We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful place with a beautiful view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cashel

Porthaw beach at low tide
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthaw beach at low tide
Cashel faces west Living Room an View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Porthaw beach at low tide
Cashel faces west
Living Room an View
Living Room
Dining Area
Kitchen
Bunk room
Front Bedroom
Back Bedroom
Bathroom
Sunset on the Terrace
The view
Secluded and tranquil setting
On the way to Buncrana
Another view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Buncrana, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suzmc2014
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful place with a beautiful view”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My friend and I stayed for a week in May 2015. We were meet at the cottage by a lady called Ann who was very welcoming and who gave us all the necessary information about the cottage. The cottage itself was very clean and tidy and situated overlooking Lough Swilly. It was exactly as advertised. I know the local area quite well, but I did struggle to find the cottage at first, but was pointed in the right direction by a local man. Between the two of us we managed to get the fire going, and spent several evenings just sitting outside taking in the view. I would recommend the cottage because the view was beautiful. We were very close to other holiday homes but were quite grateful to be the only ones renting at the time. A very enjoyable stay .

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiCarswel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Despite the rain and howling wind, our stay was fantastic. The house is perfectly located for the beach and on the rare occasions that the sun did come out, we loved it. The house is really well equipped and the open fire was a delight - given the weather.
There are lots of things to do around Inishowen and I would recommend a trip to Malin Head.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welovecam...
Dromara, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location but basic house”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in June 2014. The house itself is very basic with no homey touches. It gives the impression of a house that has been bought to let out and furnished as cheaply as possible (and the tv is the smallest you can possibly buy, much to my husband's disgust when trying to watch the World Cup!) There has not been much thought put into what a family might need when staying here - for example, there is only two cereal bowls in the cupboard though the house is meant to sleep 6! If you are planning to cook while you are staying here, there is little in the way of oven dishes etc and what there is looks ancient (either someones cast-offs or charity shop purchases)

That said, the house was clean enough and the kitchen is fully equipped with mod cons. The location is AMAZING and for us, that was what really saved a house which we would have otherwise rated very poor. It sits right by a beautiful beach which we had mostly to ourselves and we enjoyed several walks along the coastal path which runs right by the house.

The setting is not as secluded as the photos suggest - there are many other homes in very close proximity, most of which seem to be other holiday rentals. We had noisy neighbours at one stage which was a little annoying but luckily our stay didn't overlap with theirs much.

This house has so much potential. With a few finishing touches, a bit of thought put into what guests might need and a decent set of patio furniture it could be a lovely place to stay. As it is, you don't get much for your money and if we were to return to this area we would rent the house next door which has a lovely outdoor seating area and a slide in the garden for the kids!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: It was a bit cramped
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing