We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food terrible decor”
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food terrible decor”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Me and my wife have been to the Thai restaurant a few times now and i have to say its very contestant. I have tried almost everything on the menu now and it is really tasty. My only reservation in this restaurant is the chipped painted walls and mould and dust in the room. You would think a hotel of this level would do a little something in the room to help the food along.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjamin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hello TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for the review you posted about the consistently good Thai River Restaurant in our hotel. The restaurant is open two years now and we do get a lot of local people as well as residents dining there are a regular basis. The restaurant is located in one of the original rooms of the manor house and following reading your review I’ve had a look and the ledge around the original room has being chipped in spots by the furniture. Thanks for bring it to my attention. I hope we will see you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    287
    162
    86
    63
See reviews for
296
372
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DC Metro
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The good: The young woman at reception was very kind. Nice view of the river. Donkeys.

The unfortunate: Drab, cavernous, tired, old, dingy, and stuck in time (perhaps 1943?) No internet availability in the rooms. No internet availability in the lounge or lobby, as suggested, either. Uncomfortable beds. Thin walls. Dingy carpets. Dank endless hallways. Children racing about - and not just in the pool area and the arcade (which is, unfortunately, directly off the lobby). It felt like Miss Havisham meets "The Shining" meets "Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?" - in other words: sad, dreadful and bizarre.

With so many wonderful options nearby in Lahinch, I'm gobsmacked that this place is still in business - though, from the looks of things, just barely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hello TripAdvisor Member,
I’m sorry to hear that in your opinion you thought our hotel to be “drab, tired, old, dingy and stuck in time”, as we have just done a refurbishment and we have received very positive feedback from guests about the new look and feel. We are a family owned and family managed hotel and at all times we want to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable, restful and relaxing stay. I’m sorry that you did not find this to be the case. Thank you for the positive comment on our reception staff.
Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I recently stayed in the falls hotel with my partner and was left very dissapointed .On arrival we were put on the 7th floor.The lift only goes to the 6th floor so had to take the stairs for the last level.The smell of old hit us when we got to the floor and we had to duck our heads at the top of stairs to get to the room as we were to be what seemed like the attic and the ceiling was arched..!!The room was dark and dowdy letting no light in with a lovely view of a mouldy rooftop.There was stains on the carpet and old fashioned purple bedclothes without a cushion in sight .The dark mahogony wood and green bathroom suite only added to our dissapointment but the real final straw was when I sat on the bed deflated ,it didn t even move!!Went to ring reception and the phone line didn t work and as i put the phone down the lamp shade fell off!!Had to go all the way back down the stairs and lift to get to reception .We were told the Hotel was under renovation and the room we were in clearly wasnt touched but yet was still the same price as the other rooms!!The receptionist was pleasant and put us in a different room just off reception which was much better(still not great) but should of been given this initially.The hotel was quiet busy as ther was a charity boxing match on that night which we weren t told about on booking.After a meal in the nearby town we went to walk up the lovely walkway to the hotel(the only plus about the place ).The boxing match crowd had sprawled into the gardens wher the boxing seemed to continue.They were shouting and fighting and urinating up against the trees.Back in the room we could hear the music blairing from the disco that continued below us.Now this did stop at about 12.30.During the night ,we were stirred continuously by noises.It wasn t till the next morning that we realized the gents toilets in reception were along side us.The next morning we went to breakfast and went to look out the window as there seemed to be a nice view.We were greeted by two dead birds on the ground.( clearly visible).
.The grounds are beautifull of the hotel but they were even spoilt on our visit.We were left very decieved from viewing it online and needless to say we won t be returning.!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been re decorated and dont take the 7th floor.Should only stay in this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sexton-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
I’m very sorry to read your review, as the charity boxing match that took place in our hotel the weekend of your stay caused so many problems, trouble, distruciton and distress to both our staff and residents alike. I most sincerely apologise for the distress it caused you. We always like to support charities but the outcome of this event was certianly nothing that we’d expected or support.
I’d like to apologise that you were unhappy with your room and I hope that you would consider returing to our hotel in the future. We are a family owned and family managed property and at all times we want to make sure that all our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. I hope to hear from you again.
Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Upon leaving the Cliffs of Moher, we drove back into Doolin (the closest town to the cliffs) to scope out some lunch. We had seen a restaurant sign that morning boasting hand cut fries and fish. We had only had frozen fries since our arrival and had been perplexed by this. Unfortunately, this and many of the Doolin shops were not yet open for the season. So we jumped back into the car and headed towards Ennistymon, but that main street looked pretty inactive too.

A local came to the rescue with a suggestion that we try the dining room at the Falls Hotel. We were surprized to come across such a quaint spot with a distinctly rural feeling, even though we were moments away from Main St. There were even donkeys grazing in the pasture there.

Dining took place in a huge sun room with windows all around and a view of the falls. A carvery menu was being served and we chose the Roast Stuffed Loin and a Duo of Salmon and Cod topped with mixed herbs, leek & vermouth sauce as well as Toasted Sandwiches made with just carved baked ham and a sharp cheddar. The hit of lunch were the garlicky, scalloped potatoes and right out of the oven dinner rolls (we love our carbs!).

Wonderfully satiated, we headed back to Adare to rest up for our evening.

For photos and more detail, please feel free to check out my blog post at: http://foodmusings.ca/food-travel/cliffs-of-moher-the-falls-hotel-lunch/

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathryne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hello TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted, following your lunch in our bar recently. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed the carvery food and the freshly made sandwiches and thank you for taking the time to tell us about. I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I'd class this as a fairly average 3 start hotel. Probably best suited to families..
POSITIVES
Staff are friendly. The lady on reception in particular was very professional and manged the desk well.
It's set in it's own extensive grounds with great views of the falls.
There are donkeys down by the river that you can pet etc
There are large public spaces in the hotel that kids can run around in
Plenty of parking
Rooms are spacious
There's a leisure centre (didn't visit)

NEGATIVES
The decor is tired and needs updating
We had an internal room which looked out onto a roof with air con units and beyond that a view of the lift which meant you had to keep the curtains pulled so that those waiting on the lift weren't looking in
The air con is controlled at reception even though there are control panels in the room. On our first night it reached up to 27 degrees and we couldn't turn it off so not only was it baking it was also really noisy. Not only was the unit in the room loud but the units on the roof were loud too. This improved the next night having made reception aware of it.
The cascades restaurant is average and more about quantity not quality.

Room Tip: Room 669 is an internal room so I would avoid if possible...others who visited recommended that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Broni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hello TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us. I’m glad you found the staff professional, the rooms spacious and that you enjoyed the surrounds. I’m sorry that the room you were allocated didn’t have a nice aspect and that there was a problem with the air conditioning unit in your room.
We are a family owned and family run property and at all times we want our guests to experience a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us and I’m sorry that you left the hotel unhappy. I hope that you would consider staying with in the hotel again and if so please contact me directly to discuss it.
Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
6.1 km away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
14.1 km away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
2.9 km away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
23.9 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
3.3 km away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Property: Falls Hotel & Spa
Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,315 - ₹ 67,859
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing