We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and, um, dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Seriously in need of a facelift. Room was clean but just "tired". I kinda felt like it was a fire trap since hallways were off here and there, making it somewhat confusing. Just my opinion tho.
There is nothing nearby except the lame Blarney Woolen Mill store and the Bunratty Castle. Being on a tour we felt kinda "stuck".
Do go to the Midevil Feast in the Castle........that was a fun evening.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzieq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,170 - 1,174 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

the rooms are very large and spotless - a pleasure. the beds are incredibly comfortable. excellent free wifi in the lobby - poor connection in the room. the television was very small and had minimal channels available - that may or may not be important to you. the breakfast was excellent, however, the waitstaff was poor (very unfriendly and requests for a pot of tea for example seemed to be an effort - very unusual in ireland). but, overall, a very nice comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for your review, Im dissappointed that you found the staff unfriendly at breakfast and the service poor. It is the hotel policy to ensure that our highly trained staff provide the highest quality of service throughout all areas of the hotel. However on this occasion we must have fallen short of this at breakfast. I have taken the necessary steps to ensure this does not happen again.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Bunratty Castle Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I joined my hubby for 5 nights at this wonderful location in April. He worked in Shannon while I relaxed in Bunratty.

The Staff - All around super friendly, everyone from Reception, The Library, Kathleen's Bar, Room Service and Angsana Spa, etc!

The room - We were on the Executive floor and had a king bed, the room was perfect and had everything we needed. Plenty of drawers and closet space, 2 robes and slippers. The bathroom had a shower and separate tub - only odd item of note was that the blow dryer is hard wired into the wall near the desk, no way to move it to the bathroom where you'd normally use it, but a minor inconvenience for sure. As with many hotels, the mattress is hard and provides no support whatsoever but you kind of expect that when traveling away from home.

The food - we ate breakfast at The Library, for exec floor guests. Very lovely buffet and made to order items too. Fabulous strong coffee the way we like it! Only had lunch once, at Kathleens and it was a yummy soup. We did have one dinner at Il Pomodoro and enjoyed that, though a couple of the dishes ordered were not exactly as described in the menu. Still it was handy that night and very friendly server! The 2 best restaurants for dinner within a 5 minute walk from the hotel are Gallagher's Seafood and the Oyster Restaurant at Durty Nelly's, both were quite good. Lunch at the Creamery was sooo good as well!

The facilities - great older hotel with lots of charm! House keeping and room service always done well. Used the spa twice, once for a fantastic Hot Stone massage that was simply lovely and a couple days later I made use of the pool, sauna, hot tub and steam room - very nice! There is a workout room with equipment but I have no desire for exercise on vacation!

In summary, if you are staying in the Shannon or Bunratty area, this a great hotel with very friendly and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BippityBoppityBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Many thanks for you review, Im delighted you got to use all the facilities that the hotel has to offer and you enjoyed them all. Hopefully you will get an opportunity to return to Bunratty Castle hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Recently returned from a very enjoyable weekend stay. Found it difficult to find the entrance to the hotel driveway as we approached. (Not very well signposted from the road.)
The hotel was welcoming and check-in was fairly smooth. We had asked for rooms to be relatively close together,and were assured they were. Our friends returned to reception and asked to be moved. Their second room proved to have some sort of electrical box which hummed loudly. It stopped when turned off during the night but meant they had no electric lights.
Despite these niggles,the hotel was excellent. We all enjoyed our stay. We made use of the pool.
Breakfast was a very good standard. Service at breakfast and in the bar was very good.
We dined in the bar one evening and took advantage of a very good offer of 2 courses and half bottle wine. Rooms were very well serviced. Found all the staff to be friendly and very helpful when advising on tourist routes in the area. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It is very good value for money. Really good location for sightseeing in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room. To the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Many thanks for such a lovely review, Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and also got a chance to try out our wonderful food. Bunratty is a perfect place to unwind and all the tourist attractions are within a very short distance.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

i was there easter sunday and stayed the night with my husband and baby 9 months old had a wonderfull time the room was lovely we had a lovely sleep in the bed it was huge! the pool is brillant so is the steam room and sauna.. the staff are realy nice and are very helpfull and also the staff in kathleens bar were brillant and the food was realy nice.. abit pricey on the room service dho.. had wifi in my room no extra charge.. i am going to stay at this hotel again soon as we loved it and also the bunratty castle would recommened this hotel to anyone :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irish g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre2011, Director of Sales at Bunratty Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Many thanks for your kind review its great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay here in Bunratty and Im delighted that you are coming back to stay with us again.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Bunratty Castle Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunratty
11.5 km away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,515 reviews
0.4 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
427 reviews
12.4 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
831 reviews
19.8 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,644 reviews
7.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunratty Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunratty Castle Hotel

Address: Shannon to Limerick Road, Bunratty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Bunratty
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bunratty
Price Range: ₹ 7,625 - ₹ 14,402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bunratty Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunratty Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing