We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing views

We parked in the car park and walked up the road to the beach. Wow what views. The sand dunes were... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
SarbDublinIreland
,
Dublin Ireland
via mobile
Pleasant walk with stunning views

The beach is only a short drive from Ardara and there is a small car park. Access to the beach and... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2018
Tim G
Read all 177 reviews
  
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
140
27
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
27
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand dunes low tide car park rock formations few hours nice walk great place to walk miles and miles best kept secret pure white sand sunny day beautiful waterfall minute walk small shop blue skies worth the trip en route
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

One of the most glorious spots ever. Like so many of the best places in Donegal, it takes a little finding but I was blown away by it. The beach is so unspoiled, so big, the sand incredible, the waterfall cascading into a blue pool (lagoon?), surrounded by white sand - it was fantasy stuff. As an Irishman, I was staggered that such a beach could exist in Ireland. It was a beautiful day too which helped, blue skies. This was the last week of August, we were very lucky. We just kept saying 'Wow'. Donegal is full of wonderful beaches - just take a left turn anywhere towards the coastline - but this was paradise.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Daragh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

This little jaunt is not for the faint of heart. It's about 20 minutes ride, straight west out of Ardara to a parking area with a family-owned looking booth. A young kid took a few bucks to allow us to park. A beautiful waterfall called "Assaranca" is along the driving route. Once you park, it's another 20 minute walk to get to the beach. The walkway has a decent wood, boardwalk / sidewalk about half the time, the other half of the walk is in fluffy sand. The wind was howling when we went, it added to the remote feeling of this place. I hope it is never developed! The water is as clear as you will ever see, easily as clear as the Adriatic or any Caribbean seawater. The caves were fun, we only went in the first two, as they were not invaded by ocean water. Coordinates to the parking area: 54.762221, -8.527305

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Steveage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We went here on a windy September day with a toddler.
Bit of a walk to the beach, the dunes were great for sheltering us from the breeze, I can imagine it would be fantastic on a good day!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank rosyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We loved this place, despite arriving in driving mist. Maghera Beach and Caves is off the beaten track and certainly the road to it from the direction of Adara is one less frequented. And the road leading to Crockuna offers some spectacular views (particularly looking back to Maghera). As an added bonus was the Assaranca Waterfall closeby on the same road.

There's a small managed carpark which you pay for (one price, but not expensive) at the village of Maghera Adara. There's also toilets there. From there it's a short walk over some dunes (the first part is a boardwalk which makes it easier) to the long stretch of strand/beach and the caves. I should mention that my young ones love rocks so the flat beach didn't do anything for them, but the caves and rock formations which are relatively easy climbs kept them amused for a long time and they loved.

You can explore the caves without a torch, but you'll probably find it easier if you have one as you can then explore further in and appreciate the inner chambers in some of them. There are a number of rock formations jutting out of the sand which are both interesting to climb and for the geologists among you interesting for other reasons. None of this, however, really gives you a sense of the sheer beauty of this place. Being off the beaten track I think helps to minimise the 'tourism'.

The amount of time you could spend here I think depends on how good the weather is and if you are setting out to spend a day on the beach. We came to investigate the caves and spent a good couple of hours.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Halfhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful beach and caves. Miles and Miles of golden sand. Very idyllic and spotless. A little off the beaten path but very worth the trip

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Vg1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews