We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house and incredibly attentive staff”
other travellers have booked this property
The Barn, with Sunset cottage at left
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn, with Sunset cottage at left
Barn - the lounge Barn patio and BBQ in dappled sunlight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Barn, with Sunset cottage at left
Barn - the lounge
Barn patio and BBQ in dappled sunlight
The Barn Kitchen - rustic and modern, a dream kitchen
Barn - breakfast room
Barn - courtyard form the front. Byre cottage to left, Sunset to right
Gallery landing with 19th C antique chandelier
Early summer - a glorious garden
Barn, 'Oak' master bedroom with ensuite,
Stable cottage, taken from Byre cottage
Barn - 'Chestnut' twin bedroom
Sunset cottage.
Barn - 'Birch' twin bedroom
Rustic 2m wood-fired hot tub.
Barn - 'Elm' bedroom
7' Pool table
Byre Cottage - lounge
Barn the Blue or Garden Room
From the south side looking through the garden room to the breakfast area
Stable cottage - lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 25
Bishops Lydeard, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pete T
Amman, Jordan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect house and incredibly attentive staff”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 24 going away for an annual long weekend. The house was absolutely perfect, beautifully maintained and stunning location. We were all able to sit around the massive dining table, and at no point felt like we were living on top of each other. My favourite thing about Penbridge however was that whilst it comfortably accommodated such a large group, it still felt warm and homely. Much use was made of the log fire in the living room, and of course the hot tub!

The owners and staff were exceptional in tailoring the house to our specific requirements and sleeping arrangements; there was ample extra bedding and linen, and most importantly they were friendly and accessible at every juncture. They went above and beyond in providing local recommendations and even assisted in unloading our large supermarket order when we were held up by half term traffic (sorry again!).

The kitchen was well equipped and spacious, we cooked for ourselves every meal time, and had everything we needed - especially helpful having extra ovens and fridges in the cottages for more complicated meals! There are two dishwashers in the main kitchen, so we didn't lose hours washing up.

The surrounding countryside is amazing - would particularly recommend a visit to Kilve beach (East Quantoxhead) for the amazing Jurassic coast formations (recommended to us by the owner), and above all it is serenely quiet.

In total, a wonderful weekend, and we are ready and primed to book again for next year. A special thank you again to the staff for helping with the planning, and most importantly appearing genuinely interested in ensuring we enjoyed our stay. We hope you found the bottle of something we left behind for you!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thanks Pete for this thoughtful, informative and appreciative review. It reflects everything we want Penbridge Estate to be for those who stay. Simply special and memorable,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastytrav...
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Accommodation lends itself to private parties, more needs to be done”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Can not dismiss the varied accommodation, excellent public and private areas, lovely ambiance. The complex is private and remote ( it did appear that someone was staying behind one of the cottages in a converted garage/outbuilding). The kitchen has more than enough cutlery, dinner ware and equipment .
However, having paid "decent" monies, I and other guests thought - the lawn could have been cut , BBQ - 2 freestanding charcoal (no frills) not catering for numbers, if you break a wine glass there is a charge of £1 ( when I holiday let there was always an expectation that one had to absorb some breakage and damage costs ), the wine glasses were of the quality that in my opinion could actually be bulk purchased for less than £1 per item.
Below standard - I stayed in the separate 2 bed cottage. I discovered the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied and contained used tampon applicators and tissues. Dust and pilth collected behind both beds. The kitchen had a glass chip on the rim and another with a hair line crack all the way down. The kitchen was not well equipped.
The estate needs to step up its general standards to match the quality of the complex/accommodation.
Steam engines puff nearby, countryside views, good pubs nearby,( for some may find the walk a little far).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mix of rooms and public areas
Liked least: Cottage poorly equipped and issues, see review
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2016
Spoiler Alert - this review was written by a person who, we understand, owns a rival business in Cornwall.
Apology - This was not a good turn-around by the staff. Due to new personnel there was a mix up both in cleaning and supply of BBQ charcoal. And, due to rain and a lawn-mower breakdown, the grass was not cut to the usual bowling green standard. The chipped and cracked glasses in Stable Cottage were missed. Usually departing guests simply leave these out for us to dispose of.
Facts:
1. It is never our intention to leave rooms less than spotless and bins unemptied.
2. There are 4 BBQs (one large and 3 smaller Webers) available. We do supply charcoal and lighters for each BBQ. We now have a spare big bag of charcoal and lighters available on top of that which should be there for the guests. The staff did offer to buy charcoal etc when it was realised that this had (also) been missed.
3. We run an "honesty book" where it is "advised" that £1 per glass would be nice but we do not "charge" anything. We have some groups that accidentally break a dozen or more glasses and we absorb the cost. Whilst we would like to provide Dartington Crystal it isn't practical.
4. Stable Cottage, where the reviewer stayed indeed is not "well-equipped" as it is only a "coffee tea and toast" satellite cottage. We do not expect any guests to attempt serious catering in the cottage. Indeed the main kitchen in the Barn is superbly equipped as the person who booked this weekend relayed; they had outside caterers in and they were delighted with the main kitchen.
5. The staff did provide a 6 bottle case of wine and a personal apology for the hiccups noted. It is a shame the reviewer did not acknowledge this.
6. Value for money. These clients were actually given 4 nights for the price of 3 - also not acknowledged.
7. One of this group left with a boot full of logs - we are not sure why!
8. As for "someone staying in an out-building" this was the estate manager who had been called out to deal with the issues; she spent 2 hours in the utility shed behind Stable Cottage.
9. Again we publicly apologise to this group for the gremlins they encountered. We remain committed to keeping Penbridge as an outstanding home-from-home for all our guests.

Overall. We do like reviews and take them very seriously. We would ask that they are constructive and interactive. We would, for example like to know what it was felt was missing from Stable Cottage kitchen.
Plea: Before submitting a review, or if there are things that need to be or should have been addressed, we would ask clients to please please get in touch to discuss any issues arising so we can make it better for future guests. Many thanks! Simon, Nikki, Liz, Sam, Jon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jebcreate...
Helmdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb sixtieth birthday celebrations with friends”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

As this was one enormous surprise for my 60th birthday, I had no involvement with the booking process, but my husband assures me that it was both friendly and accommodating.
The house was booked for a week, for a total of 50 friends and various dogs, who all came and went throughout the week. The management team (Liz) collected used bed linen and ensured that we had enough fresh for new guests, it was an impressive service. The house and cottages are superb, all furnished and equipped to the highest standard. We were an eclectic group, ages ranging from 24 to 75 and the property is well suited, with space a plenty for escaping, in our case it was the youngsters seeking a haven from the raucous and mad antics of the sexagenarians!
The games and hot tub were well used and again lovely to see all ages coming together and just having fun.
The surrounding countryside and proximity to the trains was a big crowd pleaser. We did some lovely walks from the house and from the top of Lydeard Hill, walking along the ridge, where the views are breathtaking.
This has been a week that I will never forget, thanks to a very thoughtful and creative husband,three amazing daughters,very special friends and an amazing house where we were all able to be together - THANK YOU.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for this thoughtful review. We really appreciate it. Simon, Nikki, Liz, Sam and Jon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montagnac...
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wow, such a beautiful house and cottages.”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We hired Penbridge Court barn and cottages for a hen weekend. The accommodation was absolutely beautiful, even better than the photographs. We were met and shown around and everything was explained to us; we got the impression that nothing was too much trouble and we felt very welcome. The house and cottages are extremely well equipped, it had everything we could have wanted. The bedrooms and bathrooms were lovely and the lounges and kitchens had everything to make our stay easy and enjoyable. The hot tub was great fun, getting to grips with a wood fired tub added to the enjoyment. The gardens are also lovely with plenty of outside seating and bbq's. This is a beautiful house and everyone loved it, we all want to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved everything about it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Thanks again all. You will of course be very very welcome for the next hen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diegoscra...
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dads 80th birthday”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We visited Penbridge court estate in early September, to celebrate my father in laws 80th birthday, there were 19 of us and we rented the barn and the three cottages. We had a really enjoyable stay and the facilities were brilliant, there was a pool table, table football and table tennis which kept the teenage boys in our party happy, the only thing that spoiled our stay was the weather, (rained all weekend) but this did not stop us from using the large garden which had a trampoline, swings and climbing frame, if you enjoy walking it's a lovely area to explore. The kitchen was really well equipped enabling us to cook a roast dinner for our large party, also there are two large dining tables so we could all sit and eat together. We hope to return one day and I would strongly recommend a vist.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Many thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing