We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete treat”
Review of Carrickdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carrickdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Complete treat”
Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot around Ireland for my business and when I am in the area I always try to spend one night at this nice and classy hotel. The rooms are large and tidy, there are a busy pub and a good restaurant on the premises and a professional gym with swimming pool and spa free for the guests. The very quiet surroundings are certainly a plus.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maicolgiordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    183
    60
    25
    13
See reviews for
204
204
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed at this Hotel in November 2011. Lovely Bedrooms. Spacious. Friendly staff. The Food was lovely. Great range on the menu. Breakfast was fit for a King. Did not use the Leisure Facilities. Just 15mins drive from Dundalk so very central. Would definatetly stay in this Hotel again. The crowd did appear to be older 50+ years of age.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel using a Living Social "Bed, breakfast and evening meal" voucher. I wasn't expecting much of it to be honest and was very pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and clean (massive bed) with a stylish and well appointed bathroom and a nice view of the nearby mountain. The main Belfast to Dublin road runs past the hotel, but noise was not a problem at all.
I had chosen this deal because it included use of their pool and facilities. The pool was quiet and very clean. I was particularly amused by being able to have a go in the outdoor hot tub (I never thought I would be outside, in water, in March, in Ireland!) Also had use of steam room and sauna (but didn't use the cold plunge pool). Didn't use the gym, but it looked fine.
Dinner was good - wide choice on menu, tasty and plenty of it. And although the offer was for main course only, and stipulated mashed potato, we were also given breads to start with, chips as well as the mash, and a complementary coffee afterwards. Nice touches that leave a good impression.
Breakfast was also good, again, personalisation allowed (I like baked beans with my fry!)
Immaculate garden across a road from the main hotel (access via subway).
Overall, very well pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rallp54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

stayed in this hotel last year with mam and sisters. One sis home from australia. Had a lovely meal and fabulous treatments at the leisure centre. Rooms a little old and basic but they accomidated us into a quad room so we could all stay together so that was good. Breakfast and dinner very good quality. the only downside is its a bit remote so very quiet at night, not a lot going on, but as it was just a chill out night to spoil ourselves and catch up it was perfect. Would reccomend this for overnight treatment break.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Did not stay in this hotel but ate in the bar area. Very good service and very tasty food. really snacks: toasties, paninis etc. served with a smile and quite speedily. very pleasant atmosphere both in bar and lobby area.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank irishone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
13.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
8.9 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
7.7 km away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
13.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
14.1 km away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrickdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrickdale Hotel

Property: Carrickdale Hotel
Address: Carrickcarnon | Ravensdale, Dundalk, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,913 - ₹ 9,050
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrickdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Carrickdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickdale Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing