripAdvisor well informed on the negative comment you posted with a personal interest

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

I’ve just stayed in the hotel with the previous reviewer “the wilds”, and we were both impressed to have been approached by the Head of food and beverage & General Manager this evening wishing to resolve our few issues. We are happy to report that they made every effort to positively resolve these. We also wish to mention that the evening buffets are fantastic value and offer a huge selection of high quality food ie. this evenings sushi, sea food and meat selection which was delicious. We wish this stunning hotel every success!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AlexandraEvirano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

This is a beautifully designed and located hotel on a stunning stretch of quiet beach. A lot of thought has gone into landscaping and room design , however there are a few issues.

Firstly I am highly concerned by the street dogs in the dining room, breakfast room and in the grounds. Although I tried to discuss this with the Manager he choose not to talk to me and failed to follow up - very disappointing.

Secondly, there is insufficient seating for drinks in the evening.

Thirdly, I booked a twin room but was given a room where only one person could get out of bed without climbing down the bed and advised by staff that there are no twin rooms.!

Although this hotel is stunning in design and location, I feel that atmosphere and some areas of customer service have room for growth.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank TheWilds42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

My family and I have visited many resorts in Pasikudah over the past 5 years and Anantara is by far the best resort. Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff who were all smiling and happy. They provided a nice welcome drink and cool towel for all of us. We had a group of six people in our party and one of them was handicapped and could not climb any stairs. When we made the reservation we spoke to Kasun Weranga and we asked him if Anantaya could accommodate a handicapped person and make sure she had a room on the ground floor with no steep surfaces or stairs to climb. Kasun made sure this was possible and we were really grateful for this as some other hotels also promised the same but in the end they could not deliver what they promised.

The pool is huge and really nice. There is a swim up bar at the pool and the drinks were reasonably priced, we really enjoyed it. The pool staff were very friendly and made sure we always had towels and chairs. There is one depth in the pool at all spots except for the children’s area. There is no deep end. The best part about this pool was it wasn’t crowded at all. It was very peaceful.

The beach behind this resort couldn’t be more perfect than it is. The beach is super clean, I didn’t see any liter or garbage anywhere. In the water behind the hotel, there is soft sand everywhere and no broken coral pieces unlike some other resorts in Pasikudah. The entire property is beautiful with lots of space to walk around. Don’t miss the awesome sunrise!

The rooms in this hotel are very modern and I have no complaints about them at all. We had a room upstairs which had a nice view of the pool on one side and the beach on the other, it was great. We also had a room on the ground floor which opened up right to the pool, you could walk into the pool from the room.

We were on a full board plan and really enjoyed every meal at this resort. The staff in the restaurant did everything possible to make sure we had what we needed. Dhanushika Fernando was one of the ladies working there and she saw our group had one handicapped person and was so helpful. She assisted and made sure the handicapped person didn’t have to keep getting up to get food, she went and picked up food and delivered it to the table. I had a craving for curd and treacle since I don’t get it in the USA and it wasn’t on the buffet so I asked if it was possible and the next morning they brought it to me.

If you are looking for a resort that has wild and crazy parties with drunk people everywhere, this isn’t the resort for you. This place serves up a good dose of peace and quiet, I loved it!

There were no surprises while checking out like extra charges on our bill.

We will definitely go back and stay longer at this resort, it was wonderful.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank The_Lankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in a stunning position, right on the beach, the pool is wonderful, as are the rooms, but....there was no bar or outside seating area in the evening! The pool bar shut at 7 (and that just had half a dozen stools round it) - after that there was just a makeshift bar in a conference room with no windows and awful lighting - horrible place to sit. Consequently nobody sat in it, everyone was just wandering round before and after dinner with nowhere to go. We walked each evening up to Uga bay who’s lovely beach bar served food and stayed open til 10pm. Also, although each room had a patio or balcony, there was no furniture so you couldn’t even sit there and enjoy the views. We and others repeatedly pointed this out to the management who made all the right noises but unfortunately didn’t change anything :-( apparently they said it was too hot for foreigners to sit outside and drink as they get sweaty! Although the restaurant was outside! Made absolutely no sense...there were areas that clearly had been a bar/restaurant at some point but we’re disused when we were there...don’t go there, go to Uga Bay

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SSCC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews