We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent retreat in the Tuscan Hills”
other travellers have booked this property
House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House
Pool Pool & Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
House
Pool
Pool & Garden
Pool & Garden
Farmhouse
House & Loggia
Loggia
Loggia
Access to Lower Garden
Parking Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sant'Andrea di Compito, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn E
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent retreat in the Tuscan Hills”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We are a family group of six adults who stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The Farmhouse is spacious and homely and very well equipped. It is easily reached from Pisa airport and the picturesque walled city of Lucca is nearby.
We traveled to Florence by train from Lucca station and drove our rental vehicle to Pisa and also to the beach at Viareggio.
There is a supermarket approximately 15 minutes drive away in Lucca which was ideal to stock up on supplies.
The owner had advised us when booking that the access via the driveway was narrow and that a large vehicle would not get through it. Taking this advice on board we rented a Citroen C8 people carrier (7 seats) which cleared the entrance and drive although it was a close fit even with the wing mirrors retracted. We also took out Collision Waiver Damage Cover just in case but this was (luckily) not needed.
PS - Mosquito spray was needed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful rural location
Liked least: mosquitoes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2013
Thank you for the review following your family stay at the farmhouse. We are all very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and the property met with your expectations. Great tip about the Citroen C8 people carrier as we have a number of guests that require this type of vehicle. We already have some guests booked for 2014 that have booked a C8 as a result of this information. Many thanks, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret7...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accomodation in a beatiful setting”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Ideal for a large group or family. Farmhouse was equipped with everything to make the holiday easy and comfortable.
There was a lovely outdoor dinning and BBQ area and a super pool and sun area. Gardens delightful and views and sunsets great.
Plenty of books and games supplied . Set above the village which had 2 restaurants and a bakery. Lovely walks in the area.
Near to the towns of Lucca and Pisa .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and beatiful location with super ammenities
Liked least: Access road was narrow and we arrived at night. we got used to it though.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to call me and to review Casale dell' Uliveto on tripadvisor. I was delighted to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. Warm regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfax28
vermont
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted: beautiful house, peaceful location, walk to village convenience”
Reviewed 9 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I rented this house with three other women friends in October 2012.. It was perfect for us since we each had our own bedroom and the three and a half baths enabled us all to shower at our leisure. The house is as described: large, nicely furnished, clean and well appointed. Even in late October we enjoyed sitting at the loggia and even took a dip in the pool.

The house, is indeed, set in an olive grove and the harvest was just starting during our stay. The road to the house is as bit tricky, so we were happy that we could easily walk out to the village restaurants (Tre Tigli and Il Circolino), church, grocery store and the bakery. Catia, the house manager, was helpful with our questions and requests.The owner was very easy to deal with over e-mail and answered all our questions promptly.

Overall, this met all of our expectations and we had a wonderful vacation. I said to friends at home that everything looks good on the internet, but often there is a disappointment when seen in person. Not so with Casale dell' Oliveto, it truly is a beautiful house and we enjoyed our stay very much. Hope someday I can visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: narrow driveway
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We are all delighted that you and friends had an enjoyable stay, and the farmhouse met with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again should you visit this area in the future. Many thanks. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona M
Kincardine, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Villa in a Beautiful area”
Reviewed 28 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this villa to accommodate 7 friends and couldn't have wished for a better accommodation. The location was perfect. The villa setup well thought. Rooms beautiful and imaculate. My party and myself couldn't have wished for anything better and will definitely recommend it to friends.

Catia, the local house manager, was great and sorted us out with lifts when we needed them which saved us worrying about hiring a car. She helped us organise a local wine tour which is definitely something everyone should do when going to this villa.

A perfect place to stay with a group of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How immaculate the property was
Liked least: Nothing I can think off.
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2012
Thank you for your review of our farmhouse. We are all delighted that the property met with your expectations and you had an enjoyable stay. I am pleased to hear that Catia was helpful and accommodating. Many thanks. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_ttyB
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a family get together”
Reviewed 24 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The facilities were excellent. There were four bathrooms and everything we needed in terms of cooking equipment, toys and adult games, playing cards, books, cds and dvds.

The location was rural and it was a rewarding break from city life.

The garden was stunning with beautiful flowers, extremely well kept.

Be aware that we arrived very late Saturday and struggled to find an open shop on the Sunday.

Kate

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2012
Thank you for your review. We are all pleased that farmhouse and it's facilities met with your expectations as we have tried to accommodate all age ranges. We have updated the information pack to make it clearer that most smaller shops will be closed on Sunday's. Many thanks. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing