We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay by the ocean”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyvaughan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oceanville House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We couldn't start a review of Oceanville without first describing the location. And the location can't be described without first describing the view. From the two wide picture windows in our room, we had an incredible view of the ocean, the rocky hills of the Burren, and the pretty flowers which adorned the entrance to the B&B. Food and fun are also close by--Oceanville is a short walk from the nearby Monks pub and maybe a five minute walk from the town center.

Overall our night at Oceanville was very good. Breakfast was tasty and filling, the room was clean, and the bed was quite comfortable. The B&B was full to capacity the night we stayed, so we didn't get all the personal attention we had on some other nights, but this is hardly a complaint.

Room Tip: If at all possible, get a room facing the ocean. The view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pullupachair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our room at Oceanville B&B on the second floor overlooking Galway Bay was the most comfortable and had the best view of any room on our entire two week stay in Ireland. It was spacious, spotlessly clean, and totally quiet for sleeping in the extremely comfortable bed. On one cloudy day, instead of moping and feeling sorry for ourselves, we pulled up chairs at the table in the bay window and simply watched the gulls soaring and the rain falling on the bay. However, the majority of our stay we used Oceanville as our base while exploring the Burren, the Perfumery, the Ocean Drive, and Connemara. Both mornings of our stay, Kathleen provided a delicious hardy breakfast in the bright and airy breakfast room. She was a cordial and gracious host and helped us find the best route to our destinations. The town center was little more than a city block away which made for a short easy walk. It would be a shame to miss staying with Kathleen at Oceanville if you plan to visit Ballyvaughan. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: A gable room on the front overlooking Galway Bay is the only choice!! You will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broncoboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was only able to stay one night here but it was very nice. I don't think you can beat the view. Just incredible to look out over Galway Bay from your bedroom. My bed was comfortable and it was a nice quiet stay. A nice short walk to the town (Just down the street) and many beautiful walks right around the corner. Breakfast was great and the hosts welcoming and helpful. Given the chance I would definitely stay here again. Do bring cash as they do not accept credit cards but this was made clear when I made the reservation. A gem for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a water facing room, it is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carli222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here at short notice. Kathleen gave us a wonderful welcome, warm but businesslike. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean and what a view! Breakfast was fresh and generous. She chatted easily with her guests and her warmth and homely premises are what decent BnBs are all about. We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banbangr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The location has to be the best thing about this B&B. We had a second story bedroom with a view over Galway Bay that was stunning! The rooms are clean and well kept. The beds we had where very hard though as we have found in some B&B's particularly in the country. No tea making facilities in room but we could make a cup of tea downstairs and enjoy the view. Kathleen was very welcoming and breakfast was excellent! Overall a good B&B in a great location. A little tip if you are in the front rooms upstairs....turn the lights out and sit in the dark to see the lights of Galway across the bay...its a great view! There is so much to do and see in the Burren and if you turn left from the B&B and follow the coast there is a spectacular drive around to the Cliffs of Moher. Small tip...take cash as you cannot pay by credit/EFTPOS card in some shops and cafes and at this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ossie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballyvaughan hotels
0.4 km away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
268 reviews
5.0 km away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
475 reviews
0.4 km away
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ballyvaughan Lodge
#3 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
495 reviews
2.1 km away
Drumcreehy Country House
Drumcreehy Country House
#2 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
752 reviews
5.1 km away
The Waters Country House
The Waters Country House
#5 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanville House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanville House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Coast Road, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Oceanville House Bed & Breakfast Ballyvaughan, The Burren, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing