We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
76
56
18
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
56
18
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two bedroom unit heated pool and hot tub full kitchen mount baker canadian border daily housekeeping two twin beds sized kitchen top floor quiet hours facing the ocean club room walking trails every evening short drive clam chowder workout room
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I spent 10 days at this timeshare resort and used it as a base while traveling. We had a one bedroom and it really has all one needs. Large rooms fully equipped kitchen good size bedroom and bathroom. The place just needs some updating. The carpets are stained in the halls and ripped.
The pluses are that they have bathrobes in your room plenty of towels and the staff are all very helpful!!!!! The workout room was adequate and no one was ever in there. The bay is right across the street which is beautiful .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Quest810582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonP3076, Owner at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review and mention the great view and the nice and conscientious staff. We certainly strive to meet and exceed our guests' expectations every time. Your comments regarding the carpets are appreciated and have been shared with resort management. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sandcastle at Birch Bay and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

I stayed in one of the Worldmark rooms. It was very clean, all amenities included and beds were very comfortable. We were lucky enough to have the top floor facing the ocean. What a gorgeous view. Unfortunately we were only able to see one awesome sunset this time due to smoke from all the forest fires. We were right across the street from the ocean and there is also a pool at the resort, along with an exercise room and free coffee and tea in the lobby(as well as the rooms). I will definitely go back.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Carol543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Owner at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Thanks for the great review. We are glad you had such a good time at our resort. We look forward to having you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

The Sandcastle is rated as a Gold Crown establishment but I would rate it as Silver. The place is older but fairly well appointed rooms and friendly helpful staff help make up for that. There is a heated pool and hot tub along with a small exercise room, but nothing else that you expect to see at a resort. The location is right across the street from Birch Bay and easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. The beach is not great for laying out or swimming but is great for harvesting clams. Get a license for that endeavor and grab a bucket and shovel from the front desk as it's included in your fee. Daily housekeeping is also provided and we appreciated getting refills of soap, coffee filters, etc. The proximity to the Canadian border was a plus for us as we toured Vancouver and caught the ferry to Victoria. We enjoyed temperatures from the mid 50s to mid 70s and were pleased with our stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Shocker816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Owner at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thanks for the great review. We are pleased that you had a wonderful vacation with us and are happy you enjoyed our convenient location. We look forward to having you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Although the resort has some updating to do and vacant retail space to fill, the rooms are nicely appointed, large and comfortable. The pool and hot tub are very nice. We would return. Easy trip to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank 5greatkids2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Owner at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are glad our resort surpassed all of your expectations and the next time you are in the area we hope you choose to return to The Sandcastle at Birch Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

This was a beautiful resort and in such a fabulous location at Birch Bay. Our family was in the area for a few appointments at Nexus so we thought we would make it an overnight trip since we had never been to this area. When I arrived at check-in, the lobby area was clean and tastefully decorated. The front desk person was busy on her cell phone and didn’t immediately look at or greet me. Despite this, she eventually treated me with great attentiveness and even allowed us an early check-in. After checking in, I was told to see the young gentleman in the lobby across from the check-in desk, where I was to receive more information about the immediate restaurants and other local amenities, as well as a “welcome gift” (free Shutterfly photo book). I knew we would be invited to attend the timeshare seminar but it wasn’t over the top aggressive—thankfully. We enjoyed use of the pool and hot tub, met many nice people, spent a large portion of our time at the beach, and had a few good meals at The Boardwalk Cafe and Bay Breeze where they even extended a 10% discount to us as guests at the Sandcastle. I loved the welcome feeling this quaint little beach community extends.

As for the room, it was Room 313 (avoid it if you prefer a view and some crosswinds on a hot day as there is no A/C). We were also right next to the vending machines and elevator. It was surprisingly roomy yet dark, however quite stuffy since it was an almost 90 degree weekend. It had a full kitchen, washer and dryer, ceiling fans, and flat screen tv’s. We are not picky people and would have had a wonderful stay if it weren’t for the beehive just outside our balcony door. It being such a hot weekend, we just couldn’t enjoy our balcony (we didn’t mind it was overlooking the back parking lot) and the cooler temperature being outside would have offered us. It definitely was more comfortable out there than in our hot hotel room which had little air circulation. With little ones in tow, this was certainly almost a deal-breaker for us. We had all been outside on the balcony enjoying some local ice cream we bought next door when my husband noticed the bees coming and going just above our heads. We immediately rushed back inside. The hotel was fully booked for that weekend, and I did not want to have hotel personnel spraying toxic chemicals or pesticides while my young children were around. We would have bailed out on the trip altogether and opted for the comfort of our own air-conditioned home had I not already prepaid for this stay. It was hotter than Hades in there, to say the least! Funny thing is, the lobby and hallways were air-conditioned and much more comfortable. At one point, we had our front door propped open to let some of the cool hallway air in and let our hot hotel room air out, however it was a high-traffic area being next to the vending machines and elevator and we just didn’t feel comfortable about leaving our front door open for long with our young children.

It says a lot that we were almost relieved to be able to checkout first thing the next morning! We would have loved to have taken our time in the morning getting ready to check out but it was just too dang hot. What a bummer that this beautiful hotel couldn’t provide its guests such a basic amenity—comfort!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank rhodao792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon P, Owner at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Sandcastle at Birch Bay after your recent visit. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the pool, beach, and restaurants. We do apologize for the incident you had during your stay, we always want our guests to have an experience that exceeds expectations. Your review has been shared with resort management to ensure that the bee situation is rectified. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sandcastle Birch Bay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews