We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay for 3 weeks i found it here.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Cayo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Los Suenos del Mar Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Cayo
Reviewed 18 September 2016

For $5.00 a night per person this hotel is unbeatable. I was given a room on the first
floor .This room could easily sleep 6 people, I had it to myself.
It had a comfortable double bed in it and a toilet and sink with running water.It also had a balcony overlooking the beach and ocean.I saw whales in June 2016 which is normal for this time of year.This place is a surfers paradise
,the waves are perfect all year round.There are no staff cleaning the rooms at the time of writing,which really suited me,I kept it clean myself and left it clean when I left.This hotel has 50 rooms available.
The owner had got rid of the nightmares that were running the place in 2015 and was now running it himself as a budget bargain B+B without the breakfast.I made my own breakfast, dinner could be had in Boobys bar and grill Thursday to Sunday which was brilliant for me,the food here was the best i had in 10 weeks travelling in
Ecuador and Columbia,paying between $5.00 and $8.00 per meal.Yes the hotel had seen better days in the past but the state of the paintwork and furnishings never bothered me i only really slept in the room not lived in it.I had a roof over my head and a view to die for,the sunsets were unsurpassed and so were the waves.All for $5.00 a night,quality.

Room Tip: Two families did come and stay whilst i was there,they were locals i think maybe a dozen of them,wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank bangonit9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2015

This place might have been nice at some point but it is not anymore. They are going to tear it down and put condos so they don't care anymore. The beach is great since there is no people but that's it this whole area has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitrob2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just absolutely beautiful views from the rooms we stayed in of the entire beach and moutains! The restaurant is literally right on the beach. Music is playing throughout the resort! They even served us on the beach under these individual tiki umbrella/roofs. The service was great! They were even able to pick us ALL (there was 6 of us) up from the airport, and then later that month took us all to montinita! In short this is a beautiful resort with a lot to find. Having a good but cheap restraunt and bar really gives you all you need right there. The staff/locals are very helpful for finding all the sites/where to go/ what to do. I would recommend this as a starting point for anyone interested in going to ecuador!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xMothershipx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

There aren't a lot of hotels in the Puerto Cayo area so your options are limited. But when I stayed here I believe the management had just changed hands. The restaurant was closed for remodeling and the pool was drained. I think there was only one or two other people staying there. The room had an awesome ocean view, but the salt spray takes a toll on everything and the place hadn't been maintained. The A/C didn't work and the bathroom was dirty with several spiders. Lots of rusty metal desperately in need of replacement. It was relatively inexpensive and maybe they've upgraded it since my trip, but I can't recommend this place based on my experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I had made a reservation here and when I arrived was told by the manager had no available rooms, except ones with just cold water, no fans, no mosquito nets. She said it was 45.00 a night. I gasped and said that was too much, especially for no hot water or air conditioning. She replied, "well, it's Carnival". As if that was an excuse to rip me off. I was put off more by her dishonesty and rudeness than the price. I left and went to Puerto Lopez and got a room for 15.00 a night. It had

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
5  Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Cayo
0 km away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
68 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Berlin International Puerto Lopez
0 km away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#3 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Mantahost Hotel
Mantahost Hotel
#2 of 12 in Manta
469 reviews
0 km away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
570 reviews
0 km away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#2 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Suenos del Mar Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos del Mar Resort

Address: Ruta del Sol, Puerto Cayo 130658, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Cayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Cayo
Price Range: ₹ 2,526 - ₹ 4,404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint hotel directly on the beach with privacy. Receive personal attention and enjoy a beach vacation in South America. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing