We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Becketts Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Becketts Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Leixlip B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“what a weekend”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

stayed at becketts for a family wedding,couldnt praise becketts staff highly enough, from early in the morning til very very late their good humour never faulted. Food was the best we ever had at a wedding, what a weekend definately aided by becketts,top marks for you all

Room Tip: top floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marydart25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    32
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
50
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed here on christmas eve-eve, my boyfriend and myself. We booked a standard room b n b and were very kindly upgraded to a suite. It would usually be about €30 more for the suite and it's worth it, so nice! The hotel itself is a really small countryhouse hotel and is snug and cosey and decorated so nicely.The staff could not have been nicer, they were incredibly welcoming and made you feel at home, the bar was small but really cute and cosy and the whole place was decorted so nicely for Christmas. The room itself (the suite) was a great size with a seperate sitting room and bedroom en-suite with a great view out over the gardens and the river. The rooms even had old exposed brick walls which was really nice feature. As we would be departing on new years eve morning there wasn't cooked breakfast available which we would have loved BUT they let us know just to ring down in the morning and breakfast would be dropped up. It was a lovely spread of fresh fruit, tea coffee jams and toast and juice, yum!Overall great stay would return again and for dinner also next time!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyFordey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Recently visited Beckett’s restaurant with a small group for a business lunch on the recommendation of friends. Plenty of car parking out front, and the house itself had a welcoming and homely feel. We were warmly greeted by our host and promptly seated in the conservatory area, which was appropriately decorated for the Christmas season.

In the room:
The conservatory was bright and spacious and the table well presented, with crisp white linen and clean glasses and cutlery. We did spot a few cobwebs on the columns throughout the room, and the low winter sun did nothing to hide the dirt on the conservatory windows, but that’s something easily remedied. The plush padded chairs at table are worth an honourable mention as we found them particularly comfortable. Ambience was quiet and relaxed, and the clientele a mix of locals and small groups out for a working lunch.

At the table:
The bread basket lacked variety, with one choice of white and brown bread, but the offering was fresh and there was plenty for everyone. The butter could have been a little softer and proved difficult to spread.

Good selection of starters on the Christmas lunch menu, and I was pleased to have selected the warm salad with Clonakilty black pudding. Well presented on the plate, the sweet mustard dressing and mild smokiness of the Toulouse sausage complemented the dark flavour of the pudding well.

Likewise, a good selection of main courses, and having mistakenly ordered the vegetarian option of red kidney bean and coriander Wellington (thinking it was beef wellington!), I was glad I had. Often the vegetarian option is an afterthought in restaurants, but the Wellington here was very good indeed. The pastry was crisp and the filling flavourful with a subtle hint of coriander, which I really enjoy. A serving of vegetables and roast potatoes normally accompanies the main, but I asked for a side order of chips instead. I was disappointed when this didn’t arrive, and had almost finished the main before I saw any staff to enquire.

All was forgiven when the desserts came to the table, and once again the wide selection meant that there was something to everyone’s taste. The Christmas pudding was my preferred choice; rich, moist, and hot throughout, it was covered in a deliciously warm brandy crème anglaise. The pudding was the best I’ve had in a long time, and perfect on a cold winter’s day.

Tea and coffee were average, and there was only one milk jug (with a chip on the pouring spout) between our group, so it was a bit of a stretch. Cappucino, Latte and Expresso were available at an additional charge.

At 24 euro the lunch was reasonably priced, and given the attention to detail of the food and wide selection on the menu I was more than happy with the offering. The additional service charge of 12.5% was a little more difficult to swallow - I like to reward for good service when I receive it, but I found the service at table to be variable and at times rushed and a little distracted.

Elsewhere:
The restroom was easy to locate on the ground floor, and although small was clean and tidy with plenty of mirrors. All facilities are located on a level ground floor, and corridors and doors are suitably wide to accommodate wheelchair users.

In summary:
Enjoyed my first visit to Beckett’s restaurant and found the food to be the real star of the show - excellent quality and presentation, a well-designed menu, providing a wide variety of Irish and international flavours. Service was variable, but overall would recommend Beckett’s if you’re looking for quality food in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere.

Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Recently stayed and dined at Becketts. I had dined here previously - many years ago - and remembered it as having been a most enjoyable experience so looked forward to returning.

I really loved the accommodation - the rooms are most comfortable and unique. Very spacious with beautiful high ceilings and individual character. We had two rooms between our party and, while they were different, they were both really lovely. The TV came on itself during the night which was a little 'freaky' but funny ... maybe the remote from the room beside ours activated it? Not really sure what happened but it was not a big deal.

We enjoyed dinner from the early bird menu in a very busy dining room with great atmosphere. The meal was most enjoyable (compliments to the chef) but the service a little rushed towards the end of the meal.

Having enjoyed a fabulous meal, we felt that the experience of it was a little ruined by the fact that an 'issue' was made over €0.38 on the bill. The bill presented to us had automatically included 12.5% service which we felt was a little high. We also felt that it would be more appropriate to have service charge at the discretion of the diner.

The service at breakfast the following morning was completely different. Colm (I think the gentlemans name was) was most pleasant and friendly, helpful and very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble - Thank you.

I would certainly recommend Becketts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanesTrainsAutos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Had the opportunity to start our trip in Ireland with a 3 night stay at Becketts and had such a wonderful experience we came back for our last night too. Colin and his staff made us feel so welcome, the food was excellent and the accommodations were really top notch. I would highly recommend Becketts to anyone traveling to Dublin. It is just steps away from a bus stop ( 20 minute ride to city centre ) and about 30 minutes from the airport. Easy drive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leixlip
0.6 km away
The Courtyard
The Courtyard
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
634 reviews
0.2 km away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
386 reviews
2.7 km away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
390 reviews
5.4 km away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
2.2 km away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Becketts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becketts Hotel

Property: Becketts Hotel
Address: Cooldrinagh House, Leixlip, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Leixlip
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,155 - ₹ 9,913
Hotel Class:3 star — Becketts Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Becketts hotel is a 3-star property located on the outskirts of Dublin city which was the home of the famous Irish writer Samuel Becketts' mother. This Country house has been fully restored maintaining many or its original features. It boasts 10 guestrooms beautifully designed including double, single, twin and suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Becketts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing