We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Harbour Inn”
Review of The Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Harbour Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We were in Buncrana for our friends birthday party at the weekend and stayed at the Harbour Inn for two nights where the party was held. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and all that we needed at a great price, and with the added bonus of a wonderful view looking over to the beach on Lough Swilly. Our Irish breakfast was lovely-really set us up for the day, and we had lunch on the Friday and Sunday which was tasty, nicely presented and good value for money. The staff were very friendly and attentive throuoghout our stay and we wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river/beach view-a great sight when you wake up in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFJLJ240866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 250 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

We called in here for a drink and something to eat while driving around Inishowen. We got a friendly welcome and took a seat beside the open fire.
We got a 2 course meal from the earlybird menu at €12 per head. Very good value and excellent food. The place was spacious, clean, and welcoming. Although this is listed under hotels, I'd recommend for a meal if you're passing this way.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciotog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here with my wife and three children in a family room last weekend, our welcome was warm and inviting (exactly what we needed with three tired kids) the rooms were clean, warm, spacious, and modern.
We ate in the bar on two occasions, both fantastic, the staff were great and very helpful, my wife is a fussy eater which didn't seem to be a problem, breakfast was also very good and plenty of.
this was definitely one of the best family run hotels my family and I have stayed in for a very long time.
I will definitely be returning and will also be recommending this hotel to my family and friends. Keep up the good work, it's great to see!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarryJCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

the hotel was an average hotel the food was mediocre but the worst thing about the place was how cold the rooms were and how unhelpful the staff were. for a start when we had asked about the heating in the hotel nothing was done about it! we had complained again about how cold the rooms were and again nothing was done about it. On top of that we were charged more money for the room because there were more than 2 children for the room as it was a family room and i will never recommend this hotel to anyone. should have gone to the inishowen gate way

Room Tip: there are no good rooms they were all cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Conor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doherty7777, Manager at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Harbour Inn.
We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy you brief stay, I believe you checked in and left immediately for a Family function arriving back late and leaving the following morning.
There may have been some confusion regarding your booking as you booked a room for two adults and two children under 12 and there appeared to be a group of young adults in your party hence an extra charge was applied, apologies if this was not made clear at the time.
I am surprised you felt the staff unhelpful as we always try our best to give good service in fact a member of staff drove yourself and members of your group to a nearby shop on Sunday morning to enable you to purchase some necessary items that were forgotten. You mentioned that you felt your room was not warm however the heat was on at all times. We sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay as the majority of our guests do and if you wish to contact us to clarify any problems you had please dont hesitate to contact us.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed there Friday night - was attending a Party there. Lovely place - spotlessly clean/warm/inviting. Breakfast first class - and all for £70 (THAT WAS FOR THREE OF US) Well impressed and would certainly return. Breakfast was fab - whole works and beautifully cooked... Worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
1.1 km away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
950 reviews
10.1 km away
Frontier Hotel
Frontier Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
51 reviews
1.9 km away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Buncrana
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
675 reviews
24.5 km away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,159 reviews
18.7 km away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Address: Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range: ₹ 4,728 - ₹ 8,313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each with television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. 70 seater restaurant serving lunch daily and evening a la carte menu. Warm & welcoming lounge bar. 5 minute walk from NorthWest Golf Club & 20 minute drive from renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club. Special rate green fees for NorthWest Golf Club available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Harbour Hotel Buncrana
The Harbour Inn Buncrana, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing