We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“contemporary country inn with amazing food”
Review of The Queens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Queens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Delightful place, an old world inn with a modern twist - nicely spruced up to todays standards, from the garden room restaurant in a newly built oak barn extension to the modern tartan clad furnishings. Clearly an interior designer helped put this place together.

Food was good, ooh ! REAL chips ! :) well cooked and I have to say the Sticky toffee pudding - well at first i was disappointed - smallish portion one blob of ice cream.... - but then i ate it and my gosh - that has to be THE best Sticky toffee pudding i have had - and as my waistline can testify - I have tried a few !

Clearly a local haunt for the locals with a bevvy of Range rovers and BMWs in the car park ! Great staff, and the glass juggling barmaid .. good catch with that glass - you know who you are ! :)

Only down side was the WIFI, which was intermittent at best, so not so good for business travellers needing to catch up at the end of the day - But really great for couples and a lovely cosy venue.

would i stay again? - in a heart beat !

Room Tip: wifi is weak
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

After going regular on a Sunday night for the past few years we are very disappointed to the change of management staff and chef the food was slow portion sizes small the stake size was small and still the same price the staff were not happy chatty or interested in making sure we enjoyed our meal the dining room was cold. Disappointed shall not be rushing back

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peakadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We ate here last week for lunch and thought the food was very nice.. The pub seemed a little understaffed but the guy serving was very attentive and polite if a little 'rushed on his feet'. We only waited around 20 mins for our food which at £14.95 for 2 courses was very reasonable indeed.. Pets are allowed in the bar area, and there is a nice play area for children outside next to an outdoor terrace..

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon_orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Visited for our annual "last day of term" gathering. Have been coming here for the past few years...have never had to book...always made to feel welcome. What a difference this year! Stood at the bar for 20 minutes waiting for someone to take my food order. Was made to feel as welcome as a leper! The middle aged man taking the food orders seemed to be the only person allowed to take orders...consequently he could not keep up. His customer service was non existent! Children's meals have gone up in price and down in portion size! This pub built up it's trade with the help of local people like us. It now seems to want to ignore that and focus on booked "restaurant" guests only. They must cater for all or it could be the beginning of the end. The change in management seems to have has a detrimental effect. I won't be rushing back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank NorthernlassCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We had another fantastic meal in the new Extension overlooking the gardens . Superb, attentive service from John the new manager , Janet and their young enthusiastic team. We,ll most certainly be back soon to enjoy great food with excellent value . Many thanks for another enjoyable evening in relaxed atmosphere .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick-on-Eden
1.7 km away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,023 reviews
6.0 km away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,428 reviews
6.3 km away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Graham Arms Hotel
Graham Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Longtown
158 reviews
0.7 km away
Warwick Hall
Warwick Hall
#12 of 61 in Carlisle
251 reviews
5.8 km away
Abbey Court Guest House
Abbey Court Guest House
#5 of 61 in Carlisle
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens

Address: Warwick-on-Eden, Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle CA4 8PA, England (Formerly The Queen's Arms Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Warwick-on-Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick-on-Eden
Price Range: ₹ 6,380 - ₹ 6,898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens is a traditional coaching Inn the has been full refurbished and reopenned in July 2013. It sits just off the A69 3 miles east of Carlisle and 1.5 miles from junction 43 of the M6.We offer a full range of real ales, wines by the glass and malt whiskeys along with freshly prepared seasonal cooking which offers a modern twist on traditional bar food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and EaseMyTrip so you can book your The Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing