We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as promised” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bunratty Castle Mews

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bunratty Castle Mews
Ranked #6 of 25 Bunratty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not as promised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We happened on this place as a recommendation from Durty Nelly"s restaurant.
We were a party of 4 professional women. We were warmly welcomed by Delores, one of the reasons we chose was based on internet access. One of us was closing a house deal back in Canada. Sadly, there was no internet access, seems the computer in the hallway didnt work as a virus was placed on it by another guest. Wireless connection was non existant. Magically the computer worked in the am ......hmmmm. Delores offerred her computer to download the offer which was kind, although she hovered over us like a mother hen. We chose also to stay here as we were told we could have a ride back to the restaurant for an irish band, mind you it was on her time line......."lets go now as I have to sleep"


We had no shampoo, no conditioner, no soap. Hand gel only.
The morning she was buzzing around asking when we were leaving. For the price of 85 Euros per room.......choose another B+B or the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondsandIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcmews, Owner at Bunratty Castle Mews, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
When this party of "professional women" arrived from Durty Nelly's they entered like a whirlwind demanding room changes and not wanting to share rooms as was agreed on the phone call,so beds had to be moved to suit their needs.The wireless internet was working as another party of of guests were booking items at the same time, the problem seemed to be that they wished to print and fax contracts to do with a house sale and divorce to a different time zone(Why as professionals did they not do this early in the day, when most business is done) so they were allowed to use our private office to do this(17 pages of a document,no charge) and the reason Dolores stayed around was because our computer has our records of accounts, credit card details and private files in it and also some cash and other items are stored here.The lady in question using the computer was so dismissive,you would have thought she was doing us a favor. At this point because we do not have a fax Dolores offered to take them to a local hotel where the duty manager kindly as a favor to us would let them use the fax . This was 10-30 and the "professional women" told her they were drinking some wine and would tell her when they were ready to go ( we give lifts to guest as required we are not an on call Taxi service ). There is a bit missing in the review about how our son brought 3 of them back to the house at 01.45 the 4th did not spend the night here and when she did return she was given a full breakfast at 10am and not rushed out of the house.In fact one of them stayed in bed till 12 o clock and our check out time is normally 11 o clock as she was ill from the night before.They returned again at 1 o clock as they had forgotten their charges. We have shampoo and conditioner and hand gel ( which is soap ) in all our king rooms,sterile gel in standard rooms,they were in a superior room at no extra,as they were taking 2 rooms.. And so to the price they were charged €140.00 total for 2 rooms which works out at €35.00 per person not €85.00 per room as stated, payment was by 2 credit cards of €70.00 each of which we have copies. Very professional women indeed.We try to accommodate all our guest needs as best we can as most of our guests are aware,but in this case sorry we tried.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    45
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
98
101
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stopped here for one night as we were going to the folk show at the Corn barn (another review) accomodation was great. Breakfast good and very friendly host Delores who did every thing should could to make our stay enjoyable. Would definately recomend to others

Room Tip: All good just go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greytravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Bunratty was the last stop for my wife and I on our honeymoon through Ireland. We were met with open arms from Dolores and it was like seeing a long lost friend. She made our stay very comfortable and went above and beyond our expectations. She helped my wife plan a Blessing at a local church (we have been married almost a year and wanted to renew our vows, but this is not possible in Ireland). She also helped us with an issue we had with Fedex. All her help was unexpected but greatly appreciated. I would highly suggest staying here and seeing for yourself how you are made to feel like family and not just another guest!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac Falls
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Bunratty was the final leg of our 14 day trip and as for Delores...all I can say is wowsers and thank you!! This woman is in the right business...friendly, helpful, energetic. We had our selection of several theme rooms (we chose Ireland, of course). And Bunratty Castle is just 1km down the road.

Garry gave a great dinner recommendation (a bistro on the outskirts of Shannon, but only about 15 minutes from the B&B). And Delores was spot-on with her recommendation to shop in Limerick (found just the right piece of Irish jewlery but without paying the "tourist town" premium).

Breakfast was more than one could ever want to eat, but that didn't stop Delores from presenting us with the full kitchen (she even let Susie make her own tea, in the late afternoon).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We had a fabulous time here. We chose this B&B because of it's close proximity to Bunratty castle and the Cliffs of Moher. While those were great attractions, the star of the show was Delores and her family. Our children loved Delores! Our 2 year old girl loved to help out with the ironing, and our 5 year old boy loved the large back yard and trampoline. I was a huge fan of the breakfasts, and my wife has mentioned many times about how clean the house was kept, and how Delores went out of her way to make us feel at home.

My wife and I were so pleased with our stay, that we sent some friends to stay here when they were travelling in Ireland. They didn't have a car, but Delores was kind enough to pick them up from Shannon airport (late at night), and after they were settled she gave them a ride to the local pub (Durty Nelly's) for some grub and Guinness. She also helped them plan their days, and packed them lunches.

I would highly recommend Bunratty Castle Mews to anyone planning to stay in the Bunratty area. B&B's are a great way to meet people, and connect with locals. I try and use them as much as I can, and I can say without hesitation that Delores is the Queen of all B&B's

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thundanutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
1.2 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
1.0 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
4.5 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
1.0 km away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 25 in Bunratty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.9 km away
Bunratty Haven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Mews? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Mews

Property: Bunratty Castle Mews
Address: Low Road, Bunratty, Ireland (Formerly Cecilia Lodge)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bunratty
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,264 - ₹ 6,362
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bunratty Castle Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunratty Castle Mews Hotel Bunratty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing