We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
79
13
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
13
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivala wonderful staytea and biscuitswonderful hospitalityarrived quite lateplenty of hot waterstayed one nightlovely homenext morninghighly recommend staying heregood nights sleepbreakfast was amazingfull irish breakfastb and blocal areawell worth a visitenjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Fern Hill is a lovely b & b located walking distance from the pubs, restaurants and shore. The owner/hosts, Tom and Anne, are delightful, accommodating folks. We spent 6 nights. Here is an ungarnished review of the property.

There are 5 guest rooms. Number five is on the first floor next to the dining area, which is a lovely atrium. All other rooms are on the second floor. We were given room 1 upon arrival. Room 1 and room 2 are the rooms with full sea views. SPECTACULAR views at that!! I saw the negative review of the room where the toilet would not completely flush and the shower was too small... this is that room. However, I feel that review was a bit harsh. Yes, the shower is a bit small. Yes, the flow of the toilet is a bit odd, but it really was manageable with a vacation spirit and the engaging of your thinking faculties. (Read: we got the toilet flushing no problem) Our issue with room 1 was that the queen bed has a footboard. I am a 5'6" woman. My husband is 5'11 on his tallest day. He could not comfortably fit in the bed due to the footboard. (We are baffled by the b&b industry's fascination with footboards. How do tall men sleep in them??) When we addressed the issue with Tom in the morning he didn't hesitate to offer us a room without a footboard. These rooms are either room 2 or room 4. Room 4 is a room in the back with another room of twin beds attached to it. We were given this room. It was spacious enough and the large tub and copious hot water gave me a great bath our last night there!
The housekeeping service is EXCELLENT here. The rooms are very clean. And I am a clean FREAK. The towels were always fresh and plush. We had purchased a bottle of wine for our room and when we returned that afternoon wine glasses were left alongside our usual tea cups. Nice touch!
Room 3 is abutting rooms 4 and 1.
Therefore, the best room at Fern Hill is room 2. It has full ocean views, no footboard, and is not abutting any other room.
One word about mattresses: we found them too hard. Yes, hard, not firm. We like firm. At first they would feel comfortable but as the night would go on occasionally I'd wake to find my hips felt pressure points from the bed. An egg crate on each mattress may be a welcome addition.
Breakfasts were lovely. We are light eaters and a few small requests were met with no problem.
Tom and Anne have two small dogs. We only heard them bark a few times, never at night, and they aren't allowed in the guest section of the house.
There's a living area available to guests and it's quite nice. If you are a family or couples traveling together it would be a nice common gathering place.
We would recommend Fern Hill to anyone traveling to the south east of Ireland.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank hidtiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The Fern Hill House ist a realy nice Bed & Breakfast. The hosts were very friendly. They were also helpful with some tips for sights to visit. We had a nice room with a wondeful view onto the ocean. :-)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Solinger1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This B&B was our first stop during our cross country trip through Ireland. Anne and Tom know the area extremely well and had great dinner recommendations, even for the off season. The house is very warm, cozy and the morning is incredible on a sunny, clear day. The dining area is sunlit and the breakfast spread is so good. WIFI is reliable. Don't forget to ask for directions along the Copper Coast. The views are unreal. A+++ service, hope to stay again some day soon!

Room Tip: The first room on the left up the stairs has the best view facing east towards the ocean!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AngelFromBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna072, Owner at Fernhill House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi Angel, Thanks for the very kind review. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you are having a great holiday.
Anne & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

A big shout out to Ann and Tom for making our time in Tramore so wonderful!!! We were late getting there and they seemed surprised to see us! The reservations were made for a different night. Was that a problem? Absolutely not!!! They were gracious and very accommodating!! A beautiful B&B, wonderful breakfast, unbelievable hosts, and they exceeded our expectations!!! And Tom has a wonderful sense of humor. They were very helpful in the sites we should see, as well! Wish we had more time to stay here and explore! Next time, we will!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H6438AYchristineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna072, Owner at Fernhill House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Colleen and Christine,
Thanks for the lovely review. It was great fun to meet you both and we’re delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope you are back home safe in Shanendoah. (Love the name)
Anne & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We had travelled from the ferry port in Rosslaire so arrived quite late in the evening. We had a lovely warm welcome from Anne and Tom along with fresh tea and coffee and a mountain of snacks. We had a lovely bright room with a view to the sea from the bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless (as was the whole house) and the shower was perfect. Tramore is a lovely little sea side town about a 20 min walk downhill from the B&B and well worth a visit. Ann briefed us on the local eateries and Tom recommended a coastal route which was a dlelightful way to approach the town in the sunset.We walked back after dinner which was quite a pull but good for the digestion! Tom reckoned a taxi would have charged about 5 euros for the trip. Breakfast next morning was lovely. In all a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews