We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”

St Mary Magdalene Church
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Lanercost
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely place, left a prayer in the book. Gorgeous stained glass windows to be seen. Be warned if you want go take pics you MUST (according to a lady) leave a £1 donation. She told me this after I snapped my 1st shot. I didn't mind but others may not have the change on them.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank unhappymum2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"next door"
in 5 reviews
"arts and crafts movement"
in 2 reviews
"burne jones"
in 3 reviews
"stained glass windows"
in 2 reviews
"hadrian's wall"
in 3 reviews
"donation"
in 8 reviews
"priory"
in 26 reviews
"influence"
in 3 reviews
"creation"
in 2 reviews
"roof"
in 3 reviews
"vicar"
in 3 reviews
"architecture"
in 3 reviews
"information"
in 4 reviews
"restoration"
in 2 reviews
"leaflet"
in 2 reviews
"ruins"
in 4 reviews
"volunteers"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2018

This is the bit of the Priory that is in working order- ie has a roof on and is a fully functional church building;far more importantly, a fully functional Christian community as any visitor realise as they walk though the door. Information abounds as does a bookstall/gift stall. If any volunteers are about, they are always helpful and friendly (from past experience), and there is no ind of pressure or intimidation. Visitors are welcome to walk around, sit, chat, pray, whatever, and for me, the same deep spirituality pervading outside is present inside.
Can't say I've ever found it cold either.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Bedinog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Next door to the priory the church I see worth a visit. Excellent displays tell the story of the priory and the Howard’s.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank KMc528789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

We were visiting Lanercost Priory and entered the church as it was the nave of the priory originally.
It was free to enter but donations are accepted.
It was very peaceful and there were several old stained glass windows.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank 938fjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

The church is part of the Lanercost Priory complex but it is clear that it is very much alive and active. Attractive architecture and lots of interesting historical insights. My grandchildren loved having the chance to light a candle and really enjoyed looking at the Easter gardens local children had made.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kpt1356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Mary Magdalene Church also viewed

Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District
 
Ayside, Grange-over-Sands
Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands
 

Been to St Mary Magdalene Church? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing