We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$ 85
US$ 72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 186
US$ 169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$ 127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Widbrook Grange(Bradford-on-Avon)
US$ 227
US$ 205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 153
US$ 143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$ 264
US$ 142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 407
US$ 387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 215
US$ 199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
328
241
125
61
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
241
125
61
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor pooljunior suitegarden suitesauna and steam roomon arrivalafternoon teaelemis toiletriesfree standing bathroll top bathhuge bedlovely hotelblack puddingcream teabirthday treatmy mumrelaxing stayspecial occasion
Filter
Updating list...
701 - 706 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for three nights in early April to celebrate my birthday and we were not disappointed!
This was our third stay in the last eight months, our first since the hotel was taken over by Longleat, and the experience has been excellent every time. A slight worry that a new owner might have changed the service and ambience was unfounded.

I must strongly dispute the comments from an earlier review about the staff. Yes they are young, but they are well trained, courteous, good humoured and enthusiastic. The young men in the restautant not only remembered us from our previous visits,but appeared genuinely pleased to see us again and even remembered some of our likes and dislikes. The manager was courteous and professional.

The food is exceptional and I can recommend the Inspiration menu unreservedly. The chef spoke with my husband about my likes and dislikes and created a menu that was absolutely perfect. We chose the accompanying wines options and they were carefully chosen by one of the young men mentioned earlier. Knowing that we enjoy discussing the wines we drink, he took the time to talk to us about the wine and explain his choices.

The Spa is great, and staff even took the trouble to come to the spa to ask if any guests would like to order a drink, which were then served in 'safe' glasses. This all added to the feeling of wellbeing.

In summary, yet another excellent break and we will be visiting this hotel again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_A_Statter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We planed a three night escape to Homewood Park at the last minute. It was a perfect spot only 10 mins outside Bath. The hotel has a very nice old world family feel to it. The spa is perfect, and is pitched well against the standard of the hotel. The food is also absolutely fantastic. However where the hotel is let down is in its management. A very simple illustration was on our first night at the hotel the fire alarm went off twice in the night. Health and safety is clearly important. However for the night staff to allow the alarm to be triggered twice is sloppy. There was no offer of any form of compensation and only when I challenged the manager was I offered a nominal discount. In addition to this any prospective visitors should be aware the staff below the manager are extremely young and clearly have limited training in hospitality. Whilst they all seemed very charming people they do not have the experience for a hotel pitching itself at this level. This seems to be a common theme with other comments in this sites.

In summary a great hotel for a weekend away but do not expect much from the staff. A change in management is due!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homewood-manager, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for your kind compliments with regards to the hotel, spa and fine dining. May I also take the opportunity once more to apologise for the disturbance with the fire alarm during your stay.

The training of the team is always an ongoing process and you can be reassured that we always endeavour to offer the finest of hospitality and service.

I would be grateful if you contact me directly if you feel you wish to discuss further.

With best wishes,

Martin Page
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here on the night of our Wedding at Wick Farm which is a five minute drive away.
We were warmly greeted when we arrived and they bought us two glasses of champagne to the room. This was a lovely way to finish our amazing day.
Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We had a lovely view over the gardens. My mum had paid £225 for the room as a gift to us for our wedding and there were a couple if things that let the hotel down a little. The room was a little dusty in places. Also, breakfast could have been slicker. We had to ask for things that had run out and for our food order to be taken. It didn't matter hugely as the staff were friendly, food was good and we were in no rush.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cayennenl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My Fiancée and I booked 6 rooms with Homewood Park in October last year, however due to an error in moving to a new booking system with new owners (Longleat), they lost our reservations and we were not able to put the bridal party and parents up for our wedding, which we only discovered a week before the wedding, with no way to rectify this with Homewood as the rooms had been given away.

However, putting this aside the subsequent customer service we received was excellent. Sam and Zoe on reception had spent most of the afternoon trying to find us rooms at the sister hotels. By this time I was looking to save some money, so elected to book a local Premier Inn instead.

I received a personal apology that evening from Martin, the hotel's General Manager, who was able to give us the required Garden Room for our wedding night at the hotel's compliments.

We arrived to a warm welcome at 01:00 in the morning, where we were shown to our room in the Garden, finding a complimentary bottle of champagne in the room, The Garden Room was spacious, well laid out and finished to a fantastic level.

However the underfloor heating and lack of air conditioning meant the room was very warm and we had an uncomfortable sleep. However, there are doors to the garden which could have been opened which we did not notice due to a long day and just wanting to crash.

In the morning the breakfast was good quality and the service was friendly and attentive without being in your face.

I wish we had the longer planned stay but found the one night met what we needed, and are thankful that the Homewood team tried their best once the screw-up was discovered. I accept this was a one off thing and would recommend for any quiet getaways.

Room Tip: Let the reservation team know what you are after and they will give you pragmatic advice on where to choose.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a 2-night weekend stay in a junior suite. The room was large, with access to a semi-private patio and direct access to the outdoor pool and spa. It was well furnished, although the two bedside lamps did not match eachother! The bed was quite hard and may not be everyone's idea of comfortable. Also, we would have exected a tea/coffee tray in the room which was conspicuous by its absence from a location that evidently was where it should have been!

The bathroom was huge but under-heated, with a centrally placed roll-top bath and a separate large walk-in shower. The place generally was top-class, clean and everywhere well presented, from the small lounges to the restaurant.

The food was very good and we chose to eat in the restaurant on both nights of our stay. Breakfast was good with an average selection of cereals and cold meats/cheeses supplemented with a menu of cooked items comprising traditional English breakfast items including kippers and smoked haddock.

The service generally was exemplary although we did not receive our ordered newspaper on the first morning and neither did we get our wake-up call (about 15 minutes late); minor things but annoyances that should not occur.

Look out for deals - we got ours through Laterooms; not sure if this hotel would present good value at its full rack rate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews