We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Rockheart

House Frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House Frontage
Amazing views and privacy.  This from the master bedroom balcony showing pool and bbq Our lovely poolside pergola
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
House Frontage
Amazing views and privacy.  This from the master bedroom balcony showing pool and bbq
Our lovely poolside pergola
Spacious lounge with 50' Smart TV and plenty of comfortable seating
The lounge contains books, dvds, games and leads out the huge terrace
Kitchen Dining Area also leading onto the terrace
Luxury kitchen with Gaggia Coffee Machine, juicer, blender - every convenience
Large Dining Terrace with views to the sea
Dining on the large terrace
Formal Dining Area
Terrace lounge area - great sea views and perfect for evening cocktails
View from the garden down to the sea.
Breakfast view of the pool which is illuminated for night swimming
Spacious Swimming Pool, larger than most rental villas
Master bedroom with ensuite and balcony.  King size bed. Views of mountains and sea.
Bedroom 2.  King size bed and views of the sea
Bedroom 3. King size bed, balcony and sea views
Bedroom 4 with two twin beds.  View to sea and mountains.
The view of the sea from the bedrooms
Garden Seating Area
The pool terrace has amazing views in every direction.
The pool and terrace area are illuminted for night swimming and dining
Our traditional wood burning oven - great for pizzas, roast meats, breads...
Near by Escape Beach
Kyrenia Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ilgaz, Kyrenia District

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ahmet O
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent villa”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The villa was exactly the same with explanations and photos provided in holiday lettings internet site. We were really happy and satisfied. It was magnificent to have great welcome pack; to live in a very good designed house; to be able to find everything you need from books to coffee maker, espresso boilers to number of towels etc. I and my friends highly appreciate the owners' detailed support (recommendations, guides, instructions, marks etc.).

I am sure that Villa Rockheart will be the first choice whenever we will visit Cyprus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything is excellent
Liked least: The villa is few kilometers to main road, in a quite region with a fantastic sea and mountain view.We liked it a lot as it was what we wanted. Some others might find it difficult
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnchery...
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heartily recommended”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Villa Rockheart in Ilgaz. Booking the villa was straightforward and all went to plan when we arrived. The villa was in immaculate condition (as advertised) and the welcome pack was very generous, including bread, cheese, eggs, meats, milk, wine, beer and cereal to mention just a few. The villa is spacious and very tastefully decorated. The property manager Marion arrived the next morning to introduce herself and was very helpful. There is an excellent choice of DVDs to watch and books to read, plus CDs too. There were just the two of us staying but the villa could easily sleep 6 to 8 people. All the mod cons are there too - dishwasher, washing machine, coffee maker etc. The pool looks lovely but in February it was a little too cold to go in. The weather was lovely, however, so we were able to eat lunch out by the pool.

Having a car is essential because of the distance from the shops - even the shops at the bottom of the hill would be a very long walk away. Gunray provided a good service with car hire and transfer from Ercan airport (transfer to Larnaca also available). The transfer from Ercan took around 45 minutes. I would recommend a transfer as finding the villa for the first time may not be easy if you are unfamiliar with the area. We flew with Pegasus Airlines out of Stansted which was both inexpensive and a good service, so we'd recommend doing that, although flying out to Larnaca and getting a transfer would probably work just as well.

The benefit of being up in the mountains is the beautiful views down to the coast. In terms of what there is to do in the area, there are many options, and there are leaflets available in the villa advertising different activities. We did go out each day, but it was also nice spending time in the villa - even if the pool was a little too cold to use in February!

All in all we had an excellent holiday and very much wish to return to Villa Rockheart!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The ensuite that looks like it's a cupboard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceYork
York
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it more than we'd ever have expected - lovely holiday!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, I should declare that we are really "hotel people" rather than "villa people" but a friend had stayed at Villa Rockheart earlier this year & had raved about how good it was to us - so we gave it a try for a week in early October. We were very pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed it & may even be booking a villa a little more often now!
I don't think this villa would suit the less able guest as it stands on a hillside so those with mobility issues may prefer somewhere flatter. On the other hand, the fact that it is a little elevated means that we always had a really pleasant cooling breeze to take the edge off weather that was still hot despite the time of year. Equally, the views from the side of the pool area are stunning & a real plus point for us personally.
I noted a less than positive review by someone who must have stayed there after we left (possibly the very next guests?) with them complaining about the pool & filtration not working.... all I can say is that we had no problems at all during our stay. And no, we didn't encourage the stray dog which we did see but shooed it away the couple of times it turned up. We didn't get flea bites & are unaware of any contamination from them whilst we were there. Did these guests take it into the villa? How else can the fleas have got inside the villa? Anyway, I note from the owners response that all issues were resolved immediately.
We ate most lunchtimes outside near the pool dining on freshly baked bread (from the village up the hill - good exercise!!) & various snacks & nibbles from the shops at the bottom of the road (by car). Everything was lovely & a couple of Efes certainly helped!
Of an evening, we ate out every night trying different restaurants each night. There's so many to choose from and they were all of a remarkably high standard given the prices that were probably 40% below UK prices. My favourite was the French restaurant on the main road which served a superb steak - but I would recommend that guests just pick any they like the look of as nobody we met had anything bad to say about anywhere.
Regards accommodation, the villa was of a good standard and was spotlessly clean. The lady who met us (Marion, I think) made us feel a wanted guest & checked back to make sure everything was OK & that we'd no problems: we hadn't - we were more than happy.
We enjoyed a happy relaxed week of stress-free sunshine. All in all, we were impressed by the villa & by Northern Cyprus... We'll definitely return - maybe in April. Recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cooling breeze & great sized pool
Liked least: Having to go back home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel A
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Villa Rockheart and hopefully not our last, We found the accommodation both spacious and comfortable. We are keen walkers and there are many wonderful walks directly from the villa. A car is essential but the property is well served by shops just a short drive down the hill. There are numerous good restaurants in the surrounding area and Kyrenia only a short drive away. Sea bathing at Escape beach and Silver Rocks is very accessible and a better temperature than the villa pool in November. The daily walk up the hill to the village of Ilgaz to collect fresh bread baked daily in large clay ovens was a delight.

All in all a very successful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious - different areas to sit..
Liked least: We would consider that if the property was full to capacity we would require a third bathroom. As it was it served our needs.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah g
Camborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well needed break”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Having a holiday here after a stressful year. What a wonderful place to unwind and distress! The villa's setting is beautiful with a backdrop of mountains and views of the not too distant sea. It is so quiet and peaceful.
Weather has been amazing - hot and sunny so lots of opportunity to use the pool which is cool and inviting.
The villa itself is spacious and comfortable with every facility you could need. The beds are so comfortable and the rooms are clean and modern.
The local area provides lots to do and see with numerous shops and restaurants giving good value for money.
We travelled a long way to get here but it was worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool and outdoor space
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you found the villa to be the restful spot you needed for your holiday. One of the things we love most about it is the serene and peaceful location which is nonetheless only 5 minutes away from many restaurants, bars and the beach. Hoping you come back and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing