We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
160
21
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
21
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving heritageinfinity poolsri lankahill countryprivate waterfallhidden gemtea countrycurrytwo nightsspectacular viewsday tripleech socksoff the beaten trackfollowing morningthe general managerpaddy fieldshis team
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Let me say the first thing that the website photos don't do Koslanda justice. Before we came here (my girlfriend and I) we thought it was just an OK-looking place. But the hotel is really pretty, much better looking than we though, especially the guest room.
Our room was very spacious, and the courtyard in the entrance area very pretty. At the back, there is a stone jacuzzi pool which is set against a wall with tropical vines and other plants. This gives it a nice romantic look. The only thing about the bedroom and bathroom is that it's too dark in there — the girlfriend complained how she could not do her makeup.
The hotel grounds are nice. We loved the Ambalama concept. These are traditional Srilankan open structures for travellers to lounge in. And Koslanda adopted the design for its lounges and the restaurant.
The hotel has a very cool new concept guest houses as well, which are very different to the other rooms. These are almost like tree houses and are very open and white and filled with light and swept by tropical breeze. Loved it there though we only visited one of them for a quick showaround. But maybe we should have booked one of these instead. Really beautiful. They are much smaller though than the other rooms.
The swimming pool is great. Picturesque, with great view, and another Ambalama at one end. A cool place to hang out.
Staff is great BTW — I should have mentioned it first of all! They make a fantastic atmosphere, ah, and the food was a real surprise — maybe the best we had in Sri Lanka.
As we visited in the wet season there was rain and, believe or not, the occassional nasty leech, hidden in the grass. These are yucky so best to wear trousers. Or visit in the dry season, no problems then.
In any case, we had a lovely time at Koslanda and think it's totally worth your time and effort to get here and stay — we would visit again, even in wet season. These strong tropical rains are so calming, and we did not mind just having some time off from the scorching sun.

Room Tip: forest pavilions: good for couples
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy A, Owner at Living Heritage Koslanda, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Daniel L

Well always glad to hear that we more than lived up to expectation, and in fact exceeded expectation.
These are music to our ears. S happy that you enjoyed our hospitality so much and that our staff were so pleasing. Unfortunately you visited t a time when Sri Lanka was caught in an unseasonably wet period in our part of the island - the months of May, June and July are dry in our part of Sri Lanka while it traditionally rains in the south west - and therefore you were very unlucky I'm afraid, and these stormy skies I also affected the lighting in the rooms. However thank you for pointing this out and we will be looking into installing higher wattage bulbs in the rooms. Regarding leeches these are only seen in the jungle and we provide leech socks for those who wish to walk to the waterfall during this time. Alas this is a feature for all jungles of Sri Lanka and is an indication that the habitat is not polluted by pesticides or other pollutants, and is the price we pay for such pristine natural beauty. .
Thanks and best wishes
Lucy and the LHK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived after travelling from Kandy. Pleasant surprise after interesting road. Very quiet location.
Upgraded to a suite that was gorgeous or we could say sensational. Large entry area which would be amazing in the rain (ironically only time it didn’t rain during our visit to Sri Lanka). Large bedroom and great bathroom. Really, really loved the outdoor shower and spa, though the spa was not heated and it was cool therefore only one of us was brave/mad enough to hop in that.
Pool was...amazing!! Situated on top of a hill and away from rooms. Cannot imagine a nicer pool or better view of the world!
Staff friendly and other guests also added to stay at pre-dinner cocktail. Dinner was good. Breakfast was the best! Best fruit we ate on our trip.
If you enjoy peace, quiet, nature and don’t want to be near town each day we would recommend staying here. Ideal for couples or families. We were a couple staying, however weren’t negatively impacted by a family in adjoining rooms.
We will happily return on our next trip and stay longer.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nesswil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy A, Owner at Living Heritage Koslanda, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Thank you so much for your fabulous review - it was really lovely to read this and we just wish we knew who you were as you review is unnamed! Sounds like you really made the most of your stay, and loved every aspect, so please do come back again and stay for longer!
Best wishes
Lucy and the LHK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Living Heritage was just wonderful. From the moment we arrived, we were surrounded by nature and the kind approach of the service staff.

The accommodation is excellent and are appointed with all comforts in mind.

The layout of the property is most ideal for simply relaxing and letting go, doing as one pleases.

For nature lovers a short hike to the nearby waterfall is sure to delight with a true feeling of getting out and sharing in the beauty of nature.

There are plenty of places dotted around the property where one may read a book, meditate, practice yoga or just hang around and chill.

The infinity swimming pool overlooking endless vistas of paddy fields was the highlight.

The food is delicious and caters to both eastern and western palates.

The service is always on point, efficient and subtle.

The property is a good base to visit and explore the nearby tea country and also local attractions including Diyaluma Waterfall.

Room Tip: Forest pavillions are more closer to nature.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bouncy_Boycy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy A, Owner at Living Heritage Koslanda, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Bouncy_Boycy
Thanks so much for spending the time to write your review, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much.
We are definitely a property for people who appreciate nature and are happy to spend their time enjoying some down time, or exploring the nature trails and waterfall on our estate. A perfect getaway for those who want to embrace the natural environment as you did!
Thanks and best wishes
Lucy and the LHK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

This is a very quite land which spreads across 80 acres, a true big jungle in other words! There is no sign board at all so you need to contact the friendly hotel manager to find the way to hotel. We stayed at forest pavilions, which brought us a total new experience with room facing to jungle and a beautiful mountain. We heard nothing but the sound of birds and monkeys. When it's dark you could see wild animals like wild boar and wild rabbits wandering in the hotel gardens. It was a heavy rainy day we stayed at the forest pavilion so we can confirm that the curtains are fully sealed, not a single drop of water came inside the room. The swimming pool is amazing that you can relax for hours with the calm sounds of nature. The garden landscape is extremely wonderful, almost all the buildings are built in traditional Sri Lankan style. Food was pleasant and nicely served by the friendly local staff. If you have some time it's worth witnessing the private waterfall which will take no more than 20 minutes walk down in the land. If you go for trekking in rainy season, beware of leaches. Don't forget to inform the hotel staff so they give you leach socks and some basic precaution guidelines which is very helpful. High five to the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madusha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy A, Owner at Living Heritage Koslanda, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Madusha K
So grateful to you for leaving this lovely review for us. It's a shame that one of your days was affected by the unusually heavy rains for this time of year, but great that you can attest that, despite the open nature of the Forest Pavilions, once you're tucked up in bed, you'll be nicely cosy and warm (and dry!). We do hop that we will see you up at Koslanda again in the near future.
Best wishes and thanks
Lucy and the LHK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

This property is an absolute dream! My spouse and I stayed for two nights -- the first in a suite and the second in a forest pavilion. Both spaces have been designed in a clean, simple manner with care and attention. Falling asleep to the sound of light rain and the jungle creatures is an experience we'll never forget! In addition, the staff at Living Heritage are truly wonderful people who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We spent many hours relaxing at the infinity pool, playing games in the lounge, and practicing yoga overlooking the jungle. If you're looking for a quiet, beautiful place to check out for a few days, look no further!

Room Tip: The forest pavilion is not to be missed.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Breanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy A, Owner at Living Heritage Koslanda, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Breanne R
We so enjoyed having you stay with us, and hearing your stories of adventures around Sri Lanka in you tuk tuk. So very exciting and adventurous. Thank you for your amazing photography and we will pass on your kind words about our staff to hem. Happy onward travels and hope to see you bck at Living Heritage Koslanda again soon.
Best wishes
Lucy and the LHK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews