We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the nicest people I've ever met!”
Review of Birchgrove House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oranmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchgrove House
Ranked #2 of 9 Oranmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Me and my family stayed here in during a recent trip to the UK and Ireland and I have to say we found it just fantastic - Mary and Pat gave us a beautiful warm welcome into their home and that put us all at ease straight away.

The rooms were comfortable, and better than some of the other places we stayed - a double room for me and my wife, and our 2 kids shared a twin room. I had read some of the other reviews and wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised (maybe some people just expect a hotel I guess!) Thankfully we did not have any problems with cold that some of the other reviewers experienced, and there was always piping hot water for showers.

Breakfast was tasty and filling too - for the parents, the "full Irish" breakfast with coffee and for the kids cereal, fruit & yoghurt with O.J. and toast for everybody.

What particularly impressed me was the fact that every day before we left, Mary and Pat would drop whatever they were doing to help us plan out our day. They had great local knowledge and we always ate well based on their recommendations. On one occasion, we took a day trip to Connemara (all the way to Cliften town) and were totally blown away by the beauty of the countryside there. That alone would make me want to come back to Ireland!

So in summary, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Birchgrove house, and Mary and Pat are some of the warmest hosts I have encountered on my travels. I can give it a big thumbs up, and we'll definitely be back to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertCaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2011

As the former reviewer said, this lodging is conveniently located south of Galway City and in a lovely quiet location with excellent restaurants in the town of Oranmore. Mary and Pat Curran are two terrific and down to earth people who genuinely welcome you to their home. I could stay all day and listen to their many great stories of Ireland and Co Galway. They make you feel part of the family from the time you ring the doorbell.

The one negative was that It was very cold and breezy during our stay and we almost froze to death in the room all that evening and more especially the next morning since they did not turn the heat on at all despite the cold temperatures. This really impacted our comfort level and our view of this otherwise nice B&B, especially in the morning when the room and especially the bathroom was just too cool to shower and dress comfortably. Otherwise, the beds were comfortable and clean but very small and the bathroom was extremely tiny and narrow and had a sliding door on the bathroom that just didn't slide properly without a lot of effort. More attention needs to be paid to the comfort level of customers in this regard. The breakfast was okay, but lacked the variety and quality that we experienced throughout our stay all over Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernLite16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

.Birchgrove House is conveniently located off the Dublin-Galway Road. Quiet location and Mary, the owner is personable and helpful. She makes you feel as if you are one of the family. Upon arrival Mary brings you tea and biscuits and a very warm welcome. You can be in Galway City in about ten minutes and the town of Oranmore, one mile away, has some excellent restaurants to choose from. Mary busily tends her lovely front and back gardens.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kilkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Auriane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
3.0 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,130 reviews
3.3 km away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
817 reviews
8.9 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
226 reviews
3.0 km away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
882 reviews
1.2 km away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchgrove House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchgrove House

Address: Oranbeg, Oranmore, Galway Co. Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Oranmore
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birchgrove House is a comfortable modern bungalow with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere situated about 1.5 km outside of the picturesque village of Oranmore, and about 8 km outside of Galway city, the cultural capital of the west of Ireland. It is an ideal base, as it is situated on the main national routes, and is especially popular for touring the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Connemara, Lough Mask and Lough Corrib, each of which comes recommended by our guests. When you stay with us, you can be sure of a place of lodging of only the highest standards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchgrove House Oranmore, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing