We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barberstown Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barberstown Castle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A True Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is an hotel of style and class, its quiet and small, its in the country away from the hustle and bustle of the city, the staff are polite helpful and willing to help, the rooms are huge the bed is comfortable, we have stayed there many a time and even got married there it is the perfect setting for any occasion, the food is second to none and i have never found fault with this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but ask for a four poster bed for the experience ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fidelma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    69
    35
    25
    22
See reviews for
73
137
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Where to begin....To anyone planning a wedding + considering Barberstown Castle as a possible venue we'd suggest a visit to see it with your own eyes - you will not be disappointed. You will fall in love with it at 1st sight and continue to fall deeper in love with it over + over again with every visit. We had our Civil Partnership there on 11/11/11 and our friends and families are still praising the staff and the atmosphere of Barberstown.

We cannot praise or reccommend Barberstown Castle enough. If you are looking for the WOW factor + want a wedding venue with a difference (and also be the envy of all your friends)...then look no further than Barberstown Castle.

The castle oozes Irish medievil Celtic charm from every rafter, every embroidered wall hanging, every roaring blazing fireplace. BTW, these open log fires were a very welcome homely treat for our guests as they braced the wind and rain outside. The staff are AMAZING! A special word of thanks goes to Gretchen (for all her time and assistance leading up to the wedding). To Paddy (for his patience on the day - apologies once again for the late arrival of half our guests, his good sense of humour and his attentitvness) To all the waiting and bar staff (especially Lorraine) who were simply fantastic. You are a true asset to the Barberstwon Castle family. Not forgetting to mention the food - Faultless! Absolutley mouth watering.

The Banquet Hall was so majestic! Nothing was ever too much to ask - we even had Christmas trees in the Banquet hall and a Knights sword to cut the cake. All the candles and tea lights really set the scene for a magical candlelit wedding. It was all these little extras and attention to detail that helped make our day as wonderful as it was.
Martin and Wayne 15/02/2012

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DubBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunboyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

The rooms are set in the new part of the hotel but the decor is old style with many of the rooms adorned with four poster beds. We ate in the keep which is beautifully maintained in original furnishing and grey blocks with a huge fireplace. The bar is equally comfortable. The food was prepared for twelve of us and was a unanimous success. There is no gym or spa if that is your desire but beautiful grounds and welcoming sitting area.

Room Tip: Ask for four posterbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owenmeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Without a doubt this hotel must be in the top five wedding venues in Ireland. We were blown away by it. Love the banquet hall, so different from your average hotel, you actually feel like you're in a castle. Wonderful staff, gorgeous food. Can't fault it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed one night at Barberstown Castle as part of a wedding party. The hotel had several wings. We did not have time to explore the entire hotel, but the parts we saw were well-maintained and clean. The foyer was large and spacious. We found the reception staff to be very attentive. Our room was off a spacious corridor that lay to the left of the reception desk. We were given a large old fashioned key for our room. Though we only had a small suitcase, the receptionist summoned a bell hop (he said he was from the Czech Republic) to take it to our room. The room was large and comfortably furnished in faux period decor - large four poster bed with canopy, porcelain bathroom fixtures with stencilling, heavy curtains, a large, roomy armoire with doors and drawers that were hard to open, and a nice-sized writing desk in one corner of the room. In another corner, there was a flat screen TV!

The hotel had advertised free Wi-Fi in the rooms and on the property. In order to activate the WiFi, we had to obtain a password from the front desk. This turned out to be more difficult than we anticipated. Eventually, the receptionist flagged down a passing manager (later, we learned that he had been rushing off to organize the wedding reception) who helped us set it up. With the Wi-Fi in place, we were able to enjoy our surroundings. The word 'Castle' conjures up images of moats, keeps, dungeons. We found none of this in Barberstown Castle (though perhaps they were there and we did not see them !). The ambiance was that of a Victorian or Edwardian manor house.

To attend the reception, we had to go out of the front door of the hotel and follow signs to the banquet hall, a short distance away. The walk was very pleasant since it was a sunny day (we probably would have viewed it differently if it had been raining). The banqut hall seemed to be the older part of the castle - stone floors and a bar area that could have been a dungeon. The wedding reception was a wonderful event that went on late into the night.

The next morning, we had FIBs (Full Irish Breakfast - eggs, bacon, sausage, black pudding, white pudding, fried tomatos, baked beans, hot buttered toast) in the hotel dining rooms. To get there, we had to leave the spacious foyer and walk through narrow corridors. The dining rooms were not as sumptuous as the banquet hall but there were long tables heaped with plates of fruit, breads, cheeses, etc. The sight of the FIBs - made to order and brought to our table - brought on fleeting (very!) pangs of guilt about the cholesterol-laden fare; then we rationalized that FIBs are an essential part of the Irish wedding experience, and savoured them with great enjoyment.

The weather was splendid that morning. We caught a glimpse of the beatiful gardens and ground and would have loved to linger on. But, alas, we had to return to Dublin.Maybe, next time, we'll stay for a longer period and explore the Castle and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Please ask for one of the larger renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
2.0 km away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
3.7 km away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
8.1 km away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.0 km away
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
12.8 km away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barberstown Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberstown Castle

Property: Barberstown Castle
Address: Straffan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,955 - ₹ 13,484
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberstown Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barberstown Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberstown Castle Hotel Straffan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing