We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
126
57
19
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
57
19
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews large room with balcony overlooking the beach no lift irish singer sea view irish family family celebration soda bread chowder hake lovely night rooms are clean and comfortable small hotel sister hotel the pub wonderful hospitality would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2017

After a beautiful day in sunny Ballybunion, we went to eat in The Cliff House Hotel restaurant - we were seated with a stunning view of the sea. Both waitress' were so friendly and efficient. We ordered sea food chowder which was out of this world, packed with fresh fish I have never tasted the like anywhere else...ever. It was so tasty beyond words. Our only mistake was ordering a main course - we simply had no room after the chowder but the waitress was more than happy to provide more than adequate take away containers. It was a delightful end to a great day. Thank you Cliff House Hotel and we will certainly be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Claire008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

It's hard to put into words the kindness that was shown to us by Fiona on our first evening in Ireland and each day afterwards. The Cliff House was recommended to us by our Taxi driver Rose, with Enright Tours. It was the perfect place to eat a lovely dinner that night. We were jet lagged, tired and struggling with some issues with a rental home we were staying at; Fiona welcomed us like family and came to the rescue in so many ways to make our stay more comfortable. I cannot vouch for the room conditions since we did not stay there, but if they are kept with the same care that the Cliff House cares for their guests, then I'm sure they are superb. We came back to the Cliff House multiple times that week and each time we were greeted with kindness, warmth and delicious meals. The views from the restaurant are spectacular and we plan to stay there when we come back to Ireland in the future. Thank you for everything, Fiona.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank karenwalsh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The only word I could use to describe my stay at this hotel is abysmal. The room reeked of gloss paint fumes.While the staff were pleasant, the hotel policies and customer service from the hotel owner left an awful lot to be desired. Despite the fact that there is a sign outside the hotel stating food served from 12, we were informed we could not have a thing to eat as they were only serving food for the communion groups and not the actual residents. The only thing on offer was a slice of apple pie at the extortionate price of 7e and a cold coffee. There wasn't a parking space to be got and we were told to go up the street in order to be fed. Disgraceful service and not a place that provides good hospitality. Never again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Had a lovely five night stay here last summer. The weather was freezing cold but we had a very enjoyable break due in no small part to the warm atmosphere of the hotel. Comfortable room, lovely sea views, nice bar with entertainment at night. There were two stand out features of the Cliff House. Firstly the staff were, without exception, extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. We were met by Fiona and she immediately upgraded us to a room with a sea view as we were staying for five nights (well worth the extra charge by the way, I thought I had upgraded when booking). The second point of excellence here was the food. My boyfriend is French and fussy about what he eats but we both loved every bite we had here and were loath to go elsewhere. We forced ourselves to eat in local restaurants two of our five nights in Ballybunion but both agreed that we preferred the Cliff House as the quality was exceptionally good, particularly for a hotel. Overall highly recommend this spot.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view room, even though it's more expensive, it's well worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank unanimhaoldhomhnaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had a delicious family (20 people) meal one evening. We then moved to the bar area for drinks, dancing and singing! Oh so fun! I even cried! The Irish folks are so very, very friendly!! We will be back!!

Stayed: July 2016
Thank KarenS7031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews