We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
201
72
22
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
201
72
22
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu seafood scallops drawing room plaice lovely sitting room fresh fish fantastic meal open fire top class main course fabulous restaurant excellent food family run brown bread a la carte menu stayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Sandra and I were lucky enough to spend 3 nights here earlier this month. David and the staff are superb - we were really made welcome and felt at home. If you eat in the restaurant any of the seafood is worth having but the prawns were exceptional! Truly great stay!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

We had dinner for 5 here on June 2nd and it was great. We were late as the restaurant closes at 9 but rang ahead and the staff could not have been nicer. A fantastic seafood meal with lots of fresh bread and friendly staff.

Lots of our guests at our daughters wedding stayed and ate here and rated both the accommodation and food highly.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

When you combine fabulous food, gorgeous accommodation and wonderful service you get a winning formula just like they have in Ahernes.
We had a great night thoroughly enjoyed by all the age groups and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Fitzgibbons for looking after us all so well.
We will be back (if you'll have us!)

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Kit011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We spent two nights here in a large, clean and comfortable bedroom and were looked after by some of the friendliest people it has been our pleasure to meet! The hotel has been in the same family for 3 generations and is now run by 2 brothers and their wives. The food is outstanding. One night we had the tasting menu - 8(!) courses, 6 of which were accompanied by a glass of wine (small apparently - must be Irish standards!). Oysters, scallop, hake, vegetable risotto, salad, fillet steak, cheese, and chocolate pudding all for €65! We were served by Paula who was great fun. The next night we ate in the bar and were served by Ann who was also delightful. We had an equally good, if somewhat less substantial meal. Breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent. John, David, Gaye and Katie have maintained an excellent standard throughout the hotel and restaurant. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank anncolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

The room was gorgeous, spacious, spotless, comfy beds. The restaurant food is to die for. Thanks to Mary who served. Home made croquettes, gorgeous. Very nice outdoor smoking area. The bar lady, another Mary was so nice as well. Great breakfast

Room Tip: We were in room 3. Spacious room
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rufusbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews