We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - if a little expensive.”

Terrace Cafe at Powerscourt
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Called here with a party to the gardens. Checked out the main courses but I considered them a little expensive for what was, basically a salad. It could be though that prices a lot dearer in the ROI! In fairness it didn't put a lo of others off. A little slow in getting served and this appeared to be at the cash desk that also doubles, that day, as the drinks area. It also appeared that they had run out of change. Outside tables were slow in getting cleared to the extent that "diners" were forced to clear them away notwithstanding that this was a Tues and not that busy. I put it down to poor management.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvocaIreland, Public Relations Manager at Terrace Cafe at Powerscourt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi Douglas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review. Your feedback and custom are very much appreciated.

Regarding the slow service the day you visited, please accept our sincere apologies for this. Please be assured your comments will be communicated to the team there in an effort to always improve the service provided.

In relation to pricing, we try our best to keep our prices competitive, however it is also a priority of ours to use only the best quality food and ingredients, and to make everything from scratch ourselves. For example, our team of bakers come in to do all our fresh baking from 4am each morning so that our customers have the most delicious, fresh scones, breads and cakes. I hope this explains why our prices might seem on the high side at times. We are dedicated to quality ingredients and Irish provenance, and are proud to offer only the best fresh baking and food in our cafes and Food Markets.

Once again, thank you so much for your review.

Kind Regards,

Avoca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Great Avoca food, although fairly long queues at busy times, especially at the weekend. There are two counters serving food, the second counter furthest from the entrance has a better choice of food. Wine and bottled alcohol drinks available, but limited in choice. The terrace was a great setting, south facing so very sunny when the clouds disperse. Lovely venue but premium prices.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank PAR1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvocaIreland, Public Relations Manager at Terrace Cafe at Powerscourt, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review. Your feedback and custom are very much appreciated.

We are so happy to hear you love the venue and enjoy the food.

In relation to pricing, we try our best to keep our prices competitive, however it is also a priority of ours to use only the best quality food and ingredients, and to make everything from scratch ourselves. For example, our team of bakers come in to do all our fresh baking from 4am each morning so that our customers have the most delicious, fresh scones, breads and cakes. I hope this explains why our prices might seem on the high side at times. We are dedicated to quality ingredients and Irish provenance, and are proud to offer only the best fresh baking and food in our cafes and Food Markets.

Once again, thank you so much for your review.


Kind Regards,

Avoca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

As you come into the Courtyard at the house and gardens there is a Kiosk selling Ice creams and Coffee. One guy in the kiosk doing his best but once someone ordered more than one coffee he was on the back foot . We joined the queue just to get an Ice Cream and there was five ahead of us . Took 15 minutes to get to the top . People joined and left .A beautiful day there and could have sold lots of cones but they needed two people in the Kiosk. Was told they wont put two in it .
Next time I am there I will avoid the Kiosk. Other than that a beautiful place to visit .

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GregO1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvocaIreland, Public Relations Manager at Terrace Cafe at Powerscourt, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We hugely value all of our customer feedback.

We were very sorry to hear you had a negative experience at Avoca Powerscourt, and hope you will accept our sincere apologies. Please rest assured your feedback re: the kiosk will be communicated to the team in an effort to improve this service.

Once again, thank you so much for your review.

Kind Regards,

Avoca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

A lovely lunch in the sunshine, with the Sugar Loaf in the background. Food of the usual Avoca high standard, fresh and delicious, in beautiful surroundings. Give it a try!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CeannCabaiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvocaIreland, Public Relations Manager at Terrace Cafe at Powerscourt, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Your feedback is hugely appreciated!

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us, and we hope to welcome yo back again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Avoca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

The food was good quality but expensive. The tea and coffee making was very slow and caused long queues.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvocaIreland, Public Relations Manager at Terrace Cafe at Powerscourt, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hi Carolyn,

Thank you very much for your review. We value all of our customers feedback very much, and apologise that you experienced a wait while ordering your coffee.

Regarding our pricing, we try our best to keep our prices competitive, however it is also a priority of ours to use only the best quality food and ingredients, and to make everything from scratch ourselves. For example, our team of bakers come in to do all our fresh baking from 4am each morning so that our customers have the most delicious, fresh scones, breads and cakes. I hope this explains why our prices might seem on the high side at times. We are dedicated to quality ingredients and Irish provenance, and are proud to offer only the best food in our cafes and Food Markets.

Once again, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We truly value your custom and your feedback, will be passing on your comments to the team.

Kind Regards,

Avoca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terrace Cafe at Powerscourt also viewed

Enniskerry, County Wicklow
Kilmacanogue, County Wicklow
 
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 

Been to Terrace Cafe at Powerscourt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing