We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lovely Lovely”
Review of The Oyster Inn

The Oyster Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Butley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Oyster Inn re-opened in March 2017 as a traditional village pub, serving real ale and home-style pub food. Located next to Rendlesham Forest, it has always been popular with cyclists and ramblers and was famous for its folk nights. Traditional folk has returned on the first Tuesday of every month.
Reviewed 28 May 2021

What a brilliant pub, staff welcoming and decor very John Lewis ,comfortable and pleasing on the eye, good choice of food and drinks. Jane and her team have worked wonders with the inside and outside areas. Looking forward to the BBQ s again now the weather has become kinder.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lovely2people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2021

I have been itching to get to the Oyster Inn since it reopened under new management, but the pandemic put plans on hold until a perfectly kept pint on the day they reopened this year. Once we were able to go inside, I went with friends for dinner... it was well worth the wait! We are all vegetarians, and had the veggie burger and veggie fish and chips (banana flower and nori). Both were excellent quality, clearly freshly made, and great value (though not both listed on the menu - so do ask about veggie options). The ale was well kept and served. The service was fantastic (thanks Niamh!) Our dogs were welcome. It is difficult to find anything to criticise... perhaps only that this pub is an hour's walk from my house! Long may the new management prosper here...

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank S2801EMjohnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021

The pub is definitely the heart of the community. It has been transformed twice during this pandemic - both great but the latest transformation is perfect.
The outside seating is covered with giant parasols and surrounded by heaters for your comfort, and if thats not enough...you have big puffy cushions and snuggly blankets too.
The food is great - you may need to wait during busy times, but that's because everything is cooked to order. I promise you......its worth the wait. Most available as takeaway option too.
The staff are friendly and treat you as if you are one if their friends.
Jane and her team have done amazingly well to come through this pandemic and revive this pub to be better than it was originally and provide a thriving local hub again.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heidi-ann75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2021

After not being in a pub since 2019, me and my girlfriends had the best time catching up with each other at this brilliant village pub ( and my local which makes me very happy ) the staff, food and atmosphere all 10/10...And I am looking forward to many more visits...thank you Jane and staff :-)

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AngeJaneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2021

Just had our second curry night, the value is incredible. But the food is also excellent, a bit of a wait but they were cooking fresh. Very attentive staff but not so much that they interfere with your privacy.
The atmosphere here has totally changed, we tried the pub before and just didn’t like it something didn’t click but not any more, the place now has that something. The garden is lovely too. We are very critical locals so our feedback means a lot thank you very much!!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarahpE5980FG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oyster Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Oyster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.