We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,294)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
587
390
184
86
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
587
390
184
86
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mcgettigans bar grand staircase mc gettigans porridge leisure centre swimming pool groupon voucher executive room steak main road lovely hotel bar staff monday night hotel bar great atmosphere live music both nights
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The clanree is just off the the main Derry road five minutes drive into the main town .parking is plentiful at the front of the hotel.upon entering the clanree your meet with a massive foyer and a grand white marble stair case .the counter staff are so nice.we got booked in and took the lift up to our floor we had an executive room that was really impressive .lots of facility's in room but the bed was the star of the show you would need a map to cross it it was that big .the welcome treat of chocolates and champagne was well appreciated.we didn't travel far on the first night as it was a 3hr drive for us .we had room service that was quick and very tasty .all in I liked the clanree alot and it's a shame we didn't stay longer.cant wait to go back

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank marcscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear marcscott,
Thank you sincerely for your lovely review following your kid free night away, we are so delighted you really enjoyed the welcome gift and our executive room. Our entire team really do appreciate your glowing review on tripadvisor and look forward to welcoming you back really soon for another relaxing break.
Many thanks again &
Kindest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Did a two night stay here and it was extremely good. Service of staff and quality of bedrooms and food excellent. Also ate in McGettigens bar and food there was excellent and had a fabulous atmosphere.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Twinkletoes59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Twinkletoes59,
Thank you so much for your great feedback following your very recent stay with us. We are truly delighted to read your lovely comments on our staff, bedrooms and food, we really do appreciate your lovely compliments.
Hoping you get another opportunity to visit us again in the very near future.
Many thanks again &
Warmest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for a midweek break we had the 2 nights B&B and one 3 course meal deal we were looking for a base to use for getting to see Donegal.
The moment we arrived we were delighted to find a local friendly girl on the desk we checked in after she gave us a quick rundown on what was on offer.
We didn't bother to bring in the luggage in we went straight to the bar for food we had a table immediately and we took our 3-course meal from our deal.
It was superb ..it was so good we ate again in the bar the next evening breakfast was a feast on the two mornings.
we took an upgrade on our room for an extra 30 euros.The room was beautiful spotless clean and quiet on the 2nd floor with a lift.
I had read reviews on here after I booked it.
We will be back. we didn't even get to see the extras the pool and such so I can't comment .yet@:O)
We really enjoyed our stay can't fault it the staff are amazing!

Room Tip: I would take the upgrade ...always do when it's a standard room in a deal anywhere we stay.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foleyseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear foleyseven,
Thank you sincerely for choosing The Clanree Hotel Conference & Leisure Centre as your base for exploring our beautiful Donegal. We are so thrilled to read your lovely feedback and our entire team really appreciates your kind compliments. Hoping we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Clanree Hotel really soon.
Many thanks again &
Warmest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Great service from the wedding team yesterday and in particular from a young lady Emer who when I informed her I was lactose intolerant went above and beyond so discretely to make sure I had an alternative for each course - fantastic at her job! The whole team were friendly and helpful and the hotel rooms were lovely and clean! I would definately go back again to stay as a guest. I would recommend the hotel as a venue for wedding with beautiful big staircase which is ideal for photos and the service and food which was lovely. Thanks for a lovely stay!.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Cathy F,
Thank you so kindly Cathy F for your lovely review,It certainly was our pleasure to host such a beautiful wedding here in The Clanree Hotel Conference & Leisure Centre. We as a team pride ourselves in delivering an exceptional experience to all our Brides and Grooms with their close family and friends on their special day. Emer is really thrilled to get such a special mention and is indeed very dedicated lady to her tasks as we are always aware of how important special dietery requirements are to our guests.
We do hope you get an opportunity to come back and visit us here again sometime and possibly you get to explore and enjoy Letterkenny and Donegal during your visit.
Many thanks again for your lovely compliments and recommendation &
Warmest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist cant mind her name, she informed us of breakfast times, and what time check out was, check in was a breeze no complications.

We had booked a double room which was of a decent size, very clean and tidy, hair dryer provided in drawer, bathroom was clean also towels where a bit on the small side but am sure most hotels are like that, although i do like the heat i found the heat in the room a bit uncomfortable.

I cannot comment on eating in the main bar, the function room was of a decent size, tables were well spaced out, but not spaced out to much to make things look out of proportion. The food served was delicious we were given a choice of Roast Beef or Turkey & Ham, loved the mash that was served with the dinner.

Drinks where not to badly priced either, but to be honest with you all i just stuck to the same drink most of the night, only downside i would like to say is that i didn't feel that there was enough staff serving behind the bar.

Breakfast in the morning there was plenty of choice from cooked breakfast, toast, lots of fresh fruit. There is also a small applegreen about a 2 minute walk from the hotel which was handy.

Would we stay here again yes i think we would.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clanree, Manager at Clanree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Claire F,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst attending a recent wedding which we were hosting. We are delighted that you found the hotel welcoming and informative on arrival.
We really appreciate your comments on the standard of our food served at the wedding and the extensive breakfast offering we have to offer our guests.
We do hope you have another occasion to visit us again sometime in the not too distant future when we hope to extending another warm welcome to The Clanree Hotel Conference & Leisure Centre.
Many thanks again for taking the time to share your experience &
Sincerest Regards,
Antoinette Coyle,
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews