We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Had a great 12 night stay in a 2 bedroom beach pool villa - great for 2 kids as they're probably the only rooms in the Maldives that have a separate bedroom for the kids with twin beds. They all face east thus get the morning sun but lose the afternoon sun. Of the 8 rooms of this type at Centara, rooms 1-3/4 have had the beach washed away in front and are rocky so ask for room 5-8. Perfect resort for kids as loads of stuff is organised for them though it's definitely a 4 star resort (especially the quality of accommodation) compared with the other two 5 star Maldivian resorts we've been to (see above).

Service is good - genuine, friendly, keen, happy staff. Had to be reminded a few times to mend things in room, re- fill mini bar etc but not a big deal.

Food/drink is good - wine is drinkable, decent-size all-inclusive cocktail list, 8 day buffet cycle which is mostly very good. Thai restaurant is excellent. A bit annoying that there was nowhere to eat all-inclusive if you happened to miss the timed restaurant sittings - Lily Beach always had somewhere to eat all-inclusive round the clock.

Spa is excellent and good value - all therapists Thai or Balinese and they know their stuff. Brilliant massages.

Snorkelling is very good all round the island and within 10-20m of the beach.

Rooms are OK but a bit tired, a bit old fashioned and dated - clearly 4 star standard which is fine for a family holiday. Basically clean but could be better - quite a bit of black mould on the tiles in the shower....doesn't take much to keep the place clean.

Island Club thing's a bit odd. Service and food great there but it's a but weird having an island within an island. I'd replace the island club with an adult-only retreat for couples without kids.

We gather they're going "ultimate all-inclusive" from Nov 2012, prices going up but will include more things (spa, minibar etc). I think they'll need to improve the rooms too if they're going to do that.

Wifi is really annoying and antiquated - only one device can be connected at any time (most families have an iPod, iPhone, iPad, Laptop these days) and you have to put a 15 digit code in every 30 mins. You should have to do that just once when you arrive. Please get into the 21st century Centara!

Weather perfect for our July holiday despite monsoon rain on arrival and for the first 36 hrs.

If we ever brought our kids back, we'd probably prefer to save up and/or go for a shorter holiday to Lily Beach and get the "full monte".

All-in-all, a great holiday that was fine for our requirement this time. Thank you Centara.

Room Tip: Of the 8 2 bed ppolvillas, rooms 1-3/4 have had the beach washed away in front and are rocky so ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAJM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    219
    52
    16
    12
See reviews for
401
591
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just came back from a week's trip to the Maldives. I was happy with Centara Grand. Booked a Sunset Water View villa, and was lucky to be treated with good weather so enjoyed very nice sunset each evening. Here are my verdicts on what I experienced.
1. Room
Large, with a large bathtub (not a spa) in the bathroom, separately from the shower cell. A large balcony with an upper deck, which gives you uninterrupted views of the ocean.
The room and its facilities are starting to show their age here and there but they are well maintained and are in good condition.
2. Food & Beverage
I was on an "all inclusive" package so standard drinks and meals are included. I liked all 3 restaurnats = Reef, Lotus Thai, and Azzuri Mare Italian. The staff members I came across were all fantastic, and I rate the level of their sevice very highly.
3. Entertainment
They put on a few attractions each night such as a traditional maldivien dance show and a crab race. They were quite down to earth and held at Coral Bar, located next to the pool.
4. Beaches
Nice! It was during their off-peak season when I went so there were always plenty of places where you can just relax.
5. Overall
I would classify this resort as being more of a family orientated, than an exclusive honeymoon resort.
I saw a lot of honeymooners (Japanese, Chinese, Korean honeymooners)whilst there and it led me to believe the resort was promoted as such in the countries they came from. But this resort is in a very much relaxed ambience based setting, and does not give you the top of the notch super deluxe feel.
But having said that, I enjoyed my stay thoroughly (I was not a honeymooner) and would always stay here again if I go back to the Maldives....

Overall, a very good experience, and thanks to the staff members in the Front Office, F&B outlets, and everyone who never failed to say "hello" as walking past!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmySydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

For a tiny island, the Centara certainly packs a lot on it. By all means splurge for an over the water room. There is nothing like sitting on your deck watching and listening to the little reef sharks chase the bait fish. And then stepping right down into the water with them. The snorkeling was quite good since they have their own reef around the island. There is plenty of underwater life to see. The dining choices are enough that you are not eating the same food even if you are there for several nights. And you will be well taken care of in the spa. Since the weather can turn up anytime, the hotel does an excellent job making necessary changes when the seaplanes can't get in which we experienced the first night. The all-inclusive package makes this a very reasonable choice in the Maldives.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The food has been amazing during the duration of our stay, staff are wonderful and always helpful, beautiful resort and exceptionally well kept. Thank you for an incredible holiday

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was our second visit to the Maldives and after visiting Meeru last year we didn't think we could find a better location. Then we landed in Centara Grand Island..............paradise. After a long hard journey we were greeted with cold flannels and drinks. We had a Luxury Sunset Water Villa (no 64) Island Club. There is so much I wish to say about this Island and it's people. Our villa was breathtaking, looking out over the Indian Ocean, serene and peaceful. The room itself was very spacious, airy and comfortable. The bathroom was so spacious and luxurious, we had unlimited WiFi, free mini bar, which even had chocolate in!!!! Enough said on the room, just go and experience it. The snorkeling in the reefs on this Island is something else, so clear and so many fish, we even seen turtles and dolphins (oh and a 6 foot stingray). The Island itself has everything, plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from, all with excellent quality of foods and drinks. There is plenty to do for all age groups. The natural beauty of this Island can be seen, however what made this holiday so special for us was the people, I have travelled all over and have not experienced such warmth and friendliness, everyone courtious, polite and will go out of the way to make sure your stay is one you will never forget. We had the privledge of using the Island Club, Sinta, Shelly and Christine were so welcoming, caring and warm, attending to all our needs, Graham (my husband) and I felt we had made true friends, loved chatting away to them...thanks girls you really are all stars. My husband has some food allergies and the chefs in all restaurants cooked from scratch to ensure his safety (again going beyond all expectations). Voytek (the manager of Paradise) is a joy, you can see why his staff go above and beyond, great teamwork. We travelled late June, the weather was perfect. This is an Island we will return to again and again, we both fell in love with it. Thank you seems so inadaquate to say for how this holiday made us feel. Be sure to go if your reading this (the only thing we wished we had more of was some extra milk in the Villa, as coffee was so good, oh and some chips, yes i can see some eyes rolling but we did miss them)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 64 (a Luxury Sunset Water Villa) but all rooms are good, go with your budget as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centara Grand Island
36.7 km away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
9.5 km away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
2.6 km away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,827 reviews
10.3 km away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
11.8 km away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Property: Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Address: South Ari Atoll
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Centara Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centara Grand Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 49,580 - ₹ 1,02,069
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by a stunning house reef that is a kaleidoscope of colour for snorkellers, and distinctive with its timbered walkways and colonial-style buildings, the five-star Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives is a barefoot paradise. With the Ultimate All-Inclusive concept, your stay is absolutely carefree meaning that all meals, spa treatments, activities and water sports, daily excursions, and even diving are all included. Weatherboard villas, thatched-roof buildings, a white-sand beach and sparkling lagoon are the setting for your honeymoon or fun-filled family holiday. Villas and beach suites are generously-sized (86-159 square metres); the over-water villas enjoy their own sundeck with steps down to the multihued coral reefs. Special villas for families have bunk beds in a children’s area, and you can also enjoy the option of an overwater villa with plunge pool. When it comes to dining, all your meals – and more – are included. Sumptuous champagne breakfasts are available at Reef Restaurant, lunches and dinners are to be enjoyed at the Azurri Mare Italian Restaurant, the Suan Bua Thai restaurant or Reef Restaurant. There are two bars on the island. Voted as Maldives’ most family-friendly resort two years in succession, the island has the ideal family itinerary: activities at the age-specific kids’ clubs, water activities like banana boat and tube rides, water sports, and pool games by thea children’s pool. Anyone in need of some deep relaxation can enjoy the daily spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, yoga sessions, or simply laze beachside. Beside water sports and one of the best PADI dive centres in the Maldives, the resort’s house reef and lagoon provide fascination for snorkellers, and just off the reef there is a dedicated shipwreck that offers easy diving and a close-up view of turtles and whale sharks, manta rays, and surgeonfish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Island Hotel Centara Grand Island
Centara Grand Island Resort And Spa
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing