We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
24
1
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
1
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach mealstayed for two nightsget away from it allbeautiful infinity poolliving roomthe hustle and bustlelipton's seattea plantationwhole experiencethe main roadsri lankagavinplantedmarkpostpeacockschef
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with family for two days and wished we had longer. Beautiful house in a beautiful setting. Spent most of the time on the veranda, lounging by the pool or hiking in surrounding hills (Lipton's Seat is close by but we didn't quite make it there). Food was the best we had in Sri Lanka. It is a 40 min 4wd from the main road so don't plan too much. Come here to get away from it all.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank UncleTravellingRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Planters house is simply spectacular!! We arrived at night and I must admit the drive was a little bumpy up the road to the estate but we were greeted by Gavin who made us feel right at home immediately. He had arranged for dinner for us and was so kind and attentive. The house is beautifully decorated, however when we awoke the next morning we then saw the spectacular views and setting of the house too. The gardens are incredible, with gorgeous songbirds flying and singing all day, the pool has probably one of the most dramatic views ever, the mountains surround it and i could sit there for hours. The property is peaceful, immaculate, dramatic, and fantastic! Gavin and his staff take incredible care of the property, everything is polished and immaculate and Gavin takes great pride in everything he does. At mealtime we could see how carefully he checked on us and made sure we were enjoying everything and offered more wine, food and was incredibly kind to us. From the moment I found Planters and e mailed with Mark, who was so helpful in all aspects of our trip, he provided great tips and advice, prior to our arrival. Everything about our time at planters was perfect, I highly recommend staying here, we hope to return one day very soon. Thank you Gavin and Mark for a fabulous time!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Our stay at the hotel was very ambivalent. But let’s start with the positive aspects of our stay.

After the 7 km (40 minutes) drive in a 4x4 to get to the hotel you would not expect such a beautiful paradise. The location, the house, the garden were just amazing. The interior is beautifully arranged. Everything was very clean.

The down side of our stay was that we had different expectations how guests should be treated. For example guests should feel pampered and appreciated. But this was not the case. It started with a nice welcome which was followed by:
• “Ohh… you are traveling with backpacks”
• “Ohh… you have two children we were expecting only one” (the booking clearly showed 2 adults / 2 kids)
• “Ohh.. we always have issues with Booking.com” (
• “Ohh… you have no transport for tomorrow? I have no contacts, I cannot help you” ( in all other hotels in Sri Lanka this was absolutely no problem at all)
• Luckily we had got a number from someone and asked if the manager could contact the guy for us. “Ohh… now I have no time to take care of your business but maybe later.” The call was not made till the next day and 3 times asking if he had reached the driver.
• We arrived at around 6pm and asked if we could use the pool. “Ohh no… the area is already closed.”
• From one moment to the next the light went off in our room. After telling the manager about it his first comment was: “Ohh… what have you done?” After his workers had found the fuse and had the issue fixed no apology for the inconvenience.
• Next point was that we were asked at what time we would like our dinner? We said at around 7 pm. “Ohh…the others will eat at 8 pm.” So 8 pm it was.
• To be fair the food was really good. Luckily our kids liked it as well, as nothing else was offered which we could choose from.
• Other guests got wine and other drinks offered. We only got water served and nothing else.
• We asked for the WIFI password. Instead of a piece of paper with the information he simply told us the 8 digit number with the comment not to give it to any of the workers. In addition to this, it would not make a different as it was not working.
• We had booked an additional bed in our room. This cost 45 $ extra. I had to sleep on it and it was the most terrible night ever. I felt every steel component of the bed through the thin mattress. It was really cold under the thin old wool blanket. At least a cover around the blanket would have been nice and more hygienic. But I was asked how I slept the next morning by the manager. And I told him it was really terrible. But do not expect an “ohh… I’m sorry”. No not at all. I was told that he cannot imagine this, as this is the same “extra bed” all guests get.
• The evening before we were asked at what time we would like our breakfast. So we had agreed to have it a 9am. Till 9:15am we could not find anyone. After we had asked what about breakfast we had to wait another 15 Minutes till it was served. The food was again quite good only I would not expect to get an empty Nutella glass served in such a place.

All the points above are no mayor issues. But when you pay 300 $ a night you imagine that you are treated with respect and not talked down to. Things can go wrong but than an apology does not hurt either.

The room charges were also interesting. We paid 240 $/night plus 45 $ for the extra bed. This was all okay and according to the booking. But that our 5 year old son had to pay an additional 45 $/night for sleeping in no extra bed was quite much and not according to the booking. But again no apologies or anything.
All in all, it was one of the most beautiful places we stayed in during our Sri Lanka tour. But in no other place we were treated like here. The way the manager (only him) behaved and treated us, made this the worst experience we had in a hotel in many years (we travel a lot).

I would not recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed: January 2017
7  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

I have stayed in Planters house for 2 days. What magnificent experience. Adventure started with a 4 x 4 drive up to mountain organised by hotel. Over 100 years old estate has given us the true taste of colonial days of Ceylon. Landscaped gardens, antiquity and those 4 poster beds to die for. Great view from the pool. Friendly team of staff led by Gavin - the man will attend to your needs with nothing but a smile.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gihan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We spent a wonderful three days at the Planters House in April. We didn't really know what to expect, other than that the property looked gorgeous - but this was a place that just exceeded all expectations. The household team could not have been more welcoming and gracious. In particular, Gavin and his team were patient with our 2.5 year old, helping us with everything from helping introduce her to new tastes to getting her involved in hanging up some laundry (at her request!). We adults were equally spoiled, and Gavin seemed to know exactly what we might want or need before we knew it ourselves. A few times during our stay, we'd sit down and suddenly notice a pitcher of ice-cold juice was right on the table, or he'd inquire whether we wanted tea...which sounded just perfect at that moment. It's a beautiful space for a family gathering, which is what we hope to do next there. Each room is beautifully done, and there is plenty of space in the house so you never feel crowded. Once you are at the house, you really don't want to leave so definitely plan on making this a retreat in every sense of the word.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jkao46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews