We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
126
57
19
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
57
19
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the beach sea view no lift chowder star quality soda bread small hotel sister hotel wedding party the pub irish hospitality porridge would highly recommend this hotel short drive the location is perfect from start to finish family room
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The only word I could use to describe my stay at this hotel is abysmal. The room reeked of gloss paint fumes.While the staff were pleasant, the hotel policies and customer service from the hotel owner left an awful lot to be desired. Despite the fact that there is a sign outside the hotel stating food served from 12, we were informed we could not have a thing to eat as they were only serving food for the communion groups and not the actual residents. The only thing on offer was a slice of apple pie at the extortionate price of 7e and a cold coffee. There wasn't a parking space to be got and we were told to go up the street in order to be fed. Disgraceful service and not a place that provides good hospitality. Never again.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Had a lovely five night stay here last summer. The weather was freezing cold but we had a very enjoyable break due in no small part to the warm atmosphere of the hotel. Comfortable room, lovely sea views, nice bar with entertainment at night. There were two stand out features of the Cliff House. Firstly the staff were, without exception, extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. We were met by Fiona and she immediately upgraded us to a room with a sea view as we were staying for five nights (well worth the extra charge by the way, I thought I had upgraded when booking). The second point of excellence here was the food. My boyfriend is French and fussy about what he eats but we both loved every bite we had here and were loath to go elsewhere. We forced ourselves to eat in local restaurants two of our five nights in Ballybunion but both agreed that we preferred the Cliff House as the quality was exceptionally good, particularly for a hotel. Overall highly recommend this spot.

Room tip: Go for the sea view room, even though it's more expensive, it's well worth it.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank unanimhaoldhomhnaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We had a delicious family (20 people) meal one evening. We then moved to the bar area for drinks, dancing and singing! Oh so fun! I even cried! The Irish folks are so very, very friendly!! We will be back!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank KarenS7031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Everything about this hotel is fantastic. The staff led by Fiona and Kevin all cannot do enough for their guests. A wonderful welcome, beautiful rooms, an amazing view and fabulous food. We could have stayed forever.

We will definitely be back.

Many thanks Fiona for the lovely stay in your lodge which was perfect for our family's needs and my niece was delighted with her room in the hotel which was also perfect for the babies.

We hope to see you again soon and would really recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a break in Ballybunion

Room tip: The view from the sea view rooms is spectacular
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BigNidriFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

As a group of 8 women we stayed here last Saturday night
From the welcome we got at reception to when we were leaving I was very impressed
The rooms were lovely and spacious and bathrooms a generous size
The breakfast on Sunday morning was absolutely delicious
The homemade granola was extra special!!!
I would highly recommend this hotel and thanks for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DeirdreO482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fionamary O, Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Dear Deirdre,

Sincere thanks for the lovely review you posted on trip advisor.
Thank you for your lovely comments about our recently refurbished bedrooms with there spacious bathrooms that you and your party stayed in.

A special thank you for the lovely remarks about our breakfast which is cooked to order, and yes our granola is home-made.

We hope you will visit again.

Kind Regards

Mrs Mary Fiona O Callaghan
( Known as Fiona )

Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews