We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very happy stay! ”
Review of O'Shea's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
O'Shea's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my sister and parents only last week. We were around the corner in the Lodge and the room was spotless! I don't know where the other people stayed in these reviews but the staff were super friendly and helpful! The food in the pub was lovely! I couldn't fault it; both carvery and bar food. The breakfast wasn't the best breakfast in the world but I enjoyed it and it was a lovely breakfast room. I've stayed in many hotels all around Ireland and the world and I really liked O'Sheas! Yeah, it's not the most modern hotel in the world but it's clean and the situation is ideal! You're literally 30 seconds from the seafront; ideal for early morning strolls which I did every morning! I'll definitely return and would recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here midweek in August..
Our room was across the road from the main hotel..
There was 3 of us in the room, we had 1 double and 2 singles..
The room was the worst hotel room I have ever seen..
The view from the window was a dirty backyard and shed...which I understand the hotel takes no responsibility for...
The beds were the most uncomfortable ever, and the bedding was ancient.
The room wasn't dusted in weeks,
No phone,rust on the lamp and the mirror,the table and chairs were just in front of the dresser and h ad to be moved to open the drawers...
I really could find any redeeming features about this room.
We had breakfast next morning..
Basic cereals,orange juice, yoghurt fruit.. and fry..
Not a scone or croissant in sight..
€180 for the room with breakfast for 3....TOTALLY OVER-PRICED..
Would not recommend this hotel to anybody.. I'd rather stay in a tent

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Check-in was easy, but our room was across the street, on the 3rd floor and there was no elevator (nor were we told that at check in). The rooms were small, but I can deal with that. Everything was very dated, inlcuding the 12-inch tube TV that was too small to see from the bed. Not an issue though, as all 7 channels were full of static and couldn't be watched anyway. There was no wifi in the building. There was not a proper quilt or comforter on the bed - just an itchy chunk of batting covered by a sheet. It made sense, because the sheets felt like sandpaper and the beds were hard with no support. Parking was inconvenient, but based on locations, there are likely no other options.
The worst part was the other patrons, who smoked in the hallways, despite us reminding them mulitple times that it is nonsmoking, unsupervised and very loud children in the halls at all hours of the night and intoxicated rude adults who have no concern for others who may be trying to sleep. Management did nothing to enforce any rules or order.
Housekeeping did a good job, though.

Room Tip: Avoid the building across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We visited this hotel on the Scooters weekend. The hotel is old and quaint. The food however wasn't nice. I had smoked salmon. I had to ask for sauce to add some flavour. My friend had a deep fried plate of chicken coupons and chicken drumsticks. It was the most greasy food on a plate I had ever seen. She left most of it. We weren't even asked how was your meal when she took away the plates. We won't be back. We walked out without leaving a tip. One word to sum our experience. Awful.

Room Tip: We did not stay here. We just had not very nice food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceLovers, Guest Relations Manager at O'Shea's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Marie,
I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy your meal. I am a bit confused about your chicken dish as we have not got chicken drumsticks or chicken "coupons" on our menu, so I cannot understand what meal you had.
Our smoked salmon is delivered fresh every Friday morning from our fish supplier and I am surprized that it was tasteless, as we sell a lot of smoked salmon, however I will mention your complaint to our supplier. It is not normal to serve any sauce with smoked salmon.
I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your weekend in Tramore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We stayed here in the middle of a 2 week vacation where we were in a different hotel every night. This was the worst hotel we stayed in. At check-in, we were told that parking was full and "your guess is as good as mine" as far as where we should park. Ummm, no - I live about 5,000 miles away, so my guess is certainly not as good as yours... The rooms were in a building around the corner. We were given a few keys and sent on our way. While the rooms were clean, that is about it. No A/C and no fans provided (rooms were pretty hot after a warm day). Hotel is "pet friendly" and there was a dog show in town, so you can imagine what the noise level was like. Walls were paper thin, so we were treated to the (loud) sounds of our neighbors' recreational activities, which were impressively long-winded. In the morning, we discovered there was no hot water. We asked (after getting dressed and walking around the corner to the other building - did I mention there is no phone in the room, so you can't call the front desk) and were told that he would turn on the "boiler" and we should wait about 20 minutes. 60 minutes later, still no hot water. We washed up as best we could in the sink and got out as quickly as possible... Discovered our car had been "watered" during the night - not sure if it was one of the dogs or one of the local drunks, which were plentiful that night with the numerous bars in the area. There are plenty of other options in this town, which is a lovely town from what little we saw - choose one of them.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kmnmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tramore
0.4 km away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tramore
313 reviews
11.5 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,242 reviews
11.7 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
11.7 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,450 reviews
10.1 km away
Travelodge Waterford
Travelodge Waterford
#12 of 12 in Waterford
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Shea's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Shea's Hotel

Address: Strand Street | Tramore, Co. Waterford, Tramore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tramore
Price Range: ₹ 5,145 - ₹ 11,380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — O'Shea's Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Shea's Hotel by the sea in Tramore has been welcoming guests since 1968. Guests return time and time again for short breaks, business, horse racing, golfing, pony trekking, touring, walking holidays,beach holidays, family holidays, to play the slot machine in the many arcades or just to relax and unwind beside the sea.O'Shea's Hotel, is the ideal location for a relaxing break or an activity based holiday."There is very much a home from home atmosphere at O'Shea's Hotel, where you are assured of friendly & attentive service.This hotel is not your typical cloned international style, but old world charm, cosy warm rooms with modern comfort. We welcome dogs in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your O'Shea's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osheas Hotel Tramore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing