We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical spot in the beautiful Cumbrian...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kirkandrews House

Kirkandrews House and Tower from the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kirkandrews House and Tower from the river
The Coophouse just downriver from the house The Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Kirkandrews House and Tower from the river
The Coophouse just downriver from the house
The Kitchen
The House from the rear
The Dining Room
A view upriver showing Kirkandrews on Esk Church
The House from the lawn
The TV Room
The Hall / Games Room
The Sitting room
The Sitting Room from the fireplace
Downstairs Bedroom 7
Bedroom 6 (En-suite)
Single Bedroom 5
Bedroom 4
Family Bathroom 3
Bedroom 3 (En-suite)
Bedroom 2
Family Bathroom 1
Bedroom 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Longtown, Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Susannah...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A magical spot in the beautiful Cumbrian countryside”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I feel like I've found the perfect family getaway. There is bags of room so you can relax together but have your own space too. Countryside is staggeringly beautiful, but can warm up by the aga when you get back. Huge dining room table, yet cosy enough to feel like the place is home. Log fires and most comfortable beds. Oh, and the views are astounding. Looking out at the River Esk over a morning cup of coffee is just so civilised and I imagine is a major plus for those into their fishing. Lots of board games, TV, and the owners, Richard and Juliet are super friendly and helpful. Thank you for the best stay ever! We'll be back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ke024
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous accommodation for large party”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Driving up to the house first impressions were wow! Fabulous, beautiful and characterful, great for large gatherings of friends and family. Lovely welcome from Richard the owner - fires were blazing, flowers and cake on dining room table (cake was yummy - thank you) Wonderful views from every window - a walk to the pretty church and suspension bridge is a must! Huge, super comfy beds with fluffy duvets and pillows - bliss. Everything we needed for comfortable, relaxing, 'home from home' weekend but with oodles of space for everyone to enjoy themselves. Richard (owner) was very accommodating in allowing us to make use of the large grounds - we hired some 'inflatable' games to provide some party entertainment - great fun although slightly chilly and unseasonal for February. Would not hesitate in going back to visit again - highly recommended!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the house so much. Such positive feedback makes all the hard work so worthwhile! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wil G
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
I am really sorry that the WiFi is not as good as you had hoped. Unfortunately, we are a rural area and the landline to the property has aluminium wires, resulting in very slow broadband, not much better than dial-up. We tried to overcome this by installing satellite broadband which, I agree, leaves much to be desired. Until new technology becomes available I am afraid that this is all we can do. Radio broadband is available locally and is good, but the house is invisible to the mast, even from the top of the tower next door. Mobile phone reception is also extremely variable, according to your service provider. Orange is very poor but Vodafone is quite good. Again a problem of living in an under populated rural area, there simply are not enough people around to put pressure on the service providers. My apologies again and hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing