We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, quiet get-away”
other travellers have booked this property
Top lawn area with the bungalow behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Top lawn area with the bungalow behind
In front of the French windows there is a patio area with delightful views over the valley. The lounge area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Top lawn area with the bungalow behind
In front of the French windows there is a patio area with delightful views over the valley.
The lounge area.
Off the lounge there is a dining area with lovely views through the French windows over the valley.
View from the Dining area.
Barmouth bridge with Arthog the other side of the Estuary
The beautiful Cregannen lakes are just 2 kms away, the area is ideal for walkers.
The island in Cregennen lake
View from the Point at Fairbourne over to Barmouth bridge
View from the Point at Fairbourne over to Barmouth
The lovely sandy beach at Fairbourne.
There can be spectacular views around Arthog in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Arthog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
JacobMQue...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet get-away”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a family home which is well loved and would hit most people's expectations as a 4* cottage for a family of 2 adults and 2 older or younger children to stay in, plus a fold-out sofa bed in the lounge. While one of the bedrooms was a little musty when we arrived, cracking the window cleared it within a couple of hours - one of the realities of holidaying in a cottage at the base of Cader Idris is that sometimes there'll be a lot of water in the air, and it's hard to blame the owners for this.

Other reviews point to one kitchen item being broken (it wasn't when we were there) and seem to be over two weeks - considering the owners live in Nottinghamshire. We had no problems with the patio door, and the oven was clean - as were the windows. I suspect a poor previous visitor had left the place in a terrible condition on changeover and while this is unfortunate we had a lovely time - beds were comfortable, there were out of season berries lurking in the hedgerows and a footpath could be found leading up to Cregennan Lakes, plus the view out of the lounge and front bedroom windows was simply wonderful.

I've never 'defended' a holiday let before, but we felt that because this was a 'family standard' family bolt hole, lovingly shared with others at a rather reasonable price, it seems obvious guests have been treating it far worse than they'd treat a hotel and their own home. Electricals were modern and functional, even if you're not expecting the latest Smeg equipment everywhere, and the Wifi was about perfect. At the end of a long day hike it was the perfect place for us to cook a small meal (or head down to the George III) and then retire to the eminently comfortable beds after a long soak in the well-sized bath (with heaps of hot water) and a 3 bar heater to warm the skin.

While I encourage others to check with the owners that the issues listed on other reviews have been rectified, I'm aware that there was a family emergency that prevented the owners from taking their usual meticulous care of the properly for a short period, and after a few years of visiting once or twice a year, every year, we've given up our other haunts in the area in favour of this charming and indeed, Tolkienesque bungalow. Close attractions include the Fairbourne, Tallylyn and Ffestiniog Railways, Coed-y-Brenin for mountain biking, the Barmouth Slabs for Rock Climbing, Bala for Kayaking (River Tryweryn or Llyn Tegid) and climbing in the Rhinogs, Cader and Snowdon.

Then there's the Blue Lake - one of the best wild swimming locations ever and wonderful for skimming stones and skinny dipping alike, depending on your family composition and the time of day.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifull Scenary, peacefull location, perfect retreat”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I have visited Mallorn many times and this year was pleasantly surprised by the addition of the new Bi-fold doors and windows which make a huge difference to the heating in the property. The Bi-fold doors help bring the amazing scenery and the bungalow together which makes it even more special.

The bungalow is well equipped and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The gardens have all been cut back and my 3 year old loves playing out on the lawn...yes there are steps but she has learnt to be careful and there are outside lights to guide you down if you return in the dark.

Yet again we were truly blessed with the weather and were able to enjoy a few days on the beach at Barmouth...we like to walk down the trail and over the bridge into Barmouth as the scenery is fantastic.

We will definitely be returning again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leanneguy...
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Return visit to mallorn”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we had a lovely surprise to the new doors and windows which made the bungalow so much warmer and brighter. The bi-fold doors onto the patio give it a beautiful touch and will be perfect fully folded on a warm summers evening. The gardens have been really cut back which in turn has opened up some beautiful views i haven't seen before. This place is a lovely place to stay and feels even homely for me and my little girl. The only thing I'd say you need to watch with small children is the concrete steps which something that can't be helped there is lighting which does help but they can be slippery when damp.

We have been truly blessed with the weather once again which has made the walk down the track, over the trainbridge and into barmouth even more enjoyable for a day on the beach and shopping.

I have really enjoyed my visit back to mallorn and will not hesitate to book again it has a real family home feel to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayevw201...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolute delight”
Reviewed 25 January 2017 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We came to Mallorn as a party of a couple with 2 18 month olds and a 50 year old. The accommodation was perfect for what we needed. We had some difficulty actually locating the property as the sign had become overgrown and the people living next door to the property didn't know where it was either. Parking is a bit tight but at a push could get 2 cars outside the gate. When we got inside we were impressed.The double bed was so comfy and being heavily pregnant at the time says a lot. Only had an issue that the pillows were feathers which i am allergic to. Luckily there were some that weren't filled with down. We couldn't figure out how to do the heating so the room became very hot in the morning but when we had turned the heating down the room can become very damp due to no direct sunlight coming in as the house as it is surrounded at the back by a slope of trees and bushes. Our friend enjoyed his stay in his twin room and there was plenty room for him. The living room was perfect for 2 boys just learning to walk there was enough room for them to play and wasn't having to worry about them grabbing things. The collection of dragons was a lovely touch and we left leaving a new addition to them. The collection of books were helpful as we got to see some amazing birds from the incredible view of the living room. the only thing i would suggest is that the property is not completely suitable outside to young children due to steps to get in to the property and also the sliding door to the patio didn't open up easily as required a lot of pushing to open and wouldn't open all the way. We had an enjoyable holiday there with hardly any light pollution and absolute quiet. We all fell in love with the place so much that we are going back again this year. A car is a must as fairbourne is in walking distance but some of those bends i wouldn't feel comfortable walking down.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annchrist...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SHABBY not SHABBY CHIC”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

just returned from wonderful holiday in Snowdonia, pity about the poor holiday rental.Mallorn is obviously a well loved family bolt hole, but not to the standard of cleanliness and general repair expected by holiday visitors.Outside and in the house requires a lot of upgrading and cleaning to make it an acceptable holiday home., for paying visitors. The kitchen equipment is good quality,the electric oven was filthy as was the floor and windows,it all needed a good clean.The lounge is spacious, but again the walls floor and windows were very dirty,and the handle was missing from the patio door, the temperature was 28 degrees most days ,and we were unable to open the door. The beds were comfortable, and again the bedroom windows were very dirty, and the rooms smell of damp..The bathroom wall paper was coming off the wall, and the side of the bath fell off, it was wedged on with a facecloth,but the shower was brilliant, and plenty of hot water always.We were very unhappy after driving 7 hours from Scotland to spend 2 weeks in a very run down dirty property that was not suitable for a holiday let.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful area of Snowdonia.
Liked least: Mallorn bungalow.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing