We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cahergal Farmhouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cahergal Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cahergal Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cahergal Farmhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I chose this B&B as the last stop on our Ireland vacation as it was close to the airport. Noreen, the owner, came right out to greet us and made sure we had tea and sweets. The room was very, very nice-clean and comfortable with a large, well-equipped bathroom. My sister & I were interested in the cows and Mr. McInerney ushered us in to see them up close. The B&B seemed to be in the middle of nowhere & I was concerned about getting lost. Noreen provided excellent directions & even went so far as to lead us to the "main" road to the airport. She ensured that we had a hot breakfast prior to our flight. We found the house and the farm to be quite beautiful. We did not check beforehand, but the rooms are on the 2nd floor, which we tried to avoid throughout our trip so as not to have to carry luggage up and down stairs. Also, this may just be common in Ireland, but we found the lighting in the bathroom to be quite dim. However, those are small complaints for the lovely stay we had and our good interactions with our great hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    22
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
87
76
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Absolutely beautiful home situated on large working farm in Newmarket on Fergus, County Clare Ireland. Bedrooms are spacious and inviting with huge bathrooms. The owners, Mr. and Mrs. McInerney, couldn't have been more kind and helpful. Breakfast was delicious with generous portions. If you want a real Irish experience, this is the place to go. It is within easy driving distance of Shannon Airport.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineFN_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at Cahergal Farmhouse for one night in September. Noreen gave us great directions how to get to the house, and we were greeted with a warm welcome and offer for tea and scones. Our room was clean and comfortable - the bathroom was great, it had a big shower and was nicely decorated. Noreen and her staff were very accomodating and friendly. Although it's not walking distance from Main Street in Newmarket on Fergus, it is just a short drive into town, and also a short drive to Bunratty Castle. Noreen served us a lovely breakfast and sat to talk with us for a while in the morning - we had a great conversation. We would stay again at this lovely farmhouse.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, MD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

My friends and I were so lucky to spend an night at the at this beautiful Farmhouse. We were greeted by Noreen, who is one of the sweetest, kindness Irish ladies we met on our trip.We felt at home from the minute we arrived.
We had had asked for suggestions for dinner and without Noreen had us follow her to the restaurant. In the morning she made us fresh scones and sat with us and the table.
This is is place I will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanWaldorf_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, CT USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

This was our second trip to Cahergal Farmhouse. It was even more enjoyable the second
time around. My husband and I traveled with friends and stayed in the self-catering cottage.
It was perfect for several people to have the freedom to come and go together or by themselves whenever we wanted. The cottage is very comfortable, with a wood burning stove to gather around in the evening and have drinks or watch TV. The kitchen is well equipted and very large and has plenty of room for us all to have our meals together. The bedrooms
provide privacy and comfort. The owners are very helpful with any local information you may
need and because of our experience we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryfrances42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.2 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
5.2 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
11.1 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
8.9 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
9.3 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahergal Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahergal Farmhouse

Property: Cahergal Farmhouse
Address: Urlanmore, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,886 - ₹ 11,432
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahergal Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful, restored farmhouse is surrounded by scenic farmland, offering spacious rooms with countryside views. Guests can enjoy horse riding, tennis, and home-cooked breakfasts sourced from the farm itself. Each room at Cahergal Farmhouse includes an en suite bathroom with power shower, and hairdryer. Some rooms include a king-size bed, and guests can relax with a TV in the room. Some rooms also overlook the Fergus River. Breakfasts are served in the bright and airy dining room overlooking the rose garden and ancient stone walls. Freshly cooked, full Irish breakfasts are available, along with an extensive breakfast menu. Horse riding is available on-site with qualified instructors, and walking tours of the farm and surrounding countryside can be arranged. Free parking is provided, and Shannon Airport is only 5 miles away. Bunratty Folk Village is 4 miles away, and Dromoland Castle and Golf Club is 2 miles from Cahergal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cahergal Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing