We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Certainly one of our best choices!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn Gate

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Stokesley, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandra R
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Certainly one of our best choices!”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The lodge was really comfortable and warm even though we had snow outside, it never felt chilly, and was just as described. The views were stunning. We took our dog, and we really enjoyed the walks around the farmland and beyond. We were in an ideal location, not far from the beach at Saltburn by the sea, and less than 1 hour from Whitby, which was a really nice place to visit, and some really quaint villages to look around Lots of lovely pubs nearby for great meals, and of course complete peace and quiet.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blondient...
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wooden form of heaven!”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Cannot fault this place, utter beauty all around you.
Rita is happy to help your every need, and will go out of her way to ensure your stay is relaxing and enjoyable. Everything has been thought of, even little things such as binoculars in your lodge so you can see the vast amounts of wildlife and beauty that surrounds you. The view is amazing.
The lodge is high quality, and provides everything you need, just take you and your clothes.
Location is ideal for dog walkers, hikers, children, shoppers, nightlife, everything! We will definitely be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: The bed was a little small for us tall people!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meandherN...
newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“amazing beautiful lodge...”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived for a long weekend my husband and I, to meet our Daughter and partner, we had an amazing weekend very restful and relaxing weekend.. Everything was perfect In the lodge with the most breath taking views. Lovely touches ie; soap/tea/coffee/biscuits, beds extremely comfortable and very clean,all add to such an amazing place..Rita is a great host,will defiantly return,......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen w
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“highly recomended”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

on arrival we where met and showed around the property and explained how to access all the amenities and directions to local areas of interest having had a great relaxing week with the two grandsons enjoying fishing and games on the site I would highly recommend this holiday to anyone especially for the peace and quite in a country side location

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suziespan...
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect! Great setting, beautiful accommodation, wonderful facilities”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a week staying in 'Lapwing' one of the two storey lodges at a Blackthorn Gate. We have a six year old and A six month old and the lodge was perfect.

Great facilities, comfy beds, quality linen and towels...
All very clean and welcoming too!

Beautiful views and countryside with lots of animals to see,
The family enjoyed the fishing too..

Perfect, we'll be booking again Im sure!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing