We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
110
58
32
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
58
32
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garlic mushrooms the pub new extension children's play area sticky toffee pudding garden room lovely lunch for sunday lunch family meal excellent meal fish and chips an evening meal comfortable rooms ramekin dog tartan carlisle
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017

After going regular on a Sunday night for the past few years we are very disappointed to the change of management staff and chef the food was slow portion sizes small the stake size was small and still the same price the staff were not happy chatty or interested in making sure we enjoyed our meal the dining room was cold. Disappointed shall not be rushing back

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peakadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We ate here last week for lunch and thought the food was very nice.. The pub seemed a little understaffed but the guy serving was very attentive and polite if a little 'rushed on his feet'. We only waited around 20 mins for our food which at £14.95 for 2 courses was very reasonable indeed.. Pets are allowed in the bar area, and there is a nice play area for children outside next to an outdoor terrace..

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon_orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Visited for our annual "last day of term" gathering. Have been coming here for the past few years...have never had to book...always made to feel welcome. What a difference this year! Stood at the bar for 20 minutes waiting for someone to take my food order. Was made to feel as welcome as a leper! The middle aged man taking the food orders seemed to be the only person allowed to take orders...consequently he could not keep up. His customer service was non existent! Children's meals have gone up in price and down in portion size! This pub built up it's trade with the help of local people like us. It now seems to want to ignore that and focus on booked "restaurant" guests only. They must cater for all or it could be the beginning of the end. The change in management seems to have has a detrimental effect. I won't be rushing back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank NorthernlassCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We had another fantastic meal in the new Extension overlooking the gardens . Superb, attentive service from John the new manager , Janet and their young enthusiastic team. We,ll most certainly be back soon to enjoy great food with excellent value . Many thanks for another enjoyable evening in relaxed atmosphere .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This pub with rooms was an excellent choice for stop
en route from Scotland. The room was spacious and comfortable. Very dog friendly with convenient footpath next to pub for dog walk ( on lead as cows in field). Dinner was delicious, although staff were working under pressure as very busy and we understand affected by sickness absence. Breakfast also good. An added bonus was a trip to nearby Hadrian's Wall. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tpacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews