We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We went to the Riu Buena Vista in January 2012, at a time when the whole of Europe was in deep freeze. Weather was perfect for our stay - over 20 degrees and it felt hotter in the sun. We went all-inclusive, which is recommended as there aren't any decent restaurants within a comfortable walk. The staff at reception (particularly) and indeed everywhere else were friendly and went out their way to provide good service. There was a reasonable selection of food but it didn't vary and might have got a bit boring after two weeks. Life basically revolves round the two pools, although other activities such as air rifle shooting and football are available. It gets noisy at times due to the poolside entertainment (which is of reasonable quality) but these sessions don't last that long. My main gripe was the availability of hot water, the acquisition of which necessitated running taps and showers for several minutes before even a lukewarm temperature could be reached. Cautious travellers might worry about the luggage storage room next to reception, which is totally open to everyone.

Overall it was good, and best thing I can say is that we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'D' block which is separate from the main hotel. There are no lifts so peo...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain_AUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,092)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,489 of 3,093 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

We booked through Firstchoice to the Club Rui with Thomson airline flights. Two adults and our two children aged 10 and 9. Arriving 27th December for one week.
Greeted at airport, directed to taxi and arrived at hotel less than 30 minutes later.
The outside of the hotel was ablaze with beautiful Christmas decorations/lights as was the massive reception area. We were greeted by the warmest two male receptionists ever. Given all in-clusive wrist bands, two large bottles of water, a FREE safe (Never ever had a free safe before) and four cards for our FREE beach towels.
Our family room was huge and spotless! – Two loos, separate bath and shower. Two sets of patio doors and a fridge. Even though we hadn’t paid for a sea view, we could see the see from the large balcony.
Food – Lots of choice with a chef “show” cooking. Even the coffee was good. There is a beach restaurant which can be quieter and has speciality evenings. We tried the Asian and it was gorgeous. They even serve cakes in the afternoons!
Day two - Reception called to ask if we had everything we needed? Two more pillows please.
Day three - Reception called to see if we had received our pillows!
***Gala Dinner New Year’s Eve – Out of this world! Ice sculptures, chocolate fountains, gold fish swimming in bowls (Not for eating!)
Freixenet cava and bottles of white or red wine. There were balloons everywhere and a balloon net. We were given party bags with masks and streamers too.
Pool area spotless with lots of sunbeds. Pool a tad cold, according to the children! Well keep swimming then!
Kids enjoyed the kids club, they even came to collect them, from the pool, one day.
Cava served pool side in proper stemmed champagne flutes (Plastic, for safety reasons) slushes available for the children.
Good value shops within the hotel, selling newspapers and magazines.
Small beach down the hill, you will need a towel to sit on. And a few shops and bars.
I could go on . . . . Just loved it, amazing. Tenerife for New Year is mega!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VickypNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel last September (2011) for our summer holiday. I had extremely high expectations due to the reputation Riu has for outstanding hotels. When we first arrived (after a very long time travelling) we were told our rooms weren't ready yet (it was about 9PM) which did not go down well with me. We were given awful directions a room that seemed to be a mile away from reception. The English of the staff was poor, I know it's ignorant to expect other countries to speak fluent English but I do expect a holiday resort to be fluent in the popular languages. Food was ok, I found it to be luke warm and under cooked, I lived on pasta and chips for the duration of our stay. Only plus side on the food/drink side was the cocktails were fantastic.

Our room was a family room and despite it being far away from reception it was a great room - no complaints there other than the obvious twin beds being pushed together to make a double. I believe this is a European thing though, i've stayed in many hotels within Europe - all of which with twin beds.

The pools had limited sun beds and as usual (despite the rule of no reserving seats) there were people up at (no lie) 7am reserving loungers. If you plan days by the pool get there quick!!

There is a themed restaurant over looking the sea (book in advance) which I strongly recommend, view is amazing. There was also a lovely path that had a side path down to the rocks. My partner and I spent a huge amount of time down there. There was also a tiny man made beach however we didn't go down there as there was no shade and I was burnt to a crisp!

Entertainment was OK, not the best but not the worst i've seen - certainly didn't live up to the reputation Riu hotels have for their entertainment.

All in all, it was an OK week made better by the various trips we arranged through the travel agents.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel would have sea views so I imagine they'd be the best to book.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lf3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Travelled with First Choice on 16th Dec until 27th Dec. Had a lovely time and the weather was excellent. Our room was excellent very clean, 2 bathrooms and fridge. The reception staff were fantastic they couldnt have been more helpful. We got the courtesy bus to Americas which was easy to book and it drops you off near Sian park and its about 10min walk into the centre. We went to Sian Park which was also amazing and we used the free bus to get there and back (a taxi is about 17euros each way). The food was varied and there is two places to eat. The bar staff are lovely and the drinks are good. You can get free bottled water from the reception whenever you want. The sun beds in a morning can be a pain we were lucky to go with another family who were up to get the beds early, but if you werent down early you get beds in the that are in the shade until 1pm. Playa Pariso is about 5 min walk and there was enough for us there maybe 10 shops a lot sold simlar things and a few bars 2 English bars. The beach is a little cobbley but looked suffcient. The only negative i can say is the entertainment. The day time entertainment isnt announced so you end up missing everything and the evening entertainment isnt very good. There is the main bar where someone sings, outside where there is no music or the theatre which we did only try a couple of times, but it wasnt very good. The rep didnt seem to have much knowledge, but he is there a lot and very friendly and helpful. Christmas eve was good santa came, but the Christmas gala meal was a let down we didnt really eat because it was in two sittings and so it was very busy and you couldnt get to anything.
Overall we have a excellent holiday the Buena Vista just needs to up its entertainment.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rach228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and I plus 2 friends spent Christmas here. It was a fabulous place to stay. The staff are helpful and welcoming. They try very hard to supply all you could need. The speciality restaurant on the beach proved to be a welcome diversion from meals in the main hotel.Christmas Eve was a magical experience for all those young and young at heart. Watching the faces of the children and Santa Claus and his sleigh (complete with reindeer) arrived in the hotel was worth more than money can say. We had lovely rooms, next time we will book seaview rooms. They were great size with fabulous facilities. The hotel was clean and food more than adequate. Will we visist again? Most definitely

Room Tip: ask for room in A block
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itchyfeet029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
39.6 km away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
378 reviews
7.1 km away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,691 reviews
4.1 km away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Roca Nivaria GH - Adrian Hoteles
12.8 km away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,823 reviews
4.9 km away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#14 of 59 in Costa Adeje
2,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista

Address: Horno 35 , Urb. Playa Paraiso, 38678 Playa Paraiso, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Dunas Paraiso)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: ₹ 9,771 - ₹ 22,821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 509
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa Paraiso * 9-storey main building and villas * On the seafront * 10 km from Costa Adeje * Complimentary hotel bus to Playa de las Americas * 500 m from various shops * 30 km from the airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Buena Vista Adeje
Dunas Paraiso Tenerife
Dunas Paraiso Hotel Tenerife
Clubhotel Riu Buena Vista Hotel
Hotel Dunas Paraiso
ClubHotel Riu Buena Vista Tenerife, Spain - Playa Paraiso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing