We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in beautiful setting, average room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Powerscourt Arms Country House
Ranked #4 of 6 Enniskerry B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in beautiful setting, average room”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Booked a double room on a Saturday night end of September.

The pub hotel is located in a very central position in Enniskerry, overlooking the village square. There’s no arguing that it is one of the most quinte essential village pub hotels I’ve ever stayed in (and I’ve stayed in a few!), and the village is very pretty. There’s a nice pub area (inside/outside seating) and a stylish bistro towards the back. The restaurant has quite an extensive menu and the quality is good. The hotel has typical country style furnishings. Its also quite obvious that this is the favoured pub/restaurant for the locals and the weekends can get busy and noisy, especially if a live band is playing. The hotel has a large car park round the side.

The room itself was fairly basic, but it was relatively large and had an ensuite bathroom. Unfortunately, because it was on a weekend, it was very noisy and we didn't get to sleep till 1 in the morning. The room was positioned above the kitchen (staff had their radio on loud and we could hear it through the floor boards) and it was also just at the top of the main stairs and we could hear the live music. Admittedly, we should have joined the party, but having no sleep the night before, we really just needed a decent sleep, which we didn't get till very late. If you are staying here, I recommend asking for a room at the back of the hotel. If the room was quiet, then it would have been very good value for such a popular area of Ireland.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when I had a flat battery to my hire car the next morning! They went out of their way to try and get a mechanic to help jump start my car. Overall, this is a good hotel, but on weekends ask for a quiet room at reception.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room at the back if you want good quality sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwipome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    43
    27
    13
    20
See reviews for
30
64
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Small hotel / b&b, looks like a nice pub from the outside. The dining area / bar was very funky with modern furniture and there was a great live Irish band one night. The bar is expensive though (E6 for a pint of Guiness, which is about a Euro more than the bar in the Ritz Carlton nearby). We paid E80 per night for a double room with breakfast. The room was a bit shabby with most of the lightbulbs missing / not working, so getting dressed involved leaving the curtains wide open, within full view of the car park (luckily we are not shy). The bathroom was adequate (but again poorly lit) with a view onto a building site / tip. The breakfast is served until 12, which is a good thing if you plan on sampling the local Guiness, (which is excellent by the way). The first day, the breakfast was very rubbery (we had full Irish) and seemed as though it had been reheated several times. I think this was because we ate late (11.45am). Other days, breakfast was much better, when we ate earlier, around 10am.
The whole place looked like it was in the middle of a refurbishment with wires hanging out of walls etc, and the pool table was sidelined. The rooms were clean however and the bed comfortable. The location is perfect right in the centre of Enniskerry with a bus stop over the road which can take you to into Dublin centre (about 1 hour travelling time). We were looking for a cheaper alternative to the Ritz Carlton and this place is quite satisfactory. The best thing about hotel is the staff who were extremely helpful and welcoming at all times. They even gave us a couple of lifts around the village to save us getting taxis. Thank you so much staff, you are superstars! There were a lot of American tourists here (not surprising as there is a huge "stars and stripes" flag hanging outside the hotel, next to an equal sized Irish tricolour. On the whole an enjoyable stay, marred by the fact the hotel was in the middle of a refurb and we weren't informed of this when booking. There was no price reduction either.
Good points: Staff friendliness and helpfulness, good location, clean, good bar, cheap price for rooms, free WiFi in the bar / dining room
Bad points: Expensive bar, was in the middle of refurbishment, is quite a trek to the Ritz Carlton (if you are attending a wedding there, a good 30 to 40 min uphill trek). Same for location of ATM, however in the opposite direction to the Ritz.. WiFi only available in the bar / dining area, not in the rooms.
On the whole I would probably stay here again if visiting Enniskerry.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P165y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaOR, Manager at Powerscourt Arms Country House, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay here at The Powerscourt Arms Country House. On an overall we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We undertook a refurbishment program here upgrading facilities at the hotel to improve guests experience with us. I aplogise that you were not informed of this at the time of your reservation. Just to point out that a pint of Guiness is only €4.20 in the lounge so I am baffled as to the price of €6 that you mentioned. We are located in a prime location in the heart of the picturesque village of Enniskerry and we offer complimentary lifts to guests when available to local amenities. However it is out of our control where some of these amenities are located in the area. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Powerscourt Arms Country House in the future where you can enjoy another spendid Pint of Guinness from us..
Kind Regards
Fiona O' Regan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Clean room, nice dinner and lovely breakfast.

Staff were welcoming.

Hotel situated in the centre of the village with other restaurants and pubs close by.

The car park is probably 100 yards from the hotel entrance in case this might be a problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaOR, General Manager at Powerscourt Arms Country House, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Hi Brian

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and leave kind words.. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Kind Regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed @ this Hotel , for our Anniversary , the young Staff were very friendly & efficient , the food was very good , the room was clean & comfortable , the En Suite could do with upgrading .
I would recommend a visit to the Bistro if looking for somewhere to dine in Enniskerry .

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knocktophernights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaOR, General Manager at Powerscourt Arms Country House, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Many thanks for you kind words and glad you enjoyed your stay on this special occassion.
Kind Regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

My girlfriend and I turned up in Enniskerry in December of 2009 after a whistlestop tour of the top half of Ireland (inc Northern Ireland). Perhaps my ratings seem a bit over the top but I honestly couldn't fault this place. Sure it was the most expensive night of our trip but I just can't fault any of it. The inn is located right in the centre of Enniskerry, a small but gorgeous little village south of Dublin. We just could not believe that we were so close to the capital but in a place that seemed so secluded. We visited in December so the streets had very tasteful Christmas decorations all around. This place is also a stones throw from the Wicklow mountains - an absolutely stunning part of Ireland's scenery.

We turned up at the Powerscourt Arms having decided to pay the 70 EUR for two people Bed and Breakfast. This was hardly a bargain basement price but we got what we paid for. The only thing warmer than the inn (this was in sub-zero temperatures so warmth was a major plus point!) was the welcome we received. Standard lovely Irish welcome that extended into our departure the next day. The place is so cosy and everything just seems clean and functional. The bed was a king size I think, very soft with soft carpets. The bar was very nice with a good selection of Irish drinks and the restaurant also sold some nice food.

Overall I was very pleased with this place hence the gleaming review (my first 5 rating on this site). I have stayed in four star hotels a lot worse than this. If you're going to Dublin, Wicklow or Enniskerry then a night here is a must.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fandangoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
0.1 km away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
599 reviews
4.6 km away
The Martello Hotel
12.2 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
11.3 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
500 reviews
4.3 km away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powerscourt Arms Country House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Arms Country House

Property: Powerscourt Arms Country House
Address: Enniskerry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Enniskerry
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,735 - ₹ 8,789
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Powerscourt Arms is an intimate country house that has been providing quality service since 1715. The character of this building lends to the charms which make Enniskerry so special. The Powerscourt Arms Country House is the perfect base for sightseeing and exploring all that Wicklow has to offer. The Country House boasts 11 well-appointed en-suite bedrooms. Delicious home-cooked food served daily using only the best of local produce. Country breakfast, lunch & extensive evening menu with blackboard specials is served daily in the cosiness of the lounge. The Powerscourt Suite located off the lounge is the ideal venue for group and private bookings where you can enjoy our home-cooked cuisine. The Bistro, Enniskerry an intimate, elegant & relaxing venue where our menus are full of classic bistro dishes and our daily blackboard specials allow the kitchen to create a continental style cuisine. Mac's Bar, a traditional Irish bar in the heart of Enniskerry village loved by locals & visitors alike. Our pub is the perfect place to experience true village life with a great atmosphere and personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Powerscourt Arms Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powerscourt Arms Country House Hotel Enniskerry
Powerscourt Arms Country House Enniskerry, County Wicklow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing