We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and spa- Poor waiting staff in the evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely hotel and spa- Poor waiting staff in the evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

lovely hotel in a great location and setting just outside Bath. Room was beautiful and well kept and the spa was relaxing- however would recommend only spending a day there as facilities are limited.
Breakfast and morning staff were great, however the evening staff- in particular the waiting staff were rude, slow, forgotfull and seemed like they didnt want to be there at all. I had to even ask to be served after waiting 20 minutes as they seemed to forgot . When they did take the order they bought the drinks out with the food and didnt bother to ask if we wanted dessert.I would have expected more from a 5 *
This is my only critisim of this hotel. Other than that it was brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    211
    89
    51
    31
See reviews for
116
365
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for three nights in early April to celebrate my birthday and we were not disappointed!
This was our third stay in the last eight months, our first since the hotel was taken over by Longleat, and the experience has been excellent every time. A slight worry that a new owner might have changed the service and ambience was unfounded.

I must strongly dispute the comments from an earlier review about the staff. Yes they are young, but they are well trained, courteous, good humoured and enthusiastic. The young men in the restautant not only remembered us from our previous visits,but appeared genuinely pleased to see us again and even remembered some of our likes and dislikes. The manager was courteous and professional.

The food is exceptional and I can recommend the Inspiration menu unreservedly. The chef spoke with my husband about my likes and dislikes and created a menu that was absolutely perfect. We chose the accompanying wines options and they were carefully chosen by one of the young men mentioned earlier. Knowing that we enjoy discussing the wines we drink, he took the time to talk to us about the wine and explain his choices.

The Spa is great, and staff even took the trouble to come to the spa to ask if any guests would like to order a drink, which were then served in 'safe' glasses. This all added to the feeling of wellbeing.

In summary, yet another excellent break and we will be visiting this hotel again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_A_Statter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We planed a three night escape to Homewood Park at the last minute. It was a perfect spot only 10 mins outside Bath. The hotel has a very nice old world family feel to it. The spa is perfect, and is pitched well against the standard of the hotel. The food is also absolutely fantastic. However where the hotel is let down is in its management. A very simple illustration was on our first night at the hotel the fire alarm went off twice in the night. Health and safety is clearly important. However for the night staff to allow the alarm to be triggered twice is sloppy. There was no offer of any form of compensation and only when I challenged the manager was I offered a nominal discount. In addition to this any prospective visitors should be aware the staff below the manager are extremely young and clearly have limited training in hospitality. Whilst they all seemed very charming people they do not have the experience for a hotel pitching itself at this level. This seems to be a common theme with other comments in this sites.

In summary a great hotel for a weekend away but do not expect much from the staff. A change in management is due!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood-manager, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your kind compliments with regards to the hotel, spa and fine dining. May I also take the opportunity once more to apologise for the disturbance with the fire alarm during your stay.

The training of the team is always an ongoing process and you can be reassured that we always endeavour to offer the finest of hospitality and service.

I would be grateful if you contact me directly if you feel you wish to discuss further.

With best wishes,

Martin Page
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here on the night of our Wedding at Wick Farm which is a five minute drive away.
We were warmly greeted when we arrived and they bought us two glasses of champagne to the room. This was a lovely way to finish our amazing day.
Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We had a lovely view over the gardens. My mum had paid £225 for the room as a gift to us for our wedding and there were a couple if things that let the hotel down a little. The room was a little dusty in places. Also, breakfast could have been slicker. We had to ask for things that had run out and for our food order to be taken. It didn't matter hugely as the staff were friendly, food was good and we were in no rush.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cayennenl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My Fiancée and I booked 6 rooms with Homewood Park in October last year, however due to an error in moving to a new booking system with new owners (Longleat), they lost our reservations and we were not able to put the bridal party and parents up for our wedding, which we only discovered a week before the wedding, with no way to rectify this with Homewood as the rooms had been given away.

However, putting this aside the subsequent customer service we received was excellent. Sam and Zoe on reception had spent most of the afternoon trying to find us rooms at the sister hotels. By this time I was looking to save some money, so elected to book a local Premier Inn instead.

I received a personal apology that evening from Martin, the hotel's General Manager, who was able to give us the required Garden Room for our wedding night at the hotel's compliments.

We arrived to a warm welcome at 01:00 in the morning, where we were shown to our room in the Garden, finding a complimentary bottle of champagne in the room, The Garden Room was spacious, well laid out and finished to a fantastic level.

However the underfloor heating and lack of air conditioning meant the room was very warm and we had an uncomfortable sleep. However, there are doors to the garden which could have been opened which we did not notice due to a long day and just wanting to crash.

In the morning the breakfast was good quality and the service was friendly and attentive without being in your face.

I wish we had the longer planned stay but found the one night met what we needed, and are thankful that the Homewood team tried their best once the screw-up was discovered. I accept this was a one off thing and would recommend for any quiet getaways.

Room Tip: Let the reservation team know what you are after and they will give you pragmatic advice on where to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinton Charterhouse
5.8 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
2.9 km away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
7.9 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
7.5 km away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
6.7 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,306 - ₹ 25,887
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood park Hotel & Spa A luxury hotel country house hotel in Bath with a warm and welcoming fusion of the contemporary and the classic. Set in 10 acres of mature parklands and award-winning gardens with gorgeous views over of the beautiful Limpley Stoke valley, Homewood Park is delightfully rural and peaceful, making it a great hotel in Bath. Step inside and you will find the house still retains many of its original features, including exposed wooden floors, antique paintings and roaring log fires, all artfully combined with stylish modern furnishings, fabrics and finishes. During your stay, you can also enjoy our luxury hotel spa which includes a hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and heated outside swimming pool. Our award winning restaurant provides fine dining at the highest quality, another great reason to stay at Homewood Park. The result of this, is a great Bath hotel with a refreshing fusion of the conventional and contemporary cool and chic We are certainly very happy to accommodate and cater for children of all ages. We are also a pet-friendly hotel and for a small fee we are delighted to welcome your dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing